We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the wost room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cottonwood Suites Westminster

Save Saved
You added Cottonwood Suites Westminster to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cottonwood Suites Westminster
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12095 Mariposa Street, Westminster, CO 80234 (Formerly Savannah Suites Denver N)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 18 hotels in Westminster
Henderson Co
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the wost room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

To start with the frist them gave me with dirty and had black marks all over the wall and a stan on the floor then they gave me a second room and it was dirty too blaclmarks on the wall and it looked like it had not been vacuumed in a long time this hotel does not clean and vacuum the rooms very well I'm giving this hotel a one star rating does service was good but the rooms really sucked in this hotel need to hire some people actually clean the rooms I feel that I should get my money back for the way that the room was

Room Tip: this hotel should actually hire people who can actually clean a room thoroughly and not clean and al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at Cottonwood Suites Westminster, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry that your experience was less than expected. We receive many positive reviews about our location and most importantly our warm and friendly staff. We are under new management in just the last couple of months and your feedback is extremely important to us. In fact I have shared it with our staff so that we can provide the best customer service possible. In the meantime should you wish to speak with a member of management please feel free to contact us directly so that we can resolve the issue you had during your stay. Again thank you for choosing Cottonwood Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    2
    5
    10
See reviews for
6
2
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We went in December and had a great experience. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Any request we made we got an immediate response. Our rooms were cleaned daily and they even offered a pack & play for our new grandson. We had a great experience. The location was great for shopping or ease to get on the highway. Cindy M

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Our visit to Cottonwood Suites has been a really great experience. The staff are very personable and so very helpful, they go out of their way for their guests. It is like being at home but better. The rooms are a good size and very clean, the kitchen area comes in real handy and is just the right size. Good location, near plenty of restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I've stayed in a lot of hotels but this was one of the worst I've found. After circling the building twice, I realized the small entrance on the east side was the actual lobby. I walked in and heard guests with their doors propped open yelling to each other across the halls. I asked the desk clerk how noisy this would be, she assured me it was quiet. With hesitation, I checked in and found my room. I opened the door to sheer disgust. There was food and "drink" all over the entrance wall by the small kitchen. Literally chunks of food on the wall!! The bathroom had drywall falling into the shower. The pillows on the beds were like flattened sacks of flour. I dared not turn on the wall heater (November in Denver) due to the chunks of funk all visibly inside the vent. The only wall mount light by the bed did not work. It was just gross - I didn't want to touch anything much less sleep there. The guests were yelling and banging on walls all night. I tried to complain but the lady working the front desk was busy on the phone yelling at her family about their dinner plans. Unbelievable - spend the extra few bucks and find somewhere else - seriously.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken L, Manager at Cottonwood Suites Westminster, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry that your experience was less than expected. We receive many positive reviews about our location and most importantly our warm and friendly staff. We are under new management in just the last couple of months and your feedback is extremely important to us. In fact I have shared it with our staff so that we can provide the best customer service possible. In the meantime should you wish to speak with a member of management please feel free to contact us directly so that we can resolve the issue you had during your stay. Again thank you for choosing Cottonwood Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My friends and I were on a road trip and decided to stop in the Denver area for 2 nights before heading to Vegas. Every other motel/hotel or cheap accommodation was taken in or around the Denver area except for Cottonwood Suites (on Expedia known as Savannah Suites, where we booked). Front desk lady was helpful, that's about it. Our room reeked of Cigarettes even though on Expedia I booked a non-smoking room. The Price wasn't bad and the the hotel is located about 20 minutes from both Boulder and Denver which was convenient. We stayed here for 2 nights and probably wouldn't stay here again. The area is good so you don't have to worry about your car being broken into or vandalized.
A word of advice, they do allow animals in this hotel so I would be weary of that. If you have allergies or are sensitive to cigarette smoke, then I wouldn't recommend it here. We're in our early 20's so anything cheap is a plus for us, but we would honestly not mind paying a few extra bucks to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My family stayed here for a few months before they went to new management and we were told they no longer accepted monthly rates. The room was not clean when we moved in (the linens had not been changed and the refrigerator was dirty). The staff was rude and unhelpful. They are always out of the cords for the internet and do not offer to let you know if one comes available which leads me to believe they may not have any at all. You'd be better off at motel 6 at least most of those have pools and internet

Room Tip: check the room out before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WK73, Manager at Cottonwood Suites Westminster, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We here at Cottonwood Suites do apologize for any bad experience you may have had at the hotel under the previous management. The hotel has been purchased in March, and we are in the process of looking at different companies to install WiFi. Also, we have been working very hard with the housekeeping staff to insure that all rooms are cleaned properly and ready for our guests at check in. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I obtained the reservation thru Travelocity's Secret Deal pricing. It was rated a 2 Star hotel with Wi-Fi.
On arrival to my room, I was told there were only Smoking Rooms available and, because I had obtained the reservation on-line, I didn't get to exercise a room preference anyways. The desk clerk did let me use some Febreeze. On the way back to the desk, an.other guest stopped me. She had used the Febreeze in her non-smoking room because the smell of cat urine was overpowering. She said the Febreeze didn't stop the odor and she moved to a Smoking Room rather than stay in the cat urine room.
Essentially, my room made Motel 6 a 5 Star resort.
There were no other hotel rooms available in the area because of various sporting and special events.
I asked about the Wi-Fi, was told it had been disconnected, and the front desk was out of Ethernet cords. I was given directions to a Wal-Mart and told I could buy my own.
I have contacted Travelocity and was told it will 7-10 business days for them to make an inquiry.
In the meantime, I avoid Travelocity, will never use the "secret Deal" again, and will never even think of staying at Cottonwood Suites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WK73, Manager at Cottonwood Suites Westminster, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for stay with the Cottonwood Suites Westminster. We apologize that we did not have a non-smoking room available when you arrived. The online travel agency that we work with note that is a request and is not a guarantee. We will always try to honor the guest request if the have the available rooms. As for the wireless internet being down, we do not have wireless internet nor do we advertise on any of the online travel agencies' websites that we have wireless internet. Again we do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cottonwood Suites Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottonwood Suites Westminster

Address: 12095 Mariposa Street, Westminster, CO 80234 (Formerly Savannah Suites Denver N)
Location: United States > Colorado > Westminster
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 hotels in Westminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cottonwood Suites Westminster 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottonwood Suites is located centrally in Westminster, Colorado, and is accessible from downtown Denver and the city of Boulder. Close by are attractions such as the Water World, Butterfly Pavilion, Elitch Gardens, Pepsi Center, and Coors Field. All studios offer free high speed Internet access, kitchenettes, satellite TVs and daily housekeeping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Cottonwood Suites Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottonwood Suites Westminster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.