We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, cozy condos nestled smack in the middle of Lionshead Village!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montaneros Condominiums

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Montaneros Condominiums to your Saves list
Montaneros Condominiums
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   641 West Lionshead Circle, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off Vail Lodging
Ranked #2 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful, cozy condos nestled smack in the middle of Lionshead Village!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

First time in Vail for a ski fest weekend with my girlfriends...From the moment of arrival to the property Div was the warm welcome we needed after our travels from Las Vegas and Atlanta. Unfamiliar with the village, Div took time to explain directions and the shuttle service. He walked us through highlights of the property in much detail. The room was absolutely gorgeous! Clean, sharp with prompt room service daily. Kitchen was beautifully appointed with every imaginable tool needed to prepare a full course meal. The shuttle pick up was literally a couple flights down stairs from our room which made it so convenient to get around. Basically our rental car stayed in a secure underground garage the whole weekend. All I can say is Bravo and will soon be returning for an Encore!

Room Tip: We had a corner top floor unit with views of the snow tops overlooking the pool and jacuzzi area...D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Booked a condo here using vrbo. It was not as updated as I would prefer, but it was very clean and comfortable. The best thing about it was the super friendly staff and the location. Steps to everything....skiing, restaurants, spa, shopping and buses to anywhere in Vail. Underground parking was a big plus, as was the ski storage.

Room Tip: 3rd floor or higher
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have just spent a week ski ing in Vail staying at Montaneros and had a great time. The apartment was large and very nicely furnished. It would be great in summer with the bar b ques on the balcony, Great central location, large pool and spa area, very helpful reception staff, especially Claire who helped us with booking ground trasport and assisted with late check out as we were catching a late afternoon. plane back to Australia .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from two weeks in Vail staying in Montanero's and what a great choice we made. The apartment was lovely and the staff, including reception and housekeeping, were always friendly, helpful and attentive. The location is terrific being right in the heart of Lionshead and I was pleasantly surprised the local buses picked up literally at the doorstep (which was good for the forays into West Vail for grocery supplies). A large ski and boot drying room is next to the lobby, with computers available for guests in the lounge. Complimentary coffee is always available as well. Reception staff were extremely helpful and very keen to research for me anything of local interest. A small library of paperbacks was handy too. We will definitely be going back.

Kerin and Mark Harrington, Sydney, Australia

Room Tip: Our room was 214 which had a lovely view of the mountain. This level was good as it was actually the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We traveled to vail in the second week in Jan to do some skiing. Lionshead is a bit newer than Vail village but a free bus system runs every 5 minutes between the two. While Vail village may be bigger and has more shops etc, I chose Lionshead. After speaking with the Vail reservation specialists they helped me narrow down my choices in lodging. I picked the Montaneros as the price was very good.

Location:
The location is central in Lionshead and is literally a 2 minute walk to the Gondola. There are shops restaurants and the ice skating rink is just outside.

Property:
The property is not the newest (that honor goes to the Arrabelle) which is next door but the interiors of each of the units are extremely high end and there is a lot of space in each unit.
Don't let the exterior upon drive up fool you, the units are very nice.
The corridors are outdoor but covered so it was cold once you exited your unit.
There is a pool and jacuzzi that is well maintained and snow removal was excellent.

There is a ski and storage room that has built in automatic boot dryers for your boots overnight. Free hot chocolate, coffee and popcorn is always available. They have discounts to local ski rentals and souvenir shops so make sure you pick up those coupons as Vail is expensive.
There is secured underground parking which is free. Laundry rooms are on each floor with free detergent, dryer sheets etc. It costs to wash and dry but the front desk makes change.
There was no bellman working when we arrived but there are a lot of carts for your use.

Units
Upon check in I inquired about a second room with two twins for my teens. Andrew the assistant manager showed me two units. Unit 409 had two bedrooms each with their own bathrooms. One of the bedrooms was up in a loft and was on the 4th floor. Those on the 4th floor had better views of the mountain and this unit had a wall of glass and very high ceilings. We also looked at unit 312 which had two bedrooms but one had two twins in it and the other a king room. Each had its own bath. We chose this unit. Each unit has highs end appliances granite throughout flat screen TVs ifasdn the bedrooms and the large one in the living room. All units were fully equipped with dishes etc. Aveda products were provided and housekeeping was excellent.

For the price and location this is an excellent property in the heart of Lionshead.

Only con was that the wi fi which was free was not very strong in the units.

Room Tip: 4th floor has the best views and there is no one above you. Be sure to ask about available rooms wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The location is great, an easy walk to the lifts and good restaurants. The beds were hard as rocks, the walls were thin, and the folks outside our place loved to sing especially when the bars closed. We left after a week at Montaneros quite exhausted from lack of sleep. On a positive note, the lobby is delightful; the staff has clearly worked to offer nice amenities such as popcorn and hot chocolate. The cleaning staff is excellent. It would have been nice, however, to have more assistance (ie some sort of concierge service would have been appreciated). The pools and hot tubs were wonderful; there is no fitness center. Bottom line, for what we paid we were disappointed and would not recommend these condominiums.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie H, General Manager at Montaneros Condominiums, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Montaneros is a boutique style property with a smaller staff than many of our larger neighbors but we are willing and eager to fulfill any type of request, including concierge and bell type services. We do not have an on site fitness center, so we have made arrangements to provide complimentary passes to the nearby Arrabelle fitness center for our guests. I am sorry about your noisy neighbors. In situations such as this I encourage guests to contact our on site manager who will make a courtesy call or take additional measures if necessary. Thank you for your honest review. We will be making improvements to our communications to ensure that future guests are aware of these services and amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Just spent Labor Day Weekend in Vail at Montaneros - it was a great experience. Made a last minute reservation not knowing what to expect. The condo was great - all updated - kitchen and bathrooms were very nice. Pool area and grounds were great - as was the location. The best part was the staff - incredibly helpful. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Would ask for a condo away from Moe's BBQ
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montaneros Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montaneros Condominiums

Address: 641 West Lionshead Circle, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montaneros Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Montaneros Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montaneros Condominiums Hotel Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montaneros Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.