We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An elegant, special place with exceptional staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Lodge

Save Saved
You added Tivoli Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tivoli Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   386 Hanson Ranch Road, Vail, CO 81657   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 33 hotels in Vail
Westminster, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“An elegant, special place with exceptional staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at the Tivoli, and once again we were very pleased with our accommodations and the professional, friendly, helpful staff. We arrived early and Courtney checked us in anyway and gave us a room early. She was very friendly and helpful throughout our entire stay. Daniel Wilkinson also went the extra mile to give us recommendations as to where to eat and always gave us a warm welcome or have a great evening comment. The hotel is located perfectly, just close enough to the village to walk, the rooms are very elegant and spacious, the hotel lobby is very attractive and warm to walk into. The morning breakfast is excellent, everything is fresh and well prepared. Definitely recommend the Tivoli Lodge as the place to stay in Vail.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    561
    72
    14
    3
    7
See reviews for
153
342
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Mississippi, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Once you arrive, you know this place is special. The use of stone, wood and metal gave the appearance of sophistication. There were many special touches. For example, they have an island of ice tea and water in glass urns in the lobby during the day. Upon walking out of the hotel, you are within a block or so of Vail Village. Valet Parking is $17 per day. Self parking which is free is about three blocks away in the public parking garage. Would like to visit again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had a wonderful experience. We came to Vail for 2 days following our wedding for some time to relax since we are not taking a honeymoon until December. We were able to bring our pup - since they hotel does offer a few ground floor pet friendly rooms. The large lobby was open and bright and very moutain feel! The rooms were very nice and comfortable and it was fun to open the door to the large back yard. The residence lab, Speed, made his presence on occasion and played with our dog. The staff was incredible. So friendly! We even met the owner during breakfast, since they live there. The hotel is VERY close to town. We would love to return next summer or sometime this winter. Being from Denver, this place was a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our first time visiting Vail and we chose Tivoli Lodge as our home away from home. The lodge is relatively small and a bit removed from the main "pedestrian filled" thoroughfares in Vail, which is great especially after dark when some of the bars and restaurants in the village are the source of a fair amount of noise. Yet, the lodge is still close enough to the village, less that a 3 minute walk, to not hamper the ability of guests to quickly be part of the Vail scene. There is also a bus stop right across the street, if you want to use the Vail public transportation system. Additionally, the reserved size of the place means that you don't have to push through throngs of people to move around the lodge, use the hot tubs or have breakfast.
Our check in was quick and efficient and we were led to our room quickly. The room was great with up-to-date decor, appliances and furnishings. The room was clean and provided a great upscale atmosphere. Our room had a great view of the mountains and while it was directly above the hot tubs, we never had issues with noise from other guests enjoying the tubs. The lodge has strict use hours for the tubs. The staff was friendly and very willing to help. However, a few things stuck in our minds as possible areas for improvement. The hotel only has one elevator, which can cause a bit of a traffic jam. There are stairs available and the lodge only has 5 floors so it's a very viable alternative to the elevator. Additionally, the hotel has no swimming pool, which to my daughter was a bit of a let down (even though the hot tubs made for an okay alternative in her mind). Finally, there's no restaurant in the lodge. While there are plenty of great restaurants just a short walk from the hotel, there's no way of getting room service in those nights when you are just too tired to head out for dinner. Even without a restaurant, they are able to offer a very decent breakfast. There's a choice between continental or "hot breakfast (for an additional fee). In the end, while these detractors were evident, they didn't have a huge impact on our stay.
I would highly recommend the Tivoli if you are considering a stay in Vail.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the mountains. The rooms overlooking the village don't have mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a great place to stay. The location is a short walk to the lift and close to everything. Bob, the owner, is friendly and very informative, as is the entire staff. Bob has been in Vail for 50 years so he knows everything about Vail Valley and was nice enough to share his knowledge with us. His dog Speed is a four legged welcome center and likes bacon at breakfast. This is one of the best stays we have had in Vail and will definitely stay at Tivoli again.

Room Tip: Tivoli is just off the busy street so it is quiet no matter what floor or side of the building you s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa fe
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We think the Hotel is beautiful and in an excellent location. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and knowledgeable. The reason we can't rate as excellent: our room was changed after reservation, couple of maintenance issues in room, and only one chair for 2 guests. A minor issue in the room: no pictures or decorations on any of the walls. The upgrade to a mtn. view room is definitely worth the extra chg but the valet parking is not unless weather is a factor. Free parking in Vail garage just a short walk. B'fast buffet was excellent and a good value

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors facing the mtns. are worth worth the extra cost. Request a balcony and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Second time we stayed here and this is a first-class hotel.

We arrived at 11AM hoping to just drop our vehicle off figuring the room won't be ready and the front-desk was very accommodating and already had a room for us. First floor overlooking the Gold Peak Mountain. Room size is excellent and very-very clean. The entire staff is to be commended for superb customer service. Like the infused waters available all-day in the lobby.

We met one of the owners outside the front lobby and he was friendly. We had the continental breakfast the next day and it was an excellent value for the price.

To Tivoli Owners: Appreciate there are no "hotel fees" such as early check-in, resort fees, WIFI fees, etc... Nice Touch!

Come back again - YES!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tivoli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lodge

Address: 386 Hanson Ranch Road, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vail
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#5 Business Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tivoli Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Vail Village is the recently rebuilt, family-owned Tivoli Lodge, a luxury ski resort known for years for providing friendly, caring, personal service. The new European-style architecture blends perfectly into the surrounding natural environment, with unobstructed views of Vail's Golden Peak ski area and within steps of the Vista Bahn ski lift. The luxurious and spacious lobby offers stunning mountain views. The Tivoli Lode provides an intimate and unique setting to host a meeting or corporate retreat in Vail, Colorado. Our location, amenities and friendly staff create an environment that is perfect for groups up to 20 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tivoli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tivoli Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.