We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING IN EVERY WAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonnenalp

Save Saved
You added Sonnenalp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonnenalp
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discounted Valet Parking
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Vail
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING IN EVERY WAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were sent an e mail 2 days before our arrival asking what time we expected to arrive and if we had any requests. Our suite was perfect with robes and slippers and a gas log fire, chocolates and cake were delivered during the afternoon, cookies early evening. The Spa facilities and staff were first class. John who took us and our luggage to our suite and parked our car was very helpful and set up the humidifier for us. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment though am sure it would have been outstanding. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review of the Sonnenalp! I was so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to welcome you back to Vail in the near future.

-Johannes Faessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    368
    51
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
91
213
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Five circles are inadequate to properly rate Sonnenalp. We stopped in Vail on our way home from Boise, and what a perfect choice this was. From the time we checked in, we were made to feel special. Shortly after arriving in our suite and discovering all the comfortable features (heated bathroom floor, robes and slippers, fire place, etc.), a bottle of complimentary champagne was delivered to celebrate my wife's birthday. Later in the evening after enjoying the food and beverages in the Bully Ranch Restaurant, we returned to our room to find that the staff had provided turndown service with water, cookies, etc. It made us feel like we were on a cruise ship. The next morning, we enjoyed breakfast in Ludwig's. We ordered from the menu as we do not eat a lot of food, but the buffet was as good as any we have seen anywhere. It seems like one can save a few dollars by ordering the breakfast as part of the room package. For the rest of our stay, our experience was just great. The staff just can't seem to do enough to please the guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, General Manager at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to spend your wife's birthday at the Sonnenalp! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to personally welcoming you back to the Sonnenalp in the near future!

-Johannes Faessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Amazing service starts before you arrive. They will send you a pre-arrival email asking about your special requests. Room was beautiful and upgraded. Spa was a delight. Walking distance to everything we needed. A++++++

Room Tip: Our room was not mountainside but we could still see the ski area and mountains to the north. I cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, General Manager at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Sonnenalp! I was so happy to hear we meet and exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

-Johannes Faessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I had never been to Vail. Traveled here with a friend who was a frequent visitor, but had never stayed at the Sonnenalp. We were floored. It is lovely. The suite we had was amazing in every way. The staff did everything they could to make us feel welcome. The spa was as good as any I've ever visited. The restaurants are also great. I would recommend this for anyone who likes great hotels with great service. The off season pricing was also terrific.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, General Manager at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We pride ourselves on providing the highest levels of customer service here at the Sonnenalp. Please come back and see us in the near future!

-Johannes Faessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the sonnenalp and the location cannot be beat. The rooms are quite rustic - like a fancy log cabin - although the bathroom was redone and very beautiful. The service was good and attentive - nice linens. Restaurant food was fine but nothing to remember. The spa is beautiful and like an indoor sanctuary. Overall, it's a very nice option in the village for convenience and enjoyment.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, General Manager at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We hope to welcome you back to the Sonnenalp in the near future.

-Johannes Faessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I've not written many reviews the last couple years, as most trips have been purely predictable and not worth the time confirming what others have said. But this one warrants a shout-out.

Highlights:
- At the Sonnenalp you get warm, friendly service. I'd call out individuals, but everyone provided exceptional, personal service.
- We ventured out for most meals, walking distance to everything. On property we found The Bully Ranch was tasty, the King's Bar for evening (live) music and drinks was warm and inviting. They were busy with weddings, but nothing one couldn't navigate around... or enjoy the people watching.
- Kids enjoyed the indoor/outdoor pool. Day and night under the stars.
- The Sonnenalp excels at the little things... like a personal welcome note, or the snail-mail letter thanking you for the visit and helping with the online review of your stay.
- Nice touch having fruit and water freely available on property.
- Nice room character, given layout I suspect each room is a little different. The entire property has European character, no room for doubt you're in Vail.
- Liked the turndown service, with slippers, fresh water and cookies.
- Sonnenalp allows dogs, never have I seen such polite, responsible dog owners.
- My wife bruised her knee on a hike... we asked the housekeepers where to find ice... Over the next 30 minutes, 3 different people came with bags of ice! Funny, but also proof of staff's attention to the guest.

Final words - Vail has so many options, and new builds... Do you want a view of the highway, and a concrete slab with a pool and hot-tub - which could be in any city, in any country. Or an intimate mountain experience? The Sonnenalp is on the creek, at the edge of what is the heart of Vail Village. It is not a chain, but definitely a brand with high marks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, General Manager at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your AMAZING review! We are so glad we met or exceeded your expectations. I hope to personally welcome you back to the Sonnenalp in the near future.

-Johannes Faessler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have stayed here many times and have never been disappointed. They have incredible service, great restaurants, and great rooms, regardless of what type of the room type you choose for your stay. You cannot go wrong with this choice, should you be willing to pay for the luxury...it is not cheap.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#2 Business Hotel in Vail
#5 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sonnenalp 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonnenalp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.