We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay at Sonnenalp Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonnenalp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonnenalp to your Saves list
Sonnenalp
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa Getaway Package
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Vail
louisville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay at Sonnenalp Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the resort on Saturday, November 20th and had a wonderful time! Our suite was fantastic and we loved the loft. We walked around Vail and plan to come back when we can stay longer. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. We will be back and plan on bringing more friends with us.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, December 7, 2010
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The Mill Creek Suites are wonderful with their private loft. On behalf of everyone at the Sonnenalp, we look forward to your return!
With warmest regards,
Johannes Faessler,
Owner / General Manager,
Sonnenalp Resort of Vail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    55
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
100
231
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here in Jan 2010 for a week. We're regular skiers/boarders in Europe but with the exchange rate at the time, believe it or not it was more economical (pound for dollar versus Euro, and appalling European service levels in mind), to fly from London to Vail and get genuine 'value' for the money we were shelling out.

Vail aside (it's covered in detail by many others), this is a word about the Sonnenalp. If you find a better hotel Manager and customer-facing team in the US, I'd love to know about it, (but I have found a drawback I'm afraid, which is my caveat).

From the moment the reception staff acknowledged our wish for a king/queen bed (as opposed to the slightly small version we were originally offered), to the evening drinks we shared with Johannes in the fondue restaurant, we could not have been afforded a better stay. Seriously, we were the archetypal holiday guests continually delighted by a team of staff who just wanted to make our stay memorable...and in this they succeeded.

So, a 6 weeks ago I chose to surprise my girlfriend by blowing an inordinate amount of money in booking a return to the Sonnenalp for her 30th birthday in January (London>New York>Eagle County). I decided to heed Johannes' advice (the charming Manager), by notifying them in advance. Johnannes had said they "...would ensure any repeat visit we made would be even better than the first...". A bold claim, frankly, but one which I was prepared to test.

Sadly, this is where his team are not entirely in sync with the customer-facing staff.

A lady called Kimberly (Kim) Schramm was the recipient of my mails, and without boring you with detail, I'd simply say she was pointless: unresponsive, unhelpful, unaccommodating and generally pretty ordinary...which is ok, if you're paying for 'ordinary'.

The issue I had was that travelling from London we're already forking out a fortune just to get there (~$2,000), so bearing in mind that the nightly rate for 6 of our proposed 7 day stay was being offered at $290/night, I was being prevented from finalising the trip due to the single night we intended to be there during their "high season". Believe it or not, this single night on 1st Jan (after all the NYE stuff is done) was being offered at $819.

I was hoping for some of Johannes' customer service. It wasn't forthcoming from Kim, nor from her Manager Patricia McNamara.

30th Birthday? Not interested. Repeat client? Irrelevant. $819 for Saturday 1st, $290 the next evening.

The killer for me was when she and her Manager asked me to change my flights from London, in order to arrive a day later. Ha ha ha! Seriously, you couldn't make it up if you tried.

Anyway, all I'm really trying to say is that this is a great hotel, it has everything most people could wish for in terms of ambience, luxury and welcome...but don't be misled into thinking that everyone in the Sonnenalp shares Johannes' commitment to his clients. They don't.

Oh, and regfarding the outcome? We've been forced to stay at a local Best Western or similar for $110 for that first night after our transfer from EWR to Eagle. I simply can't justify 1 night in the hotel for the same price as a flight from London to Eagle via New York.

Good luck. I hope your time there (and our next) won't let Johannes and Rosana down.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
Thank you so much for bringing to our attention your concerns with our reservation process. I will be in touch personally to ensure that this is resolved to everyone's satisfaction. We appreciate your candor and your feedback.
Sincerely,
Johannes Faessler,
Owner / General Manager,
Sonnenalp Resort of Vail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

I visited as part of a business meeting and while researching my travel guide, No Dough Colorado (which the hotel did not know). At the Sonnenalp, the staff is very friendly and personable, making you feel at home. The rooms are spacious, with good toiletries and little touches like more than one folding luggage rack and stools (for putting on ski gear), and lots of closet space. Walking distance to town, and very easy to reach from the I-70. My room overlooked the entry/valet area, but the view was charming because we looked at the hotel's Old World architecture and the mountains beyond. This made me think that you probably can't get a bad room here!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Thank you for your review and for visiting the Sonnenalp Resort of Vail as part of your research for your travel guide! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and felt at home. It’s what we call Gemütlichkeit, and it’s the standard of warm and personal hospitality to which we constantly strive. We hope you'll visit us again, and best of luck with your upcoming travel guide!
Sincerely,
Johannes Faessler,
Owner / General Manager,
Sonnenalp Resort of Vail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

We just came back from a 3-night stay at the Sonnenalp, and we are still in awe of everything about Vail. The hotel made us feel as if we were truly in the Alps, and it makes us want to travel to the Alps. The stay was awesome...very comfy and cozy...with all the necessities provided. This is by far the nicest hotel that we have ever stayed in during all of our travels. Couldn't have been any better.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Thank you for your glowing review! We're so glad you chose to stay at the Sonnenalp Resort of Vail and that we exceeded your expectations. On behalf of everyone at the Sonnenalp, you have made our day. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
With warmest regards,
Johannes Faessler,
Owner / General Manager,
Sonnenalp Resort of Vail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We were so happy with our weekend spend at the Sonnenalp. It was my husband's birthday and he is already saying it was the best one he's had. First, our room exceeded our expectations with a fireplace, enormous bathroom with huge soaking tub, and double doors that opened into a view of the mountains. Second, the hotel was nice enough to leave a bottle of wine for my husband's birthday. A very nice touch.
Everything you need is in this hotel, so if you don't feel like venturing out and just want a relaxing time, you don't have to. During our stay we watched a baseball game and had some drinks at the Billy Ranch Pub, had a night cap at the King's Club, ate breakfast one morning at Ludwig's (their buffet is worth every penny), and there are some other restaurants there that we will be trying out when we return next year
The pool is fully heated and runs indoor to outdoor with hot tubs for any weather. We both made use of the spa for massages and I got a pedicure. Everyone is very professional and there is an area in the middle of the spa with a huge fire and big cushy couches on it. It's where you should go to just relax.
As you can tell, we were more than satisfied with our stay at the Sonnenalp and can't wait to go back next year. They are located practically on Vail village so you can walk anywhere. The staff go out of their way to be helpful, and it really is an overall class act.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
Thank you for spending your birthday weekend at the Sonnenalp Resort and for taking time to post your review. We firmly believe that nothing counteracts the aging process quite like a day in the Sonnenalp Spa! Please consider a ski season visit and let us know what you think about our newest amenity, the Sonnenalp SkiHaus on Bridge Street, for at-the-lift ski and boot storage and valet service. Again, all of us at the Sonnenalp appreciate your visit and your comments, and we wish your husband a very happy birthday and a wonderful year to come. We hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Johannes Faessler,
Owner / General Manager,
Sonnenalp Resort of Vail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

in a return visit after 2 years, my wife and i had a wonderful 3 days at this top class resort hotel. Vail has undergone a gorgeous renovation of the Village, and Sonnenalp has upgraded itself as well. my review of a year ago was glowing, and i can only repeat that we love this place. we had 2 room suite, with marble bath, balconey, and every comfort we could ask. the whole hotel is spotlessly clean, fresh, with top quality linens and amenities. the breakfast included in our package was fabulous as only a top european resort can do. the staff simply could not do enough to make our visit a joy. the spa services were very professional and luxurious, and since off season rates allowed we indulged in massages, facials, body scrubs, and soaks. all in all it was one of the best quick 3 day get aways i can imagine. we may well be back again before the ski season kicks in.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Thank you for your review! We're so pleased that you chose to return to the Sonnenalp Resort after a 2 year hiatus! Next time, please don't wait so long between visits. We're happy you were able to take full advantage of the value season rates at the hotel and in our spa. We think fall is a wonderful time to visit, for so many reasons. Please do join us again before ski season kicks in. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
Johannes Faessler,
Owner / General Manager,
Sonnenalp Resort of Vail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

The service at the Sonnenalp was as good as I have ever experienced anywhere. The room was cozy--almost cramped. The bed was very comfortable; and everything was as clean as could be. The hotel facility was very welcoming with a feeling of the Old World. The heated pool and hot tubs were a real hit with us and quite a few others as well. On Saturday evening there was an entertainer in the lounge area that was wrapped around a large fireplace. The hotel is on the end of the Vail Village and all the shops and restaurants were within easy walking distance. For us October was a perfect time to go to Vail: we are not skiers so the less crowded time and the gorgeous autumn colors were just right.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Thank you for your kind words! We take great pride in our personal service and I know our housekeeping staff will be pleased that you noticed their hard work. We have had a beautiful fall, as you can attest, which is one of the best times of the year to visit. Perhaps on your next stay you can try one of our larger suites for a more spacious living area with fireplace. Thank you again for taking the time to post your review. We hope to welcome you back to the Sonnenalp again very soon.
Best regards,
Johannes Faessler,
Owner / General Manager,
Sonnenalp Resort of Vail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#2 Spa Hotel in Vail
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#3 Business Hotel in Vail
#5 Family Hotel in Vail
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sonnenalp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LHW, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonnenalp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.