We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserving of its #1 rating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Lodge

Save Saved
You added Tivoli Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   386 Hanson Ranch Road, Vail, CO 81657   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 33 hotels in Vail
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Deserving of its #1 rating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We just got back from a week's stay at the Tivoli. As apparent in all the other excellent ratings, we had a wonderful experience and will definitely return again. The staff were all exceptionally friendly and eager to assist in anyway. If you arrive early as we did, I'd recommend you have your ski gear in a separate bag or readily accessible as you can hit the slopes while the Tivoli hangs onto your luggage and then later brings up to your room. The ski valet service was excellent and it was always a nice treat to end a day on the slopes with the delicious chocolate chip cookies and a cup of tea in the lobby. The slopes are a short walk away, and if there is enough snow, you can even ski straight from the slopes to the backdoor! The location in Vail Village is excellent, as you can easily shop and hit any number of wonderful restaurants (Vendettas for excellent pizza, Matshuhisa for the best sushi you'll ever eat, and Sweet Basil are some recs). We enjoyed the breakfast probably 3 or 4 days out of the week. Great food. The coin laundry was also a very convenient feature. Next time, I will definitely pack lighter and just do a load of laundry mid-week vs. bringing a week's worth of ski clothes. We really tried to take full advantage of our stay and would recommend others do the same! (e.g., reading books by the lobby fire, apres ski drinks at the bar, hitting the hot tub, etc.).

My only recommendation for change might be for shampoo/conditioner dispensers to be more eco-friendly as we probably went through 5 sets of the smaller hotel-sized containers.

Room Tip: The mountain rooms up on the 4th floor are very quiet. If you want a soaking tub, you'll have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    601
    78
    14
    3
    7
See reviews for
165
366
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California City, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Feels like home!! .Very warm environment, really nice staff that are all the time attend to your needs with a smile on their face. The Building makes you feel like been in Europe. The rooms are very cozy and have a lot of charm, with really nice bathrooms and beautiful views. I will go back every year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

My family had a wonderful experience with the people at the Tivoli. For starters, the lodge is warm and inviting. The brown lab (Speedy) is a token of the hotel's easy-going orientation. They are genuinely friendly to pets, adults and kids. Smiles from the staff are not forced and stiff. They truly seem eager to help. The rooms were ample and access to the mountain was simple -- a mere 100 or so yards away. Perhaps the best feature is the ski locker. Friendly attendants were happy to collect our skis before we even arrived. And each day thereafter, attendants brought us our skis in the AM and stored them for us overnight. The owners are quite nice and happy to interact with guests. The breakfast spread was also generous and surprisingly healthful. We are eager to had back to the Tivoli.

Room Tip: We liked the main floor. It made us feel like the lodge was our living room. The ski locker was al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

My wife, two kids (boy 12, girl 10), and I stayed at the Tivoli during our first visit to Vail. We had a wonderful experience from the moment we checked in to the time we checked out a week later. The location was perfect, just a very short stroll (or ski) to the lifts and the shops and restaurants of Vail Village.
Our room had two full beds and we were able to get a roll away for my son to sleep on. The room was nicely appointed and comfortable. The only improvement I would make is to offer different pillows (my family are not fans of down/feather filled pillows).
The buffet breakfast was delicious and very fairly priced. The Ski valet service was excellent and was really helpful for our family of 4 when we were excited to get onto the slopes in the morning and when we were exhausted at the end of the day. All of the staff made us feel right at home - as if we were old friends. Overall - a great place to stay. We are looking forward to our visit next year.

Room Tip: the mountainside rooms are slightly larger and offer a better view and a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

The staff were quite warm and welcoming and made us feel right at home. The owner of the hotel introduced himself to us at breakfast and made sure that we were well situated and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was terrific and included deliciously made to order omelettes and waffles. The location was superb -- just a minute walk to the Golden Peak lift. We could practically ski all the way back to the lodge at the end of the day, where we were greeted with homemade chocolate chip cookies, hot chocolate and tea. The hotel is also in walking distance to the many shops and restaurants. Overall, great place - we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Tivoli Lodge is so comfortable and the staff so friendly that we felt like we were staying with friends. It was relaxing. We had a room with a king bed, fireplace, and water jets in the shower. The room was spacious enough to comfortably accommodate two people and all of our ski clothes and regular clothes. We had a nice view of the slopes from our room, so it was easy to check on the weather and the mountain first thing upon waking in the morning. Our bathroom was also large and well appointed. The jets in the shower were a nice feature. You could have water falling from above, like usual, as well as straight at you from the wall. There was also a large soaking tub, although neither of us used it.

The ski storage room and ski valet were very convenient. At the end of the day, you ski down past the lift and probably could even get to the door of the hotel during a time of heavy snow (but we ended up walking about 50 feet) and go in a side door of the hotel. There are racks for your skis and poles/boards right inside the door, and benches where you can sit to take your boots off. The ski valet takes your equipment and puts it in the storage room, where it stays warm and dry until you arrive to ask for it the next morning. The floor in this whole area is heated underneath the rug, so little chunks of snow don't stick around long. Even if you do happen to step on one, it's not that bad because you're otherwise nicely warm. The one caveat about this area is that I did notice a hotel room or two right across from it. I imagine that these are less desirable rooms just because you'd have people banging around in boots continually. The ski valets were friendly and very helpful, rushing to take skis or poles the minute they saw us coming through the door.

In the morning, you do have to walk with your equipment to the lift because it's uphill and you have to cross a plowed road, but it is a very short walk. The hotel is one of the closest buildings to the Riva Bahn lift.

There is a refreshment table in the lobby during the day. They take it down at 4pm, at which point it only contains water. But during the day, you can get coffee or hot water for tea, cocoa, or apple cider. It's a nice way to warm up. You can also sit in the lobby on the comfy sofas and chairs, and there is a big hot fire along one wall. There are also big windows through which you can see the slopes. It's really cozy.

Outside the wall of windows in the back of the lobby, there are two hot tubs. I loved these and visited every afternoon. You can even exit the hot tub, walk or roll in the snow that's just beyond them, and then get back in. The bartender comes out to take drink orders. There is an extremely calm and friendly chocolate lab named Speed who belongs to the owners and who spends lots of time in the lobby and out by the hot tubs. He's good with kids (sits calm and still for the kids who want to pet or pose with him, and was patient with the really little kids who just screamed with excitement and joy to see him) and happy to sit by himself or be petted.

Breakfast in the hotel was delicious. We ate there most mornings. It is about $10 for cold food plus oatmeal, and about $15 for cold food plus all the hot food. I thought this was fair pricing, and the food was tasty and kept me full until lunch time, which is always important for when you are skiing. The servers were all very friendly and greeted us in the mornings like they'd known us forever.

Parking was free, which was very nice.

Room Tip: Avoid staying on the first floor across from the ski valet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Loved this hotel. Great, friendly, helpful staff. Great location to lifts and Vail Village. Rooms were comfortable and spacious. Loved the ski valet service. Because we were so close to the lifts we were able to get lots of runs in before the lifts got crowed in the morning and we skied back to the hotel at the end of the day. Great breakfast buffet. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the village side can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tivoli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lodge

Address: 386 Hanson Ranch Road, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#1 Family Hotel in Vail
#5 Business Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tivoli Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Vail Village is the recently rebuilt, family-owned Tivoli Lodge, a luxury ski resort known for years for providing friendly, caring, personal service. The new European-style architecture blends perfectly into the surrounding natural environment, with unobstructed views of Vail's Golden Peak ski area and within steps of the Vista Bahn ski lift. The luxurious and spacious lobby offers stunning mountain views. The Tivoli Lode provides an intimate and unique setting to host a meeting or corporate retreat in Vail, Colorado. Our location, amenities and friendly staff create an environment that is perfect for groups up to 20 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GCommerce Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Tivoli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tivoli Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.