We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the summer unless you're on the creek side” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vail Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vail Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Vail Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   352 E. Meadow Drive, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Vail
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not for the summer unless you're on the creek side”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

I read about Vail Mountain Lodge & Spa in Frommers so I was expecting great things. This is probably a wonderful place to stay during ski season but even room fans can't cool down a room without air conditioning during the summer. The mountain side rooms were booked so I opted to try for a valley side room, being told that I wouldn't see I70. Leafy trees did obscure the view of the interstate but because there is no airconditioning and the room was hot, the windows had to be left open. This meant noise from the construction vehicles coming through Vail Village and all the traffic noise from I70, especially at night. My guess is that rooms on the mountain side, right next to Gore Creek, would be quieter and would have balconies and better air circulation during the summer.

This was also one of the more expensive options that I had looked at so I was expecting a much better experience.

Breakfast was excellent but couldn't really offset the noise.

If I hadn't prepaid for the visit, I would have probably checked out early and found someplace else to stay.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Lack of air conditioning, interstate noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    33
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
28
53
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

Not a single area to complain about - great service, and rooms and
so clean. Friendly but professional staff who took time out to make sure your stay was going well.
Food was good - not spectacular but with a wide selection so could eat there several times without limiting your choices.
Great location too and so easy from Denver.

  • Liked — Location and value
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix,AZ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

My family (8 of us) recently spent 2 nights at Vail Mountain Lodge to celebrate my mother's 80th birthday. Upon entering their
3 bedroom Belvedere Suite, we were very pleasantly surprised
at the condominium's size - as big as a house. Beautifully furnished, large kitchen, great room and bedrooms, with 3 1/2 baths. Balconies in every room offered stunning views of the mountain, trees and rushing Gore Creek. A very hearty, delicious
breakfast (your choice), was included and served in their lovely dining room. On our first night, we had appetizers before going
to a concert, and the small plates were delicious.

The resort has an incredible athletic facility and spa. Family members took advantage of the gym's multiple machines and outdoor jacuzzi.

A very short walk along Gore Creek took us to the heart of Vail Village.

The only negative occurred when my nephews opened the sofa bed to find the linens had not been changed. This was corrected promptly by housekeeping.

Staff was gracious and very accommodating.

This is summer season, so obviously rates are much lower. We thought that $425 per night for our suite, included breakfast and other amenities was a good deal.

We would not hesitate to stay at Vail Mountain Lodge again.

  • Liked — furnishings, spaciousness, views, location
  • Disliked — could have used a little more overhead lighting
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

We stumbled upon this beautiful and charming hotel our first day in Vail. We walked into the lobby and was greeted by a gentleman named Grant. Grant immediately showed us some rooms and told us about all the area happenings. We were sold and checked in immediately.
The rooms have been redone recently and are hip and comfortable. The amenities provided and soaking tub are to die for. Breakfast is awesome and included. Service was wonderful - all our requests were met promptly and with a smile.
As far as we're concerned, definitely the hidden gem of Vail. We can't wait to come back next year!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2006

We have stayed at Vail Mountain Lodge many times and we have ALWAYS had EXCELLENCT service and accommodations. You have to take with a grain of salt the reviews of "Big City travelers" who arrive early and expect to check in to a property that has appox 50 rooms early- and then wonder how there could be confusion with a reservation NOT even book through the hotel!! We loved our most recent stay. The athletic club is one of Vails best (or any hotel really). The daily complimentary breakfeast buffet is excellent and the location is fantastic - in the village, but away from the main streets and on the river. We live in Denver and travel throughout the US and internationally and extensively in Colorado. Colorado resorts offer many world classs properties and though this property doesn't have a Ritz/Four Seasons/St Regis name on it, it is equal in many ways at FAR less cost and pretention!!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2005

Outstanding rooms, beautifully appointed, very comfortable. Excellent restaurant. Only potential negatives: no A/C, no elevator (but only 4 floors).

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vail Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Mountain Lodge

Address: 352 E. Meadow Drive, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#11 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vail Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail's most unique property is nestled along Gore Creek in the heart of Vail Village, just a few steps from ski lifts, shopping, and dining. With 20 hotel rooms and 7 one, two, and three bedroom condos, the hotel offers B&B intimacy and service as well as first rate amenities including the Vitality Center, featuring a full service spa, 18,000 sq. ft. health club and sports & functional medicine practitioners. Terra Bistro, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner has been a Vail favorite for over 20 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Vail Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Mountain Hotel Vail
Vail Mountain Lodge And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vail Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.