We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel right on the slopes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lion Square Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lion Square Lodge to your Saves list
Lion Square Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   660 W Lionshead Place, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% in Vail
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Vail
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel right on the slopes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

For location you can't get any closer to the lift!

We stayed in January this year for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms in the main lodge are a little outdated decor wise, but they are clean, with two queen size beds, so you can pick which one you wish to sleep in. Only complaint we would have is that the walls are paper thin and you are easily disturbed.

We had 3 days of a really rude family that had the room next door and one opposite us and they would slam the doors or yell across the hall at all hours which was a little maddening. We debated on complaining, but after a bad third night we went to reception to ask when they were checking out, to see what could be done. To their credit, they were mortified that we didn't complain earlier, and they informed us they were leaving that day (much to our relief) and then not even 30 mins later the Hotel Manager rang us to tell us they were paying for our dinner that night in the restaurant as an apology. Great service and we were a little sad we put up with the noise for longer than we should have!

The ski lift is only about 20 metres walk from the hotel door which is perfect, and the view of the mountain is breathtaking. It is ideally located in the centre of Lion Square, so you are close to all the shops and restaurants. The bus stop to Vail Village is less than 5 mins to walk to and runs every 5 minutes or so, so you can have more choice of bars, shops and places to eat.

Will definitely be back as the skiing was amazing and service and facilities were great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    47
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
76
33
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Ga. USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I really enjoyed this place. We stayed there in January of this year. Great service. The ski valet was very convenient. Loved the warm cookies in the lobby in the afternoon after a long day of skiing. The onsite breakfast restaurant was excellent and well priced. The view of Vail Mtn was breathtaking. The jacuzzi's were clean, large and inviting. Onsight bar was happening every afternoon. But the best thing is the location. It's a 20 second walk from the ski valet out front to the Eagle Bahn Gondola. 30 second walk to all the bars and restaurants in Lionshead. You really can't beat its convenience. My only complaint is that the regular hotel rooms were a bit small. Def will spurge for a condo next time. Other than that, this place is excellent. Bring your wallet but then again, everything is expensive in Vail and worth every penny :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I were participating in an international fly fishing competition where the Lodge was the host hotel. When we arrived, the front desk was friendly and very accommodating. We did not want a condo by the pool, so they walked us to several condos and allowed us to pick the one we liked.

Speaking of the pool, at 9:50 every night they had someone cover the pool and hot tub. This reduced any noise after 10:00 p.m. I'm a light sleeper and I appreciated it.

These are older, but well maintained condos with full kitchen utensils. The maid service was a plus for us with daily fresh towels and kitchen cleaning. We were outside everyday (raining) and pressed for time; it was a pleasure staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just my husband and I traveled to Vail this past weekend for a wedding, although we usually go during ski season it was a great change of pace to go during the fall. Located close to everything, shops, activities, restaurants and bars. Our room was clean, and spacious. I would recommend not having a room facing the parking lot on the first floor, it was loud in the morning, you heard car doors/horns constantly. Besides that everything was great. The hotel staff was friendly and always willing to help. Will be back again in the winter!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here in March for four nights. I cannot tell you how disappointed I was when we got into our room and saw the fabulous valley view which was a parking lot and a building under construction. The price was very expensive too! The front desk could not help me so I made several calls with the corporate reservation desk which was no small feat and was then given a mountain view room for the last few nights which was very nice. So my advice is to pay the extra money and get a mountain view room unless you don't care about your view. Besides all that the hotel is very clean and in a fabulous location during ski season.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were fortunate to stay here for a conference that was being held at the Marriott, which is next door. We have stayed at the Marriott many times and its just fine. But our "room" at Lion Square Lodge was exquisite. We were upgraded to Room 296, a two bedroom corner suite/condo with a rap around balcony. The living room was beautifully furnished. The cabinetry in the full kitchen and two bathrooms was of the highest quality. (Bet nobody on TripAdvisor has gotten excited before about cabinetry!).
The property is surrounded by the Marriott, The Antlers, and The Arrabelle. Plenty of restaurants, ski shops, etc. in the immediate area.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Fantastic hospitality! When we arrived, the front desk person (I wish I could remember her name!) let us check in early, and gave us an upgrade to a room with a mountain view! I think it helped that we were there on a Sunday night and that the hotel was not busy, but the service was still excellent.
The room was clean, and nice, but the location was perfect! A short walk to anywhere in Lionshead and able to take the shuttle over to Vail Village.
Overall it was a wonderful getaway and the staff made it better!

Room Tip: Request a mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lion Square Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Square Lodge

Address: 660 W Lionshead Place, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vail
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lion Square Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Lion Square Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Square Hotel Vail
Lion Square Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lion Square Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.