We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a resort, but . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prospect RV Park

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wheat Ridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prospect RV Park
Save
You added Prospect RV Park to your Saves list
11600 West 44th Avenue, Wheat Ridge, CO 80033   |  
Hotel amenities
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not a resort, but . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

You'll notice the owners of this facility do not promise anything they don't deliver. They are not a "Resort" and don't make like they want to be one. The spaces are gravel but level and clean. Connections are good and well placed. WiFi worked well for the nine days we spent there. Semi-private, key operated bathrooms were always clean and cared for. The laundry was large enough a seemed to be all relatively new machines.

There is a nice park just a few feet away - even has doggie bags. A great place to stroll or exercise. Not too crowded or too empty.

They are dog friendly, but, I do wish some of the owners of dogs would clean up after them better. We found no shortage of bags and disposal spots yet many chose not to use them in the park area. We had no problem in the camp area.

Some spaces are fully long/full time but that was fine with us. We met nice people each day,

I highly recommend you use this park if you want to be close in and convenient to the big city. If that is not what you want, go somewhere else. We had family in the area and enjoyed being close. We were close to downtown and shopping. We had a great visit.

Finally, the office staff and maintenance staff were always pleasant and helpful. Nancy and Linda were always cheerful and able to help. Yes, they don't always sit in the office, they take short walks or help residents with problems. They were always right back and willing to help. More like being at home than being in a commercial park. Thanks to the, for making our stay better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grove, Oklahoma
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The voice mail is always full. They never return calls. You talk to them and they say they will check and call you back but they never do. The take campers but do not hold them to their dates. Therefore they cannot take reservations or plan ahead. They basically have squatters and are not an rv resort. The location is great but the management is non existant. It makes their life easy - they just collect rent. It is basically a squalid trailer park. I spent weeks and hours on the phone trying to get a date. Even if you get in the spaces are not level or maintained. The office is amateur. The laundry is antiquated. Even though Dakota Ridge is over priced and the management is boorish - you are better to go there or even better - go sough to Colorado Springs or north to Loveland. Denver is vacant of good RV resorts.

Room Tip: Go north or south but avoid Denver entirely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

After reading the other two reviews, I realized that our experience was almost identical to others. Which means they must be pretty consistently good! Nancy was so helpful and accommodating that we decided to extend our stay and explore some of the surrounding towns. The rv park is next to a cute park and it was quiet and well maintained. At first I was concerned because we were staying in an rv park instead of a campground but with Prospect Park right next door is was perfect for taking an early morning walk or fishing. When we some back, I don't think we will stay anywhere else! Thanks Nancy for making out vacation so AWESOME!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were worried before arrival, as we hadn’t been required to pre-pay a deposit or leave cc details to secure our reservation. We arrived outside office hours and needn’t have worried, as paperwork was taped to the office door, clearly showing our name and giving all the details we needed. They even left an adaptor at the electrical hook-up for us. We had a key to our allocated shower/toilet room, one of the eight in the same block. This was very clean and well kept. The Park was well maintained, with lots of wild rabbits running around.
Owner Nancy was really helpful and gave us bus times and taxi numbers to help us get around Denver.
The bus stop is right outside the Park and the bus (#44) into downtown Denver cost $2.25 each and took about 40 minutes each way.
There are some restaurants close by, but as we wanted Thai food, we walked for about half an hour to ‘Thai Green & Sushi’, along the main Youngfield Street. Our meal there was fantastic!
The next night, we took a taxi (about $30 each way) to ‘The Grizzly Rose’, where we had a fast food meal and several beers, whilst watching country bands and trying to work out how the line dancing worked.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malverne, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed at this RV park for five nights in our Class C motorhome during July 2011 while visiting our daughter who lives in downtown Denver

Prospect Place is near I-70. It has 65 sites surrounding a private residence. Some are full hookup, others have electric and water only. WIFI is free and numerous local DTV stations can be easily received. There is a dump station which is free to park patrons. Two spaces are reserved for one night stays. Though the official name is RV park and campground, a sign indicated “no tent sites.” The entire area is gravel surfaced and some of the sites are very close together but there are some trees and the place is immaculately clean and quiet.

One feature we found unique among all the public and private campgrounds we've stayed at over the years are the “private” bathrooms assigned to each site. The laundry room and 8 bathrooms are located in a building next to the office. To enter one must first punch in a door code and then use a key give to you at check-in to access the specific bathroom assigned to the site. The bathroom contains toilet, sink and shower. The bathrooms and the laundry room which has 6 full size washers and 4 dryers were also immaculate.

When we reserved our site we spoke with the very personable Nancy Laird. She refused to take our credit card # in case we experienced a delay or change in plans which worried us a bit but when we arrived, she had our reservation intact. Unlike many other parks, we were not required to pay for our stay in advance.

Nancy gave us recommendations for local places to get a propane refill and an oil change. We used both and were completely satisfied with the service and friendliness of the proprietors.

In a past visit to Denver we stayed at Chatfield State Park which is a little further out from the city than The Prospect. While we liked Chatfield and also would probably like Cherry Creek SP, neither had sites available for the dates we needed so we felt very lucky to learn about The Prospect. Since the state parks charge a daily vehicle pass fee plus a reservation fee in addition to the cost of the campsite, The Prospect turned out to be considerably less expensive.

There is a greenspace park around the corner with wildlife viewing and fishing. Also nearby is a Camping World and a TA truck stop and a produce market as well as other gas stations and some restaurants and take out places.

We're glad we found Prospect Place and would definitely stay here the next time we visit Denver.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prospect RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect RV Park

Address: 11600 West 44th Avenue, Wheat Ridge, CO 80033
Location: United States > Colorado > Wheat Ridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Wheat Ridge
Number of rooms: 47

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prospect RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.