We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay- Noisy Air Conditioner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Rambler

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Rambler to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Rambler
457 US Highway 85 87, Walsenburg, CO 81089   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Walsenburg
Central Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice Stay- Noisy Air Conditioner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Family stayed in room 104. Overall the property was very good, clean, and well maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful.

I would have given and excellent rating rather than very good if the air conditioner would have been quieter. It sounded like a commercial jet was landing in the room when it kicked on, then it would shut off . . . later to sound like a jet again. All night long. My sixteen year old son who typically sleeps through anything, did not sleep well that night. I did not sleep well either. However, I am a very light sleeper.

Excluding the AC...the property, and staff were excellent, and I would stay again. Upon check in, I would immediately pay attention to the AC, and request a room with a quieter unit.

The breakfast was good, check-in and check-out fast and effortless.

I do think this motel was the best in the area of any property with a pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for your nice review. I do however apologize for the noisey air conditioner, we will be looking into that, either with better maintenance or possible replacement. We truly hope to see you again, we enjoyed having you stay.

Front Desk
Diana Cupps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    68
    15
    12
    6
See reviews for
55
42
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Worth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stopped here to split the trip from Texas to Colorado. Hotel is easy to find off of Interstate 25. We had the handicapped room & were very pleased with the room.

Room was a corner room with 2 queen beds & was nicely situated in the middle of the complex. We had convenient access to the indoor pool. Our room had an outside door as it appeared we were in the older section of the hotel. No worries with that for our group, we parked right in from of our door. While our section was older, it was clean and in good shape. It was easy for a wheelchair to manuever in & included a desk, microwave & refrigerator.

Front desk was fast & friendly. Breakfast the next morning was wonderful. While you have your traditional complimentary breakfast with cold cereal, waffles, etc., you also had a woman making omelettes. When she wasn't busy cooking omelettes, she was keeping the tables cleaned off. Overall a very nice breakfast experience & wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We truly set a high bar and strive to keep it met. I am glad that your room was what you needed for your stay. We will pass on your compliment to the "chef". I think she enjoys cooking as much as everyone enjoys her food. We really hope to see you again.


Thank you
Front Desk Manager
Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was everything I would expect from a national chain. The front desk service was great, even at our late check in of almost midnight. The room was nice and clean, nothing to complain about. I was also happy that the window in the room actually opened, and I was able to sleep with fresh air all night. The breakfast was continental, and was just ok. Overall, this was a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind response. We are glad you got to enjoy fresh air with your nights sleep. We hope to see you again.


Front Desk Manager
Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed one night while on the 'last leg' of our trip through the Four Corners area - a very good choice. We used the laundry, relaxed in our very comfortable room and enjoyed the breakfast (with home-cooked omelets). Nice people, nice place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We will let the cooks know that you liked their omlete, it is a nice change of pace from the normal continentals. Most people dont realize that we are at a good cross road point for most trips in Colorado. We are glad you stayed with us.


Front desk Manager
Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC, OK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had originally stopped about 15 miles before this but the reviews were so bad at the original place we stopped that we decided to drive a bit more. We are glad we did. We were greeted by a very pleasant clerk who made getting a room easy and enjoyable. We were very happy to find that the breakfast was a hot, freshly made breakfast that lasted until 10:00am; being on vacation we didn't want to get up too early. The room was comfortable, the bed was comfortable and the shower was not too small. The only reason we didn't give the hotel 5 stars, or circles, was we found a small spider in the bathtub, which is understandable considering there isn't much else around. The only other issue we had with the room was a lack of a comfortable chair in which to relax in. Other than that we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwrambler, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice review. We are constantly trying to improve to better serve our guests. It seems that our breakfast burritos are becoming legendary, Shirely and Christy are both amazing cooks and definately an asset to our facility. We definately hope to see you again. We enjoyed having you stay with us. Again thank you.

Diana Cupps
Front desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Time to stop--staff was courteous, room was more than adequate, breakfast burritos were great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
We really appreciate your review of the hotel and hope the next time that "its time to stop" you will choose us again.


Thank you
Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the BW Rambler for a few nights in June 2012 for a nearby wedding. Her parents footed the bill, so I can't speak to value, but this place has everything that counts. It's clean, safe, with plenty of parking, and the staff are both friendly and accommodating. It also includes a modest workout room, indoor pool and hot tub, and has a really nice breakfast (for the tier): cold items were self-serv, and hot stuff was made by a short-order cook and brought out to you (I much prefer this to rubbery sausage and powdered eggs left out buffet-style). My only complaint is that sound carries badly in the hallways, so morning conversations or late-night returns may wake you if the air conditioner isn't overpowering the noise. Other than that, though, great place. We would gladly stay again if our travels ever take us this way.

Room Tip: Maybe a second floor room at the end of the hall to limit hall noise?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Rambler, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you, we definately enjoyed the wedding party. I am really glad you liked your stay. We definately strive to make every stay pleasant and enjoyable. We really hope to see you again.

Thank you
Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Rambler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rambler

Address: 457 US Highway 85 87, Walsenburg, CO 81089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Walsenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Walsenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Pet friendly, and would love to have you stay with your pet. However, our pet desginated rooms are limited please call ahead. Pet fee is $10 per pet. Best Western Rambler is a great place to stay for business or leisure. We are located at a major crossroads of Colorado. Just moment away from Lathrop State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rambler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Walsenburg
Best Western Hotel Walsenburg
Walsenburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Rambler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.