We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonnenalp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sonnenalp to your Saves list
Sonnenalp
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Stay from $170/Night
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Vail
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would definitely recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just spent four nights with my teenage son during a short ski trip. The hotel made everything easy and perfect. The staff was always pleasant, courteous and efficient, the breakfast was great, and the ski valet was exceptional. The hot tub and spa was relaxing. We suprisingly enjoyed the several block walk to the slopes, and the valet staff went out of their way to make our ski rental, storage, etc effortless. I usually prefer less traditional hotels, but would have a hard time not staying there. Seasonal hotels, even luxury ones, often require guest patience. Not the Sonnenalp- what a well run hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and stay.
I am delighted that you had a great time with you son in Vail and the Sonnenalp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    53
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
94
225
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Sonnenalp is best in class. I've stayed in many resorts and hotels and I've never seen one run like this one. Every aspect of our stay was exceptional: the room, service, staff, food and spa. They made us feel at home and were attentive to every need from check-in to check-out. What a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The lower & middle-tier suite rooms seem to be the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

What a well run hotel. Beautifully maintained, wonderful breakfast and a feeling you are in an Austrian ski resort.
Owner managed, he is there every day, and it runs flawlessly. We would look no further in Vail.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

this was my first stay in vail , we went there for skiing. from the very first moment we felt comfortable and the whole stuff is very friendly and helpful. On arrival we got our room. As I could hear the music from the bar i aksed for a more quiet room which i was given the next day in the morning. For someone who likes to go out in the evening its not a problem as music stops at 11 pm. Coming from Europe and skiing the whole day i like to go to bed early so a quiet room for me is extremly important. The Breakfast, included in my room rate was awesome. I love american breakfast and found everything from eggs benedictine to french toast, fresh fruits, croissant and may many more. The Ski Concierge near the Gondola is a wonderful service too. I sure will come back one day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I am delighted to read that you had a nice experience. We work hard on focusing on services that are distinct and delivered very well and are encouraged when we succeed and our guest appreciates our effort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I spent a lot of time choosing a hotel for a weekend getaway. I wanted to be in the lap of luxury but didn't want to spend over $850-$900/night. I settled on the Sonnenalp because of the reviews of the service.

The good: Indeed the service was stellar. From the moment I made the reservation, the concierge was in contact with me to ensure all of our needs were taken care of (bed choice, dinner reservations, ski rental, spa appointments, directions, etc). Every employee wanted to help you. Every question was answered politely. Every need was catered to. The maid service actually cleaned the room. Bathrooms are beautiful with GREAT towels. The breakfast buffet was delicious and the dining room was beautiful (especially with snow). Water, ice and cookies delivered everyday. I've heard wonderful things about the spa but we didn't have time to try it out.

So, why not 5 stars? Well... The rooms aren't glamourous. Honestly, it might be time for a remodeling. Or maybe it's just a matter of taste. The Sonnenalp is more of a European feel than an American Four Seasons. So think stark white, plastered walls and basic pine furniture with solid fabrics. While the rooms were large and it was awesome to have a fireplace, the decor is basic and sparse. I got really, really tired of the print carpeting all over the entire hotel. Also, they upgraded our suite which was nice, but the suite they gave us was on 2 floors. Again, a plus and a minus. Nice to have extra space but climbing downstairs in the middle of the nights after a few drinks was rough. Plus, the upstairs was so tiny, I felt like I was sleeping in my grandma's attic.

On a very personal note, I really didn't like the help's uniforms. I found the peasant style dresses embarrassing.

Last, this property is not ski-in, ski-out. You have to walk about 3 blocks to their "club" which is in the basement of a ski shop. There you store your shoes and things while you ski and at night you store your skies. The hotel is central to the restaurants and shopping, just not to skiing. Not many hotels in Vail are slopeside.

In conclusion, I probably wouldn't stay there again because I personally enjoy a more modern hotel but I would suggest it to others based on the incredible service and nice bathrooms.

Room Tip: They appear to have lots of room styles. I would call to make the reservation if you have special n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfaessler, Owner at Sonnenalp, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your stay and comments.
We strive for an authentic european look and feel at the Sonnenalp. Purposefully distinct from many modern and trendy hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed at the Sonnenalp for 10 days in February 2013 (ski-ing trip with my wife). Very hard to find fault with the place - check in was swift and friendly (thanks for the room upgrade), then escorted to our room and the heating / appliances etc were explained. A nice touch was the humidifier which isn't always supplied in hotel rooms in Vail but is desperately needed. We had booked a basic room but were upgraded to a mini suite which was really lovely - comfy chairs and a fireplace. We also had a small balcony which was useful for chilling wine. There is a walk-in wardrobe; the special feature of the rooms is the bathroom - huge, underfloor heating, double vanities, separate shower and large tub.
Breakfast is taken in Ludwig's, the a la carte restaurant. There is a wide selection of hot & cold dishes with a particularly good fruit selection. But the best feature of breakfast is the service - OK it's a buffet, but the servers are all very attentive and will bring you coffee, juice etc. We never had to search for a server to bring a coffee refill - it was always done before you even thought of it.
There are 2 on site evening restaurants - Ludwigs which is a fine dining fish speciality: unfortunately we didn't eat there this time. The alternative is the Bully Ranch - pub style, very american, good solid food but beware of portion size: it would be wise to order appetisers first and then see if you have the stomach for a main course. If you want apres ski, there is a pianist in the bar in the afternoon and usually a singing act in the evening.
The Sonnenalp is a 5-10minute walk to the ski slopes. You could take the in town (free) bus to the Vail Village stop although you would still need to walk a little to the slopes from here. Most guests are happy to walk from the hotel as skis and boots are stored at the Bridge Haus just 50 metres from the snow front. The Bridge Haus is a full service ski concierge which really makes the holiday - the guys there are just fantastic. Your skis and boots appear by magic in the morning (boots are stored on driers) and they always have a friendly word. The best ski concierge we have had in 30 years of skiing.
There is a spa complex with indoor/outdoor pool, hot tubs, steam room, sauna and gym. My wife and I both had a massage - very professional, effective, relaxing; unfortunately, the price reflects that you're in a five star hotel.
Vail has many new swish five star hotels but I don't think that many could match the Sonnenalp for service, facilities and old world charm (and price). Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Go for a mini suite, especially if staying more than a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Sonnenalp and it continues to be the real gem of Colorado ski areas. This is boutique luxury, not to be confused with the huge, overly expensive assembly line hotels, Four Seasons, Ritz! A very comfortable physical plant is complimented by a beautifully trained staff that is always helpful, friendly and just plain pleasant! The Sonnenalp has a ski valet service wherein their elves take all of your ski equipment to an affiliate at the base of the ski lift where they will be waiting for you the next morning. After one of Sonnenalp’s beautiful buffet breakfasts you can take a walk of about three blocks to the life where you will find your ski equipment in a nice, warm ski shop with the coffee ready for you to enjoy while you put on your boots. Now, you can walk the fifty feet to the ski lift and you are off for the day. When you are done skiing, you leave all of your equipment at the same place and it will be there the next day if you ski, if not, the elves will return you stuff to Sonnenalp where it will be ready for check-out. If skiing got any easier than this, you would have to do it without getting out of bed! Did I mention the bathroom floors are heated, or the wonderful outdoor hot tub and indoor and outdoor combo swimming pool? Sonnenalp continues to be a real Colorado gem. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonnenalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenalp

Address: 20 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#3 Business Hotel in Vail
#3 Spa Hotel in Vail
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#5 Family Hotel in Vail
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sonnenalp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonnenalp is a unique hotel in Vail, Colorado renowned for personal service and genuine, family-run hospitality. Enjoy world-class amenities and conveniences in the heart of Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sonnenalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenalp Resort Of Vail Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Hotel Vail
Sonnenalp Resort Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonnenalp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.