We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Condos in Vail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge at Lionshead

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge at Lionshead to your Saves list
Lodge at Lionshead
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   380 E. Lionshead Cir., Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best Condos in Vail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My husband and I met while living in Vail, both worked in Vail for a combined 12 years, and stay in Vail 8 times per year during both the summer and ski-season. We live in Boulder now so we take weekend trips often. We've stayed at (or worked at:) almost every luxury hotel and condo in Vail from the Arrabelle to the Lodge Tower, the Lodge at Vail to Tivoli Lodge, MountainHaus, Cascade, Vail Mountain Lodge, and the list goes on and on. We loved all of those hotels and condos and had a wonderful experience - however, after staying at the Lodge at Lionshead this past Thanksgiving I don't think we will ever choose stay anywhere else. I actually thought twice about writing this review because I don't want them to lose availability when we'd like to go ;)

We are a family of four with two small children (ages 5 & 2). We stayed in a one bedroom and it was huge and perfect for our family. It was really a 2 bedroom that was listed as one because the second room with the fold out couch didn't have a door - but there was still a living room with a huge L-couch, a kitchen, huge closet, two very nice bathrooms, etc. It also had a huge wrap around balcony with a grill and a table where we ate Thanksgiving dinner and listened to the creek flow by our room.

I realize that everyone is looking for a different experience when they come to Vail. For us, we like luxury but it is also all about the experience the hotel provides. I love having a condo because you have a kitchen - and with two small kids it is a must for us! I can give up some things, like room service or on-site full service spa, for others like, kitchen, proximity to the gondola (which is a short walk) and proximity to shopping and dining (again, you are right in Lionshead near the bus stop if you chose to go to the Village - but you can walk to the Village too - we did this every time because it was beautiful out). In Vail you can get food delivered from almost anywhere, you can go to any spa, so I don't need these things at my hotel or condo.

I am also partial to Lionshead. I taught skiing at the ski school in Lionshead - not that Lionshead is anything like it was when I taught - but in many ways it is even better. I love Montauk restaurant and like being able to walk right back to my condo after dinner on a cold night. We love the skating rink in Lionshead, the gelato shop which we frequent, Garfinkles deck for the best nachos after a day of skiing and riding. Lionshead has a very different feel than the Village - but still with everything to offer. Also, I think if you haven't lived in Vail, you might not realize how easy it is to walk between Lionshead and Vail Village (maybe not in ski boots :). Lionshead is the spot for us.

The Lodge at Lionshead is the perfect place for families, couples, groups, anyone, because the facility is wonderful (pool and hot tub, small exercise room, ski storage, close to everything, etc) and the staff is AMAZING. Craig was our regular go-to person and he ALWAYS went above and beyond for anything we needed - and everyone else we came in to contact with was exceptional. The condos are beautiful and very well maintained. I can't say enough good things about the Lodge at Lionshead. We are staying again in February for a week in a Platinum 2 Bedroom. I'll report back on the fabulous experience when we return! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
73
27
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We just completed a 4 night stay couple with 3 children in a 2 bedroom platinum. The pillows were better then the ones I have at home. Housekeeping was thorough and provided daily. The Staff were incredibly nice, no matter what we needed. The concierge sent information in advance for massage and restaurants. Kitchen was fully equipped, all amenities were provided, right down to soap for the washing machine!!! The 2 bedrooms were not huge but the living area was very spacious. Dining room chairs and living room furniture were all very welcoming and comfortable. Beds were double or larger. This was our first time here but won't be our last!!! We highly recommend the Lodge at Lionshead for couples, friends or families. The scenery is also lovely, but as a mom traveling with a family I must say that a great resort is not sufficient if the accommodations are unsatisfactory. In this case, the lovely resort was a bonus for our stay with awesome staff in wonderful accommodations.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Had a planned seven night stay that unexpectedly was extended. My wife got hurt on the last day and we needed to extend our stay. The staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. This was true before and after her injury.

We stayed in two units a two bedroom gold and a three bedroom gold. Units are individually owned and you really feel like you are staying in somebody's home. Pictures on the wall, mementos etc... Our three bedroom unit was in building that was furthest from base which made walk to Gondola with equipment long. By the time you get back to Ski Locker at end of day it's a haul.

Both units spacious and laid out well. Also better than your standard hotel condo as far as equipment. Glassware, dishes, flatware stuff that people actually purchase to use for themselves.

star

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

What a lovely place!
Travelled with my family of five for a week and stayed in a two bedroom condo for a week.
The apartment was superb. Very comfortable, super beds, well equipped kitchen and bathrooms, efficient washer/dryer and all with view to snow covered trees. Lots of special touches such as lip balm and sunscreen provided. The daily maid service was also great.
Location is very important when you ski with kids. The Lodge is 100 metres of easy walking to the gondola and chair lift. Similar distance to Lionshead village and only 50 meters to the free Vail shuttle bus.
This is a special place, as others have said before. It is quiet, really well maintained, every magazine and paper is kept neat and inviting. The hot tubs are always bubbling and the paths clear of snow.
The staff are lovely. Thanks so much to Craig and Jen for their friendly words over the week and great advice.
After we left I realised my children had left some items behind. Jen and Lesley were helpful in sorting this out for us.

Why would you stay anywhere else at Vail??
We wouldn't.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our family of 5 adults and 1 child were well accommodated in a fantastic 3 bedroom condo (Gold rated). The unit specified "sleeps 6-8", but there were beds for 9. The decor was up to date and elegant, with holiday touches included! Views of Vail mountain and Gore Creek out of the floor to ceiling windows were spectacular. This condo was in Phase 3 of the L@L and we loved the intimacy of the smaller density condo setup (9 units in this building). We used the hot tub & pool most afternoons and only once overlapped with other guests. There was an ample supply of firewood easily accessed on our porch. Garage parking was also a nice amenity. We were able to access the bike path at the rear of the property to walk to Eagle Bahn gondola, a pleasant 3-5 minute walk along the picturesque Gore Creek. During our stay we needed documents notarized and FedExed - a request that the folks in the front office easily accommodated. Great staff, great place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked Lodge at Lionshead for a week long stay over Xmas having read rave reviews on TripAdvisor. We booked a platinum condo and needless to say the price was very high as this is the premium week in Vail. The condo itself was rather nice with a very comfy and nicely furnished sitting room/diner/kitchen. Bedrooms and bathrooms are very small and no bath tubs.

The pros : great location moments from lift, extremely helpful staff - Craig, Lesley and Jen were very kind and friendly.
However there are some major cons - first one of our bedrooms did not have a proper curtain just a malfunctioning blind which was totally unfit for purpose and which maintenance had to patch up several times resulting finally in a cardboard improvisation leaving the room completely dark. We did agree to this as the least worst option but not really an acceptable situation, Our children had two nights without sleep after the blind fell down as there was a light shining directly outside.
Second the reception area is not staffed after 7pm on Sundays and holidays and 8pm on weekdays. This did create a major problem for us first because of the aforementioned blind falling of the wall at 11pm and second because our TV and DVD were not working at five past seven on a Sunday and over an hour later no help was forthcoming having dialled the out of hours number. It was eventually rectified and was in fact a fault.
Third there is an outdoor pool and hot tub but bath robes are not provided so it is a bit of an ordeal getting there (more precisely back) in ones own clothes.
Finally duvets are not provided or available although we did manage to have feather pillows provided after asking.

So in a nutshell although the place is generally nice and cosy, in an excellent location and the staff are very nice there are some serious drawbacks and for the price this certainly did not feel like a platinum experience. We did express our concerns and were offered a small refund which was nice of them but would have preferred the issues not to have occurred in the first place.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie R, Public Relations Manager at Lodge at Lionshead, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you very much for the feedback we received both during your stay and in this review. We take it very seriously and are always looking for opportunities to improve. I’m glad you were happy with the location and condo as a whole. It is platinum-rated and one of our larger condos in terms of square footage – 1,300 – with vaulted ceilings, washer/dryer and beautiful views of Vail Mountain. It is one of my favorites!

Unfortunately, we did have a few maintenance issues while you were here and I know that affected your experience. The blinds in one of the bedrooms were indeed malfunctioning and our attempts to repair them were not successful. New blinds were ordered while you were here and we did offer a refund as compensation for that issue. I apologize again for the inconvenience.

With regards to the TV/DVD issue, our after-hours service call log shows a request for maintenance in your condo, cancellation of that request by someone in your party, reinstatement of the request and the response by our engineer all taking place within a 50-minute period. The biggest gap in time was between your cancellation and reinstatement of the maintenance request. If this is not accurate or there was a miscommunication with our after-hours service, please let us know so that we may address it directly with them.

Lodge at Lionshead is a condominium property with hotel services like a front desk, concierge and daily housekeeping. Similar to most condominium properties, we do not offer a 24-hour front desk and we note that on our confirmations. Our condos are all individually owned and things like bedding and furnishings are left to the owner’s discretion. The platinum-rated condo you stayed in has bedspreads rather than a hotel room-type duvet. We do triple sheet each bed as standard practice. Our standard pillows are non-feather pillows because most of our guests request this type of pillow due to down allergies. We do keep a supply of feather pillows in stock for specific requests like yours.

Hotel rooms and condos will generally have some differences in their amenities (like feather duvets and robes) and we are always happy to discuss these with any prospective guest. We want to be sure we are good fit, and if we are not we will steer the caller towards a more appropriate property.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope that the rest of your vacation in Vail was quite enjoyable!

Warm regards,
Leslie Robertson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in room 270 (Phase II - Gold level) for a week during Xmas. We are a family of 5 - everyone skis and we have one child that needed to be in ski school each morning. Our priority was proximity to a lift and/or ski school and enough room for 5 skiers. We were also looking for good value. Lodge at Lionshead was in an excellent location for our requirements. It was about 50-100 yards out the back door to the lift ticket booth and gondola. This allowed everyone in our group to come and go as they pleased without having to get on a shuttle or drive anywhere. The main benefit to us was the convenience of being located near the lifts at Lionshead. Also, the ski school at Lionshead is similarly close to the Lodge. Everything within easy walking distance. There is a general store in Lionshead that has enough groceries to keep you going for breakfast and light dinners -- all in all, no need for a rental car because of this excellent location.

Our unit was a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit. It was clean but dated in terms of decor. But we were there to ski and the main thing that we wanted was space and cleanliness, and this unit was just fine. Appliances were all relatively new and the Lodge provides daily housekeeping which is a real plus that we did not expect. Additionally, our unit had a built in washer/dryer which was great for keeping wet laundry dry after long days on the mountain. My understanding is that you can upgrade to a platinum level unit which would be more upgraded in terms of decor and furniture than the gold level units. But there is absolutely nothing wrong with gold level unit that we stayed in. It was perfectly acceptable.

Service at the Lodge was fine. It is a condo so it is not a full fledged lodge or hotel with a dining room or anything like that, but there is a front desk that is staffed by wonderfully friendly and helpful people until about 7pm every night. We arrived after 7pm and checkin was no problem at all. There is a lockbox at the front door and your key is left there for you. Finding the room was not a problem either.

Selecting a place for a family to stay in Vail is really challenging. The closer you are to the mountain, the more expensive and the range of accommodations seems to be either super luxurious and expensive, or cheap and run down. You can see this on reviews all over TripAdvisor. Lodge at Lionshead is right in the middle: great location, but not luxurious or a dump. It's well maintained but targeted towards travelers who are little more value oriented. While we could have stayed in other units that were less per day, reviews on TripAdvisor indicated that we would have still paid a lot and received truly run down units or had a long walk or shuttle ride to get to a lift.

As I mentioned earlier, we stayed during Xmas week so if there was any drawback to this unit it was the significantly marked up (30% peak surcharge) for staying during the holiday. Of course this is a matter of supply and demand, but it really stings to know how much more we paid per night than what it would have cost virtually any other time of year. But it was still great - and we couldn't have asked for a better location and set up. Before we left my kids were already asking if we could book it again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Gore Creek or the sides may be quieter than those facing the street. Our unit faced th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge at Lionshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Lionshead

Address: 380 E. Lionshead Cir., Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge at Lionshead 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Platinum-rated property ideally located just 100 yards from the base of Vail Mountain on scenic Gore Creek. Lodge at Lionshead features luxury condos ranging in size from studios to 4 bedroom condos that are great for both families and groups of friends. Amenities includes outdoor heated pool, hot tubs, fitness room, saunas, equipment storage, free parking, free WiFi, daily housekeeping and concierge desk. Our exceptional service keeps guests coming back year after year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Lodge at Lionshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Lionshead Hotel Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge at Lionshead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.