We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch hands down” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vail Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vail Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Vail Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   352 E. Meadow Drive, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Vail
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Top Notch hands down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I travel a lot throughout the year and typically stay at various properties of the big 3's (Starwoods, Marriott & Hilton). This was my first trip to Vail and after doing a lot of research on TA I decided to book a room at VML based on the positive reviews and the prime location. I'm glad that I did. My stay was wonderful, the room was very plush and the staff was excellent. I can't say enough about how helpful they are from offering recommendations, to giving rides, etc. You really can't go wrong here and if I ever find my way back to Vail - I'll be returning here ASAP.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    33
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
28
53
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

The best place to stay in Vail. The service was superb, staff were friendly and helpful. Room is beautiful, luxurious, immaculate, and I love the fireplace. Heated bathroom floor. Every detail has been thought about. Each room has a humidifier, Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator, and the housekeepers refilled the humidifier every day. For budget reasons, I did not have a mountain view, but the room was very quiet. I could not hear any street noise. Bathroom has makeup mirror (so helpful!) plus aveda products. I love the location - quiet, but just a few minutes walk to bustling Bridge street and the lifts. Health club is so convenient downstairs. It is big, clean, and has everything including wonderful spa services. Breakfast is great, and Terra Bistro also serves lunch, dinner, and happy hour with half price appetizers that are delicious. Staying here was a true vacation.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to evaluate your visit with us at the Vail Mountain Lodge. . .it's our purpose to "create memorable experiences" and it sounds like, in your case, we were successful. Please don't hesitate to connect with any of our staff if we can be of service to you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I read the reviews of others and compared amenities of several Vail hotels, and could'nt have been more pleased with all that VML has! Every gas fireplace and heated bathroom floor room comes with free gym access and breakfast, valet parking (for a fee) or very convenient across the street free parking, free shuttle to Vail Village, free wifi, and no additional resort fee! We rarely use the pool at past hotels, and after a day of whatever (skiing, shopping, driving), you really want a hot tub and/or sauna which is what VML provides! We will stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We did our annual girls trip to Vail and this time decided to rent a condo and be in town vs a house where we would have to drive. We were a little skeptical of the lounging room we would have for 8 women...it was perfect! Huge living/dining area and kitchen, wonderful balconies that overlook Gore Creek, spacious and clean bedrooms and bathrooms. ( we had the 3 bed 3 1/2 bath model)
The breakfast is included and wow!!! Awesome! Also, the health club is right here...in the basement, also included and we took advantage of yoga and other workout classes. The spa is here, too, and some of us did services while others just enjoyed the hot tubs, sauna, and steam room. Best part? It is a stones through from the covered bridge and the heart of Vail. Service was good too. Highly recommend this place and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Vail Mountain Lodge & Spa Sept 26--30, 2013. The rooms were nice, bathrooms generous and a fireplace was included. Also, one of the top Vail restaurants (Terra Bistro) was located on the first floor, which was where we had our breakfast (included). The rate was reasonable for the time of year. Parking is valet @ $25, or we chose the free option at the Vail parking garage across the street--very convenient. Located just 100 yds from the Vail village, this is ideally located. Staff is friendly and and helpful. Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

stayed 4 nights mid-week in the off-season. Delightful. Low key, but very responsive. Wife asked the front desk to turn on our fireplace and the staff responded within minutes. Asked for the vending machines (there are none; it's a lodge, not a hotel) and they brought two fountain drinks from the bar in about 90 seconds (no charge). The restaurant (Terra Bistro) was quite the scene, starting with 'appy hour' at 5:00 -- best margarita I've had in Colorado.

The shopping in September is a little too good. Vail's bronze artwork around town is superb. Don't miss 'Chief Rain in the Face' life-sized bronze in the Solaris area. Photo attached.
If you get a chance, rent a Segway from Sage Adventures and see the town. What a blast.
Special shout-out to Shane in the lobby; people in Vail are very friendly, but he was a prince.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The room was nice.. Good storage. The "valley view" was a parking lot across the street and the interstate was pretty noisy! The tub is miniature... If you're over 5'5", you cannot straighten your legs! The front "lobby" is not a lobby at all...and is staffed with one person. Don't expect a gracious welcome or a helpful attitude. And there's no way to get your luggage up the entrance stairs except by hand. The bar has excellent food and happy hour...but the bar staff isn't particularly friendly. The nicest people were the Russian girl who hosted the free breakfast and Chris, who helped us depart and the cleaning ladies. Accommodations were good. Customer service, with few exceptions, was blatantly bad. And there is no AC or swimming pool. The outdoor spa closes at 8:00 pm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vail Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Mountain Lodge

Address: 352 E. Meadow Drive, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#11 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vail Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail's most unique property is nestled along Gore Creek in the heart of Vail Village, just a few steps from ski lifts, shopping, and dining. With 20 hotel rooms and 7 one, two, and three bedroom condos, the hotel offers B&B intimacy and service as well as first rate amenities including the Vitality Center, featuring a full service spa, 18,000 sq. ft. health club and sports & functional medicine practitioners. Terra Bistro, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner has been a Vail favorite for over 20 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Vail Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Mountain Hotel Vail
Vail Mountain Lodge And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vail Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.