We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“character with hospitality and ...a bit more character/s,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Offley Grove Farm

Save Saved
You added Offley Grove Farm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Offley Grove Farm
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Adbaston, Adbaston ST20 0QB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Adbaston B&B and Inns
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“character with hospitality and ...a bit more character/s,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have stayed in this area a few time over the last couple of years, and at last we have found a friendly place which truly reflects character of this lovely part of the country.

We booked very late, but are so glad that they were able to fit us in.

This converted farm is built of red brick typical of many of the building around this area.
On opening our curtains in the morning we were greated with an excellent view of the the surrounding countryside swathed in a crisp Novemeber morning frost, but we had been kept nice and warm in our bedroom the decor of which reflected the rustic feel of the famhouse. It was all very clean and tidy, with all the facilities you would expect or need. Nice for a change to have plenty of storage space in the traditional solid timber furniture .....with proper sized draws to put your clothes in.

Downstairs to the breakfast room warmed by a real fire, we were treated to a fine english breakfast. Looking out from our table, the charater of the place is sumed up by the old hand water pump trickling water a feature in the centre of the farms courtyard

Our hosts could not have been more friendly, or accomodating, creating a very homely and hospitable atmosphere.

This is such a pleasant experience and puts in the shade the somewhat clinical and characterless national hotel chains that we have often experienced. Price for price I would choose this farm anytime, and the good thing is on this occation it was a touch cheaper as well.

Room Tip: just stay there instead of at the alternative national chains
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
5
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I were looking for somewhere for ourselves and our wedding guests to stay in the Eccleshall area for week leading up to our wedding and a few days after. We hired 4 of the barns available and the 2 B&B rooms in the main house totalling 36 guests. We were incredibly impressed by all the accommodation - especially the Granary where we stayed which is done out to a very high standard. Ourselves and our guests were all made to feel very welcome - the owners were friendly, helpful and laid back. Offley Grove Farm was perfect in every way and suited us down to the ground. The surrounding countryside is idilic - the perfect setting for a wedding, family holiday or romantic get-away. I recommend staying here 100%.

Room Tip: All the apartments are great - the Granery is our favourite though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We only stayed one day whilst we were at Stone Food & Drink festival however we will be back as the place was excellent. We were given a warm welcome and a fantastic breakfast. We were lucky enough to stay in an entire cottage which was a real home from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have held company teambuildng event at this farm with some activites too and must say it was great success. Everyone had truly enjoyed it and had so much fun. It’s a great place to go away for a weekend or longer and well managed by the owners. We received warm welcome from Margaret & Frazer and all was organised to perfection. Cottages were lovely and spotless clean and we also had hot homemade food provided that was really delicious, not mentioning the full English breakfast cooked for 27 people. I fully recommend this place and would love to return again. Big thank you.

Room Tip: all cottages are different sizes and have kitchens that are fully equipped, Family friendly place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Like previous reviewers, we stayed here for the Saturday night prior to my boyfriends DriveMe experience on the Sunday. Margaret is a truly wonderful host, greeting us with a friendly smile and a pot of tea for 2 which we enjoyed in the beautiful garden. The room was very spacious and clean and the farm is blissfully quiet, the only noise being the mooing from the cows and the chirping from the baby birds in the nest above our window.

We too walked to the pub which is just over half a mile along the lane. It's a typical country inn with very good food and the beer prices are very reasonable too (although not an awful lot of selection).

Breakfast on Sunday morning was plentiful, full cooked English and Cereal if you wanted it, together with Tea/coffee and fresh juice. The fried eggs were lovely, fresh from the hens outside! Margaret also took time out to give us directions to the DriveMe experience which were spot on!

We would definitely stay here again and would go for a longer break next time, either mid week or a long weekend, just to chill out and relax in the peace and quiet of the countryside.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We have just come back from staying at offley grove farm and I felt the need to write a review as it was excellent.
Margaret made us feel so welcome and at home.
My husband had done a driving experience and we wanted to stay somewhere with character rather than your standard travel inn.
The room was spacious clean and had everything that we needed. The cooked breakfast was superb!!
We drove to Eccleshall town centre and had an excellent Indian meal and then drove back to the farm and walked to a nearby pub for a drink. If you are looking for a friendly and inviting place to stay with a bit of character this is for you.
We would definitely return and recommend to all!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

sorry for the cheesy title!
like many others here we stayed at Offley Grove farm for the DriveMe experience nearby. We had looked at various Premier Inn type places which are all rather soul-less and finally settled on this after reading reviews on Trip Adviser. We were not dissapointed, Margaret was very welcoming and friendy and put us in a cottage which was really nice. We arrived around 7.20 and walked down to the nearby xxx pub for a resonable steak and very nice lamb before walking back to the Offley Grove to sit outside watching the bats swoop into the barn sharing a bottle of wine as the sun set and darkness set in. the night was blissfully peaceful, the only noise the moo'ing of the pedigree cattle. Breakfast was great, a really nice fry up with very good bacon. Would recomend to anyone and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Offley Grove Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Offley Grove Farm

Address: Adbaston, Adbaston ST20 0QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Adbaston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Adbaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Offley Grove Farm 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offley Grove farm is an attractive farm situated in the beautiful Staffordshire countryside.On this small working farm we can offer you comfortable bed & breakfast and self-catering accommodation.On the farm there is plenty of parking, a children's play area, and the guests are welcome to see the farm animals which include a herd of South Devon Cattle, Dinky the pony, chickens and two pigs called Percy & Henrietta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo and HotelsClick so you can book your Offley Grove Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Offley Grove Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.