We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the world's best hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonnenalp

Save Saved
You added Sonnenalp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonnenalp
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Discounted Valet Parking
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Vail
michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“One of the world's best hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

I've stayed in hundreds of hotels all over the world. At many in ski resorts in Europe. If given a free vacation anywhere, the Sonnenalp would be my choice. Not for the town of Vail, but because the hotel is perfect in every way. If it fits your budget, go for it. You will not be disappointed. I've stayed there on several ocassions and I can't wait to return. There's something about the place that it feels like returning home. The breakfast is the best you'll ever eat.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    48
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
86
205
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

Never in my life have I been to a better hotel in terms of service, quality, food, location and comfort. This is really an experience to be lived. I loved each minute.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

As a first time visitor to the Sonnenalp we were very impressed.It was very quiet and that is exactly what we are looking for while on vacation.  The breakfast was great, especially the waffles!The only negative was the wireless internet connection.  The Sonnenalp website continually popped up while online.  This was quite annoying.

  • Liked — peace and quiet
  • Disliked — internet connection
  • Stayed February 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

We stayed 4 nights at the Sonnenalp and had a wonderful time. You can really tell the difference in the amount of service in a family owned property. We were greeted so kindly when we arrived and were immediately upgraded to a better room. The entire staff was helpful and friendly. We were there on a ski vacation and the Sonnenalp has a place at the base of the slopes to keep all of your ski equipment. It could not be easier to just ski down, drop off the equipment and take a leisurely stroll back to the hotel. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic, although the staff seemed a bit thin at times. Overall, I would rate our experience as excellent and we will be returning.

  • Liked — Room and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

We stayed Jan 17th-19th in room 446, one of the smaller two level Mill creek suites with a view of the chapel and the creek. Note: The chapel chimes only until 8 o'clock. This is a very quiet section of the hotel and we never heard another soul during our stay. We paid 940$/night and booked it last minute so we did not get a deal. Alpine package includes breakfast and two lift tickets. The spa is fantastic, the pool and hot tubs very nice. Service overall and on check out/in gets an A. There were some items on our bill that were erroneous and removed instantly.

Service at the King's Club was immediate. We were skiing both days and the concierge will take your skis/boots and put them in your own private locker next to the vista bahn lift. It's a nice walk through the village to the lift. We were concerned at first, but it is a perfect location. We rented a car from the eagle airport and they did not charge us for parking but that may have been an oversight--or it may have been part of our alpine package.

This is a great year to go skiing at Vail as the economy has kept many away. We spoke to one guest at the hotel who had booked an el cheapo Juniper room and had been upgraded to a large junior suite. My sense is they will upgrade you if its available. Even during the peak ski season.

  • Liked — the spa
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

This hotel is literally home away from home and a gem in Vail Village. It is possibly the most accomodating hotel in which I have ever had the priviledge to stay and certainly the best experience in the Colorado mountains. The hotel offers many convienences for travelers and the staff is more than willing to go above and beyond to make your stay special and memorable.

Checking in was easy and our room was very spacious with a small siting area and a very cozy bed. The bathrooms are large and up to date with a walk-in shower and whirlpool tub. The property has two restaurants (a little pricey for breakfast) and a pub-style bar in the lobby area. Music was available each night in the lounge which is equiped with many comfortable chairs and sofas. Should you feel like venturing off the property in the evening, there are many restaurants and bars within walking distance from the hotel.

The library offers a place to play a game of checkers or sit and enjoy a hot tea and book. The workout facilities are very nice with multiple cardio machines and a small weight section. The spa is WONDERFUL and has an indoor/outdoor heated pool. Spa staff are very professional and offer a number of servies. Very refreshing after a day on the slopes. The slopes are extremely close via a short walk or ride on the Vail bus system if you are in ski gear. The hotel offers ski/boot storage on site.

Another plus, the hotel is pet friendly and offered our two labradors five star treatment as well. Staff were willing to pet sit and provide walks during the day upon request. We always made it back, but it was nice to know that was an option should we like to have them take care of them. I know hearing "pet friendly" may offer a different image of this beautiful hotel, but it is truly nice/clean and you would never know that other pets are even on the premises.

The location is situated right off the highway in Vail Village. If you fly into Denver International, the hotel is an easy drive up the mountain or use a driving service if you are not accustomed to mountian driving, like me. I used a company called Hommes James which was a great service! Very easy to use. Otherwise, there is also a smaller airport in Vail but prices are usually a little higher to fly into that airport.

We love the Sonnenalp and hope to return again for our third year in a row.

  • Liked — Service and location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

We spent our honeymoon at the greatest hotel ever. I picked this place from Leading Hotels of the World book. The service is second to none- they truly care about details and making your stay great. We got a room upgrade due to some painting on another floor- the bathrooms are incredible. I cannot think of one thing I would want different for our stay. Highly recommend the Bully Ranch for Lunch- great food!!. Make sure to book things with Victor- he knew everything and would never hesitate to help plan an adventure. We went in off season and got to enjoy the wonderful dining of Vail at local deals. OVerall- great stay and a great honeymoon- now we have to try Sonnenalp of Austria!

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#2 Business Hotel in Vail
#6 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sonnenalp 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LHW, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonnenalp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.