We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Summer Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonnenalp

Save Saved
You added Sonnenalp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonnenalp
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Discounted Valet Parking
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Vail
Portland, Or
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Summer Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I made a solo trip to Sonnenalp in June. It is a beautiful and impreccably managed hotel. The staff attends to the details with care, humor and good taste. The service level is ambitious and the location could not be better. The pool adjacent to the creek is also lovely and relaxing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    356
    49
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
87
205
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was our third stay at the Sonnenalp in Vail. Out of curiosity, we've looked into other hotels in Vail Village, and honestly, we can't find one that matches the service and ammenities we receive at Sonnenalp.

Sonnenalp is right in the heart of Vail Village which means you can walk practically everywhere east or west in the village. On Tuesdays during the summer months, we like to stroll down to the ampitheater for free concerts; we also walk to the various restaurants and shops and just leave the car parked.

One of the things that sets Sonnenalp apart from a lot of hotels is that the service is wonderful. You literally will get a "good morning" or "hello" each time you step into the hotel or off the elevator. The staff knows what they are doing, and takes time to know who you are. Additionally, if you are feeling adventurous, you can arrange a number of activities through the concierge, or arrange to play a round of golf at the Sonnenalp course.

The atmosphere is comfortable and there are plenty of places to just relax on the property--whether in their library, the lounge or in a chaise by the pool. Although this was our third visit, we were surprised to see that the room appeared to have a few upgrades from the last "Lodge Pole" room we stayed in. We aren't sure if it was remodeled or if the rooms just vary a bit, but it had a rather modern bathroom and a nice little terrace to walk out on to.

Room Tip: Visit the resort's website. Our Lodge Pole room faced the pedestrian mall which meant we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting us at the Sonnenalp Hotel.

It sure sounds like you were plenty busy on your most recent trip! Summertime in the Vail Valley is full of wonderful activities.

We strongly believe that great service is our best asset and strive to achieve the highest possible standards for our guests.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Sonnenalp in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our second time at the Sonnenalp. The service, cleanliness, friendliness, attention to detail and great bed will bring us back. This is truly one of the most awesome places that we have ever stayed. Our congrats to them for never failing to meet expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Sonnenalp is number one for a reason. We'd been traveling around Colorado on a 10 day trip when we checked out TripAdvisor recommendations for Vail. Sonnenalp is a beautiful, perfectly located property in the heart of Vail village with a great staff that made the trip memorable. Kelly at the front desk made sure we found a suite to fit our budget (Millcreek) and John took care of our luggage, our car and made recommendations about things to see. Even though we arrived late, the staff had the room turned down immediately and brought us cookies and spring water. There were robes and slippers for the whole family and very comfortable beds. The next morning they called to tell us we could check out at 4:00 pm. Take a look at the professional pictures of this property and be sure it really is a stunning swiss alps looking property.
For the budget conscious traveler, Sonnenalp costs only a little more than all the other places we stayed in Colorado but was by far the best...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

And book the best hotel anywhere....yes, very seriously, the Sonnenalp is perfect......ok, in season the hotel can be expensive but don't let that stop you...try june or their other off season's specials....I could go on and on about how wonderful the Sonnenalp is but you can read that with any of the many reviews listed.....so treat yourself,your significant other, your family or as my son did, gifted us with a 48th wedding anniversary surprise.. We have been fortunate enough to have stayed at the this hotel many times and been able to travel to other vacation spots BUT we always come back to the Sonnenalp ....DON'T be put off by the 48th anniversary......the hotel caters to all ages and is was filled so many activities everyone can find their happy place!!!!! Brian, you are the best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank so you much for your great review of the Sonnenalp!

I was delighted to read that you decided to spend your 48th wedding anniversary at our hotel. What a great occasion!

We hope to welcome you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you have the opportunity, do yourself a favor and stay at the Sonnenalp. It is a bit pricey, but it is well worth it. You get good value for your dollar. Everything about the stay was perfect from the service, the parking attendant, the bellmen, and front desk. We were warmly greeted and treated. The room is really nice and roomy; everything seems new and in excellent condition. The bathroom has marble floors and marble countertops. I couldn't even count the number of towels in there, all white and fluffy. The room has complimentary robes, slippers, and water. The bed was perfect for me not too hard, not too soft, and covered with a white douvet. We couldn't have been happier with the stay. The valet parking is a bit extreme I think at $24 per day, but the car is looked after and not to worry. And the hotel is just a few minutes walking to the center of Vail Village. This is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I love traveling and have stayed at my share of Hotels all over the world but the Sonnenalp in Vail never fails to amaze me. The staff, the service, the condition of the rooms, its like a little city where nothing is missed. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#2 Business Hotel in Vail
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#6 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sonnenalp 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LHW, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonnenalp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.