We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vail Village for Convenience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vail Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vail Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Vail Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   352 E. Meadow Drive, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Vail
Hunt, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Vail Village for Convenience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Vail Mountain Lodge is hard to beat for value and location. A cozy bar and excellent restaurant paired with a world-class gym and spa right in the heart of the village makes shops and restaurants as well as access to the slopes easy. The free transportation throughout the whole village paired with heated walkways is a huge plus. The intimate and friendly setting of the Lodge makes guests feel at home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the creek for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit. . .we do consider ourselves Vail's most convenient location, for those who want to be in the center of the village, yet far enough from the base area and commercial core to minimize crowd inconvenience! We also enjoy the fact that we're small enough to offer a truly personalized lodging experience, and appreciate your acknowledging that. And our full service Vitality Center and Terra Bistro restaurant are the icing on the cake! Please visit us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    33
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
28
53
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We have always loved staying here and our last visit was again impressive! We found two rooms last minute before Christmas and got an amazing rate. We also brought our dogs and couldn't get over how welcomed our pets were and how nice the "pet rooms" were as well.

The service is outstanding and we greatly appreciated the restaurant reservations that Lauren made for us during our stay, all the wonderful accommodations Adam made while we were there, and the terrific dinner we had at Terra Bistro thanks to Jim's help!

You must stay here if you haven't already! We absolutely love this hotel and will always stay here when we return to Vail!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to be your host!! We do love to accommodate those who travel with pets, as we understand how big a role they fill in all our lives!! We're delighted that Lauren, Jim, and Adam were able to anticipate and help you have a memorable stay. . .please, visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Such a wonderful experience we had here. Took a short getaway to Vail and stayed here primarily due to the spa and fitness center. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite which was absolutely amazing. All of the staff, front desk, bell hops, cleaning ladies, restaurant were so friendly and helpful. Complimentary breakfast was wonderful. Facility was spotless and offered free internet, free shuttle and advice on local businesses. We were so spoiled here and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Camp Hale Suite (3 bdrm) which was absolutely amazing. Plenty of room for a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to visit us! Our Vitality Center, including the fitness facility and spa you mentioned, has been a great attraction for us, giving us amenities that other intimate facilities don't generally have. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if we can be of service the next time your travel plans include Vail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

so close to the village ande slopes this high end hotel has a health spa and a great restaurant in the same building

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The VML has a good location. It is close to all of the Vail Village shops and restaurants but not in the middle of the noise. The Vail Village parking structure is directly across the street and in off season there is free self-parking.

The room was quiet, nicely furnished, with a large bathroom including separate tub and shower. It was on the valley view side (I-70 side), but I did not notice any noise. The room had a refrigerator, single serve coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless internet access, and a fireplace - very comfortable.

The breakfast buffet at Terra Bistro had a nice selection of fruit juices, fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, muffins and bread, plus two or three hot items that were different every day. Everything was super fresh.

Also included in the room rate was access to the Vail Athletic Club in the lower levels of the lodge.. This is a great hotel perk. Free weights, weight machines, a variety of cardio equipment, various classes, and a full locker room with sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, plus the cold plunge has to be experienced.

The hotel staff was very friendly and always available to answer questions.

I wanted to take a break and relax - the VML was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. . .our hope is to provide the "perfect" getaway, with all the trimmings, and it sounds as if that was your experience.

We share these comments with our staff in an attempt to improve the experience for our guests, and it's always gratifying for them to hear from satisfied customers.

Please visit again soon. . .and often!

Frank Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We recently took a trip to Vail, Colorado and selected Vail Mountain Lodge and Spa as our hotel. What a great choice we made! It was more than we could have ever expected! The rooms were exceptionally well done and spotless! The view was spectacular! And the staff was friendly and extremely professional to make sure everything surpassed our expectations.
Great time, great view, great food, great stay! I look forward to returning in the future!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing your experience here at the Vail Mountain Lodge! Our loyal guests are our best source of NEW guests, and we appreciate your taking the time to let us know that things were exceptional during your stay. Please don't hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to improve our service or facilities.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We really looked forward to returning here for a night on our vacation especially because there is an excellent restaurant on site & breakfast was included. My husband recently had foot surgery and can only walk a very short distance. The location, room, and fitness center on site are ideal. At check in I specifically asked when the breakfast buffet was available, and was told by the clerk 7:30-11am which I wrote down. In the morning we went for breakfast around 10:30 and were told it had already closed at 10am. We weren't offered any food or compensation, and ended up having to purchase some food at Safeway and eating in the car. Not fun. Made what could have been a delightful stay into a forgettable experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Thank you for letting me know about your visit to the Vail Mountain Lodge. . .I'm really very pleased with all the great things you experienced, but am truly sorry for the way that your breakfast problem was handled. . .I know that efforts were made to help you and your husband, but we obviously didn't offer you an option that could really work for you. When you are again in the area, please let me know, as I would love to offer you a complimentary visit, so we can make amends and show you the hospitality that we're famous for.

We hate for anyone to have a "less than satisfactory" experience, and would love the opportunity to be your host again!

Frank Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vail Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Mountain Lodge

Address: 352 E. Meadow Drive, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#11 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vail Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail's most unique property is nestled along Gore Creek in the heart of Vail Village, just a few steps from ski lifts, shopping, and dining. With 20 hotel rooms and 7 one, two, and three bedroom condos, the hotel offers B&B intimacy and service as well as first rate amenities including the Vitality Center, featuring a full service spa, 18,000 sq. ft. health club and sports & functional medicine practitioners. Terra Bistro, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner has been a Vail favorite for over 20 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Vail Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Mountain Lodge And Spa
Vail Mountain Hotel Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vail Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.