We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like crab or lobster, this is adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
8911 Yates St, Westminster, CO 80031-7529
303-657-0776
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 185 Restaurants in Westminster
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Seeley Lake, Montana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“If you like crab or lobster, this is adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Loved the atmosphere and the wait staff. I like seafood but I don't enjoy paying $25 to $40 a plate for food that I have to work so hard to get out of the shell and receive so little meat, an ear of corn and a plain boiled potato. Would rather go to the Salthouse Steakhouse next door and for the same money get bread, salad, steak and a baked potato with the works.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    18
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Fun Date”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

It was a fun place for a date or a meetup kind of lunch. The music was a bit loud though...service was excellent! Very good food and fresh!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Joe's Crab Shack vs Red Lobster..it's a tie”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had been looking forward to visiting Joe's Crab Shack, as my one prior experience (years ago) was great at another location. The Westminster location was a disappointment.

Decor was cheezy. Many red Lobster locations are better, and Pappadeaux's are way better.

Service was good. very attentive. from the front of the house to the server, we appreciated them.

Food was disappointing. I ordered the crawfish half and half. Half etouffe and half fried crawfish, and a side of hush puppies. I have never had a blond roux in crawfish ettoufee, but it was ok, though the crawfish were like tiny shrimp. Same for the fried crawfish, very tiny. I have had etoufee and crawfish in many places and restaurants, yet never any the size of bay shrimp. I would never order this again...

The hush puppies were burnt on the exterior, which was too bad as the center was good with whole corn kernels and good spice.

My wife had the Mahi and it was overcooked. The broccoli was so overcooked it was so mushy I could could squeeze water out of it.. And the "crispy" potatoes were nuked. Clearly issues in the kitchen.

Very disappointing experience..Maybe they do crab better, but I'm not willing to risk it when they can't do the basics.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Little better then Red Lobster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Its better atmosphere then Red Lobster, staff is friendlier too but the food tastes on average to me the same.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Love it, place is always pack. Their drinks are great! Love the staff, lots of friendly faces. The food are crazy good. Lots to pick from on their dinner menu. Love the bucket of crabs... I order the "Crab Daddy Feast" that was great. Love Love it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.