We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staff, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manor Vail Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Manor Vail Lodge to your Saves list
Manor Vail Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   595 East Vail Valley Dr., Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome staff, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have been staying at Manor Vail most weekends during the ski season in the past 4/5 years . We are extremely happy with Manor Vail. Manor Vail staff make us feel like being at home each time we were there. It's the people make this place different. They went above and beyond to make us (family w small kids) comfortable and welcome, especially their Director of Operations, Theresa Zoller, who has been working there for 37 years. She went out of her way each time to help us whenever we need it. Thank you very much, Manor Vail staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    46
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
96
39
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

It's a great location in Golden Peak but it has certainly seen better days. The rooms are worn down and drafty and the service was mixed. The front desk manager was downright rude. You can do much better for less...

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole W, General Manager at Manor Vail Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your response. We apologize for the service experienced with our Front Desk Manager, it is our goal to provide warm and genuine guest service. In order to better serve you I invite you to contact me directly to discuss the issue in further.

Sincerely,
Robert McCleary
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My family (wife and 2 teens) stayed at Manor Vail Lodge during the first week of January 2013. We were very happy with our experience. The lodge is located across the street from a ski rental, which is literally a few steps from the Vail Golden Peak chairlift. The lodge has underground heated parking for your car, although you pay $25/day for it. There was a gas fireplace in our room which had a separate bedroom, a queen sleeper for our kids, a small kitchen with a stove, fridge, microwave and dishwasher. The bedroom had its own bathroom so we didn't have to share with our teens. Also there was a heated pool and two hot tubs which we made use of. The only downside is the location is on the east end of the Vail business area, but still within walking distance to shops and restaurants. We also had the buffet breakfast which was really great and convenient. I would recommend this lodge and if I return will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Location was right across street from GOlden Peak lifts, ski school. Rooms were small, with 4 people and all our gear, you could hardly walk. Staff were pleasant but kind of like an Ed Debeveks experience - kind of wise crackers. (At bar, I asked where the restrooms were lcoated. Bartender pointed to the sign I obviously had not seen, and said, "as the sign inidcates, they are downstairs."

I liked this place and would consider returning, but would certainly look at others as well for the next trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole W, Director of Food & Beverage at Manor Vail Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our intent is to make every guest feel welcome and that all of their needs are attended to in the Fitz Lounge. I am sorry that your walk away impression was the contrary as we do not intend to sound smug or sarcastic in any way when giving you directions. We hope to see you at our wonderful daily après ski party “the Fitz at 4” next time you are in the area. Adam Lewis, Food and Beverage Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent a few days before Christmas in Vail and stayed at the Manor Vail Lodge. I picked it due to the location (across the street from chair 6 & Golden Peak area). I was unsure about how updated it would be due to individual ownership. Our room was GREAT!
Check in is a bit late, but they showed us to the spa where we could change and hit the slopes. They offered to call when the room was ready but we finished up skiing at that time. The room was perfect. It was one bedroom (though not a separate bedroom) with a murphy bed, couch, two chairs, one bathroom and kitchen. Great storage in the entry way and two closets. The balcony overlooked the forest and stream.
The underground parking area was nice to have (though it is $25/night).
The spa is small (i think two treatment rooms, a wet sauna, and dry sauna) but sufficient. There are two heated outdoor pools and four outdoor hot tubs. Nice after a day of skiing!
We had some drinks and food at the Fitz. The bartender was so nice, beer cold, and food delicious! Try the curry hummus.
The location was perfect. About a 2 min walk to the lift/ski rental place/lodge. Vail Village is about 2 minutes away also.
I would definitely stay here again as soon as i can!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Director of Sales at Manor Vail Lodge, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear you and your family had a wonderful time. We agree that our location is perfect for getting to and from the mountains. We apologize for the delay in check-in time. Due to the fact that we are a condominium property we are not always able to have rooms available prior to check in time. We will most certainly share your great feedback. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again next season!


Sincerely,
Nicole Whitaker
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

we had a great stay...from start to finish....

we booked way back in may with the reservationist nina...she was awesome to work with! so super accomodating and helpful and very prompt answers to questions and all details inbetween...i would recommend the MVL and working with Nina to anyone who asks....

beautiful property! now, we stayed in a completely redone unit not sure about others...but, that being said, i am not giving up the unit number as we may want it next xmas week...sorry folks...

when i originally booked, i was a bit skeptical.. as was my husband due to some bad reviews, but, we went with our gut and nina's helpfulness and promptness...the bad reviews must have stayed elsewhere than the MVL we stayed at...

we got a completely redone ground unit super near the pool and hottubs. it was clean. the staff were helpful as we had the back door stop working and i mistakenly cooked bacon on too high of heat and set off the smoke alarms! all staff was super helpful and accomodating upon both mishaps...

we had a one bedroom (with pocket door to the bdrm) and a murphy bed and pull out couch..there was myself, dh and dd who is 10...the unit was great. couldnt ask for better! i had the mvl do a quick shop for us and all was there upon our arrival which happened to be a day late due to flight cancellations in denver...i had called when our flight was delayed and then again cancelled and we could not arrive until the next day...we took a private car in to vail from the denver area....all was well..we still had the premium upgraded room we originally requested....thank you to kris and nina at the front desk...

the unit was clean and convenient to the childrens golden peak ski school. smack across the street! perfect with a 10 yr old! the pool and hottubs very near our room were a perfect added plus!

the staff were super helpful and all about making our stay the xmas trip we needed.

the lodge is clean and neat and small...super near the village...a quick walk and you were there!

i would highly recommend this lodge especially if you have children in ski school as they are so tired at the end of the day and the proximity could not be better...i will review the school and other things in another post....

we had room srvc a few times and it was all just fine...we did not venture to the fitz or lord gore perse as it did not fit into our schedule....food was good as was service. hskpng does a fine job...any xtras you need will be instantly seen upon request...

guest services get an A plus in our book!

cant wait for our stay next xmas

Room Tip: request a redone premium unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole W, Manager at Manor Vail Lodge, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for the fantastic feedback from your recent stay! I have shared the comment with our Management team & Nina. It was our pleasure to ensure your stay was memorable & we look foward to welcoming you back next Christmas. Best wishes for a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Upon booking, I requested an early check - in. I got there at ~ 11:30, and they said they'd call me when my room was ready. No call, until 3:57 p.m. That's 3 - minutes prior to Normal Check - in. Long, icey walk to food, bars, & shops. Went to eat dinner at their "Lord Gore" restaurant at 8:30 Friday night, and the restaurant was closed due to a "private reservation". No notices, no announcement at check-in that I couldn't eat dinner there. Only snack food at "The Fitz Bar". Everyone working at Manor Vail seemed unhappy. Worst hotel experience I have had in 32 - years of visiting Vail!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole W, Manager at Manor Vail Lodge, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your response. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Please note that we posted the closure of Lord Gore in both the check-in packets and elevator signs throughout the hotel. The $50 credit is also usable in Room Service and The Fitz Lounge. When we looked into your reservation we credited back $50 to your stay for your troubles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manor Vail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Vail Lodge

Address: 595 East Vail Valley Dr., Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manor Vail Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor Vail Lodge offers ski lodging for Colorado Mountain weddings and meetings. This Vail, Colorado hotel also offers fully furnished condos, dining, a variety of vacation packages & much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Manor Vail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Vail Hotel Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor Vail Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.