We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group leader for 29 people...(7 units)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simba Run Vail Condominiums

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Simba Run Vail Condominiums to your Saves list
Simba Run Vail Condominiums
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1100 North Frontage Road, Vail, CO 81657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Group leader for 29 people...(7 units)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Jan 26- Feb 2 My wife and I were the trip leaders for 29 members for our ski club. It was one of the smoothest trips we have run. The 7 units we used for 7 nights were very nice for the price point we paid. The shuttle vans (2) were spot on as far as getting people to & from the slopes and around town for dinner and shopping.

The large indoor pool was average temperature, but the kids seemed to enjoy. The two hot tubs (indoor & outdoor) were both of the 15-20 person size and nice temperature. Most of our rooms were on the upper two floors which gave you a nice view of the Vail Valley. The full wall windows and sliding glass doors in the living room did a very good job of keeping freeway noise to a minimum. Others have said something about the noise, but I thought it was a non-issue. The bedrooms are on the backside of the units and were very quite. I didn't receive any complaints from any of my club members about their units. The 5 units I viewed were fresh and not beat up. All had granite counter tops.

The location is not in Lionshead, but is across the freeway from Cascade Village area. The only negative would be the Wi-Fi was under powered during prime time. But I have never been to a place yet with good Wi-Fi....In past trips we have stayed closer to the Village, but total trip price dictated a more to the Simba Run property....which worked out very well...We used the conference room for a catered party supplied by Moe's BBQ, which was top notch.

I just hope Vail doesn't price the average skier out of the market. I would return here if the price is right.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    43
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
79
27
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was our 5th time at Simba Run in Vail. Although there are so many great choices of where to stay, our kids love going to the biggest indoor pool in Vail after a full day of skiing. We like the hot tub. Although it's not in the village, it's about 5 minutes away in the shuttle. Usually, we rent a car and park it in the Simba garage. We use the shuttle even in the evening. It's very convenient. The units vary, but the extra space is a must for our family of 4. Plus the kitchen and fire place make it easy for us to relax and not hurry to get breakfast. We have had great experiences and are fans of the Starbucks coffee/hot cocoa machine in the lobby. I would say it's a great value and clean, comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I'll keep it brief.... the rooms were ok, nothing special and rooms are outdated. Looks like something straight out of 1975. They claim they have Wi fi service; they don't . Many guests complained that they had no Internet service in their rooms. The staff can be rude and we understood why after meeting the manager of this place. There are a lot of condos and hotels around vail , I would recommend to stay away from this one.... the service and staff were some of the worse I've encountered in years.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This condo - we stayed at room 1514 - is owned by individual owners, our two bedroom apartment was perfect for our four person party, it was well kept with everything you need to make you stay easier: washer/dryer, dishwasher, fridge, range/oven, microwave. Towels are changed everyday, there is a shuttle running often to take you to the main villages, so to to the ski areas, Our room had a beautiful view to the mountain. Staff friendly.
There is a covered parking garage and locker for the skis. Hot tub and pool. There is a market, and a good value restaurant close to the hotel. Awesome vacation we enjoyed there. We will like to go next year same apartment

Room Tip: ask for a room with mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went to Vail with our kids for the weekend and chose to return to Simba Run, even though they are located across the highway from the main town and the base of the mountain. They have a shuttle that runs regularly and drops off at several locations close to the base of the mountain, so getting to ski is not a problem at all. Also, they have always encouraged us to come up early, even before check in time, and park in their covered garage, which is much cheaper than the $25 per day that Vail charges.

The condos are individually owned and, as such, vary in their ammenities, but all of the units we have stayed in have been very reasonable. Our kids love the facilities at Simba Run. There is a large, indoor pool and hot tub in addition to the outdoor hot tub. This makes a great place for both parents and kids to relax in the evening. There is also a free DVD rental kiosk in the lobby, so there are always movies to choose from.

All in all, we love Simba Run and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The wife and I have become a bit "snooty" when it comes to hotels so we weren't thrilled at the layout of the room which had the master on the entry level and the kitchen, family room and spare bedroom a level up. Kitchen was very nice -- with granite counters and open to the family room. Bathrooms were a bit small. Beds were comfy and the room had it's own compact washer and dryer.

What makes this place excel is the huge pool, along with an outdoor and an indoor hot tub. The outdoor tub is large and it's a fantastic place to sit and hang out after a day of skiing. Another plus is the free, Red-Box-style video rental in the lobby. We stayed here three days and each day enjoyed going from the ski hill, to the pool and hot tubs then right up to the room with a recent family video.

Room Tip: I understand some are updated and some are in the process of updating -- might be worth asking about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This was perfect for me and my 2 children. We got a really great deal around $100 per night for the week of Thanksgiving.
Highlights:
Free coffee and hot chocolate in the lobby
Free DVD rentals
Free firewood delivered to your condo daily
Spacious accomodations
Free shuttle to Vail resort
Close to highway and supermarket
Great swimming pool and indoor and outdoor tub

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Simba Run Vail Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simba Run Vail Condominiums

Address: 1100 North Frontage Road, Vail, CO 81657
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Simba Run Vail Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring the LARGEST INDOOR POOL IN VAIL! Simba operates two private shuttles to the slopes. Simba offers front desk assistance like a hotel. Families love Simba - convenient, easy and fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Simba Run Vail Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simba Run Hotel Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simba Run Vail Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.