We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skiing Vail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthof Gramshammer

Save Saved
You added Gasthof Gramshammer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gasthof Gramshammer
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 hotels in Vail
Sonoma, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Skiing Vail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Located in the heart of Vail village this Gasthof has real European charm.. Apres ski is about as good as it gets with guitar music in the bar. Restaurants busy and cuisine very good.Spa in house .A Stone throw from the lifts.Some rooms are a bit noisy so if you like quiet ask for river suite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    4
    7
    2
See reviews for
9
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

When our condo can't accomodate everybody who wants to visit, we know this is the next best thing. The cozy rooms and location (close to our home), plus the efficient staff are fabulous. We liked their bedding so much, we ordered the same sets for ourselves. And only a fool would miss drinks/music during Happy-Hour at the bar!
S. Churchman

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Don't let the dive bar fool you! When u first walk in you're in the midst of an old school dive bar, which is perfect for vail. When you veer to the left you'll find yourself in old school Germany! The three of us dined on escargot - delish - a sashimi dish (who'd have guessed) and some cakebread Sauvignon Blanc. For dinner I had the trout - superb - my friend had ribeye (very happy) and my husband had the elk, which they literally cook on a makeshift stovetop on a cart at your table! If you like not being rushed, are tired of the over-modernized and overpriced restaurants found in a town like vail, you will really enjoy this place!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is my home away from home in Vail. I love the little hotel in the middle of Vail. The rooms are simple,unpretentious yet elegant just like the owners Pepi and Sheika Gramshammer. The restaurant serves great Austrian food. The bar is hopping at night. Pepi's retail store has a great selection of both ski and fashion items and the location is the best in Vail.

Unless you are a big hotel chain groupie, you will love this place. Probably not a great spot for little kids however.

Room Tip: 4th floor facing west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel at least 4 times. It is always a great place to anchor when you are in Vail, CO. It is located right in the middle of Vail Village, close to everything.

We arrived on a Friday evening on our last trip to celebrate Oktoberfest weekend. The festival is literally right outside the doors of the hotel. Our check-in was smooth as always. We generally stay in Room #216. It has a wrap around balcony and it looks right out on Vail Village. Might be a bit noisy for some people, but if you are staying in Vail Village you can expect some noise from all the people meandering about the town.

Our room had 2 double beds, nicely stocked restroom with soaps, shampoo, conditioner, hand lotion and plenty of towels, The room comes with a safe (touch pad friendly) and a humidifier (mountain air is very dry). No A/C in any of the rooms, but with the windows open at night, it can get down right cold. There was a nice TV and desk in the room, as well. No refrigerator, but I understand that you can request one from the front desk and they will actually deliver it.

Every morning between 7am and 9:30am, the hotel serves a nice complimentary breakfast in their restaurant. Meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, juices and coffee.

The hotel has a nice bar for a tasty cocktail, a fine dining restaurant and an excellent patio restaurant - good for people watching.

The room rates at the Gramshammer are very competitive. For the money, it is much more than you would expect. I certainly give this place 5 stars and I cannot wait to return to Vail and visit the Gramshammer again.

Room Tip: During the Summer months, there is free parking in the Vail Parking structure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We love this hotel and its restaurant. Coffee on the balcony in the morning, watching the town get ready for all its visitors is our favorite. Our first stay there was in the fall, 1973, and we love going back. Vail is #1 for scenery, shopping, dining, and people-watching any time of the year. There is no place better to stay than Gramshammer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRASER
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Hotel Gasthof Gramshammer was a wonderful experience that started at the reception desk and continued with the room and included breakfast. The room was a taste of Germany or Austria with nice linens and wonderful view of the village. It was quiet and clean. We enjoyed the restaurant for dinner and the breakfast which was included was absolutely over the top with cold meats, cheeses, wonderful fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, all kinds of breads and pastries.- everything you can imagine. We found the staff helpful and pleasant. The parking was tight but in Vail - there is no parking, so we were happy to have it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view as Vail is a village and you want to be part of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gasthof Gramshammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Gramshammer

Address: 231 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 hotels in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Gramshammer 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Gasthof Gramshammer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Gramshammer Vail
Gasthof Gramshammer Hotel Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthof Gramshammer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.