We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Bistro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bonefish Grill

Bonefish Grill
10438 Town Center Dr., Westminster, CO 80021
(303) 423-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 183 Restaurants in Westminster
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Longmont, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

You must try the sunday breakfast bistro. Had the Creme de burlay. Made with grand meiner, carmalized sugar and orange zest. Went great with endless mimosas- original, peach and passion fruit. Girlfriend had spinach and salmon omlette. we both enjoyed it alot

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    44
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“THE BEST SEAFOOD AROUND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The management, hostess, waitstaff, and chef's prepare and serve some of the finest
entree's that we have had in any restaurant. The luncheon menu is wonderful and
great. You are 25 minutes away from the Bonefish location from Denver and Boulder
in Westminster, Colorado.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“First Visit; won't be the last.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Great evening. Great meal. Great service from Shannon. That Bang Bang Shrimp is everything they say it is! Crab Cakes and the Lobster Roll were first rate. Can't believe we waited so long to try Bonefish; now we'll try one in our home state of Florida.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Top Contributor
620 reviews 620 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
605 helpful votes 605 helpful votes
“Short on healthy options.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We received a gift card which could be used at the "Bloomin Brands" places: such as the Outback Steakhouse, Carrabbas, Roy's, Flemings, and the Bonefish Grill. Options 1, 2, and 5 were available nearby. We don't do slabs of steak, and tend to save our Italian dining for places like Italy, Bangkok (which has a great range of Italian eateries), or Argentina. So the Bonefish Grill won out as the place to use this gift card.

Grilled and fried seafood is OK with us, so long as it's not overdone with added salt-fat-sugar, etc. In short, light frying is great, dredging in heavy, salted, breading-flour-sauce is not. We also prefer to have more fresh produce, and less massive slabs of meat-fish-poultry at one seating. Think "Asian" ways of handling meat-seafood-poultry.

Even though we studied the menu online in advance, we still wondered about our chances of matching our dining preferences with the menu offerings of the Bonefish. Ultimately, we were less than fully successful.

The Bonefish Grill seems to be a mid-market chain, a bit less kitchy than Red Lobster. We arrived at 5:30PM (on a Thursday), so that we could combine the regular menu with the happy hour menu. When we arrived, the bar was essentially full, the adjacent dining room perhaps 25% occupied. While we were there, the bar remained full, the dining room steadily filled to about 60% full.

We ordered fish and chips, a lobster roll, and bang bang shrimp tacos (the latter off the happy hour menu), along with a side salad. As we eat much lighter than this, our plan was to carry out the extra slabs of fish, and extra sides (especially the fries) for subsequent nights of re-engineering at home. BTW, we asked what their "Lobster Rangoon" was - and it turned out to be something that might be very difficult, or impossible, to find in Yangon (the actual name for the former Rangoon).

The lobster roll was sort-of OK - though good lobster shouldn't be spoiled by heavy dredging in sauce, as this was. We wondered if this was a way to mask non-fresh lobster (or even crayfish). The side salad was good - especially when our server brought vinegar and oil, as well as the house dressing on the side so we could make our own mix. The bang bang tacos would have been much better if the shrimp had been more lightly "dredged" in stuff. The fish and chips were noted on the menu as being "tempura-style" - but they were much more heavily breaded, and much oilier, than tempura would have been.

When we were done, we decided that the salad was the modest highlight of the meal - and that the heavy-handedness of the kitchen on the fish, lobster, and shrimp was sad (and unhealthy compared with what it might have been).

By the way, the happy hour draft beers were Bud Light, AmberBock, Shock Top, and Stella Artois. Nothing like asking about draft beer in one of the ground zero states of the craft beer movement in North America, and being offered InBev macros Bud Light (Ratebeer average 1.18/5), Michelob AmberBock (Ratebeer average 2.43/5), Shock Top (Ratebeer average 2.58/5), and Stella Artois (Ratebeer average 2.49/5).

Oh, well. Live and learn. We could convert the leftovers into something better, once we got home.

Service, btw, was fine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver,Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“horrid ambience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The "music" on the PA system is so loud that our party of 4 had to scream across the table to hear each other. In addition the lighting was so low that at 8:30 PM there was more light outside than in the restaurant. I had to use a flashlite to read the menu. When the manager was requested to turn down the volume on the PA system, he told us that the policy of the chain was to have it at that level and that there was nothing he could do about it. He did try to increase the light level but that wasn't too helpful either. If the chain wants the ambience of a honkytonk bar it shouldn't call itself a restaurant. On the other hand the food and service were pretty good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonefish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bonefish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonefish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.