We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location near Vail Village and Gore Creek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bookmark
You added The Wren to your Saves list
The Wren
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 S Frontage Rd, Vail, CO 81657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Vail
GreenLeadersGold level
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
376 reviews 376 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Nice location near Vail Village and Gore Creek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Right off 70,nice quiet location can't hear the hwy. A short walk minutes away on the pretty trail right in back to Vail Village. Can even walk to the pretty Betty Ford Gardens. Also a quick walk to the transportation center to catch busses. The units look out Vail Mountain from the back. Most of the bedrooms face the pool in front but all the balconies and patios are in back along the pretty scenic mountain. We had for 1 week a 1 bed 2 full bath, 2 TV's,full kitchen unit that was on the first floor. The front actually faced the office but that was just the bedroom window, the back was such a pretty view of the pines and Vail Mountain and the sound of the Gore Creek running was very nice to sit out and enjoy. Every unit has 1 assigned parking space, most are underground, some are outside. Nice pool, 2 spas, badminton court,3 BBQ's, nice landscaping and flowers, very clean. Some reviews mentioned that it is an old building , it is very well maintained by an excellent maintenance staff and kept up to date looking. They have upgraded the units and ours was accommodating and comfortable.
The full kitchen has everything you need. There is an electric stove which I am not used to so it took some time to finally get the cooking right, but all ok. There was not a table in ours to eat at, but there was a breakfast bar . No A/C, but you are up in elevation in Colorado, open the sliding door and you will get plenty of comfort. They do provide a floor fan if you need it. Thought maybe if they could put a small ceiling fan in the bedroom that would be a nice touch.All have fireplaces. No fitness center, but go out and take a walk ,get a bike, swim in the pool. Being summer all the greenery and flowers were super, trying to picture it in the winter, must really be pretty here in the winter time.
We needed a couple items taken care of in the unit and no sooner did I call the desk and the staff was right at the door.Took care of everything. The front desk staff is very welcoming and friendly. Very efficient telling you everything you need to know about the property. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level unit for more spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    15
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This Resort was probably the best location of any places that we have stayed in Vail. Short walk to the Village, shops and restaurants. Right on Gore Creek, so the trails and walks to shopping couldn't have been prettier. Right next to the Betty Ford Gardens. Wildflowers galore!

The Villa was beautiful, comfortable, and impeccable. The Tuesday Welcome Barbeque was fun with guests, exchangers, and owners.

Will definitely choose the Wren again!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th. floor (top floor) so we had vaulted ceilings, and a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We like to ski in our retirement, but we do it on a budget. We have been to the Wren a few times on a timeshare exchange. The building is old but rooms are modern and clean with great views facing Vail Mountain. Service is excellent; outdoor hot tubs and pool are close at hand, and the shuttle for skiers and visitors to Vail Village and surroundings makes getting there easy. There is also a path along the river for a modest walk to Vail Village. Maybe best of all for winter weather, they have underground parking with a space for each room number. The value for our exchange was excellent.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a nice view of the Eastern end of Vail Resort and worth obtaining if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We are staying for a week and thoroughly enjoying our stay. The rooms are up to date with flat screen TYs, fireplace, full kitchen and two full bathrooms. It is well stocked for the stay. The front desk if friendly and helpful in everything we need. Underground parking is also nice, so you don't have to worry about digging your car out from under the snow. But especially being so close the the village, right on top of Gore creek and with views of Vail Mountain and Golden Peak was especially nice.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms face Gore Creek and the slopes, others face Betty Ford Park. We really really lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We rented this location the week of Thanksgiving for a family getaway. We got a one bed two bath with full kitchen. There was plenty of room for our family of 4. The kitchen was great to have especially during Thanksgiving. It's a short walk to Vail Village which has tons of shopping and restaurants. This location has a shuttle that runs daily to the lifts. There are grocery stores about a 5 min drive away. I would definitely recommend this location.

Room Tip: Nice room but a little far from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights in August and totally loved it. We found it by looking at VRBO and inquired by phone. The unit shown on VRBO looked so rustic and "Colorado". They said that unit was being remodeled and booked us in another mountain facing unit. They immediately emailed us a contract and pictures of the unit. We were not happy with "the look" of the condo and called back...again they immediately emailed pictures of another unit. I was very impressed with the service and use of technology. Pictures can be deceiving, but it definitely helps.
We were very impressed with the condo and view. So nice to wake up to a view of the mountains, to have coffee on the deck and to have drinks in the evening on the deck...ski run above, creek below.
The only downside is the bedroom is on the front side of the unit and if you want an open window you will get the noise of I-70. You are also close to the events at Ford park and can hear the concerts some evenings.
We took our bikes, kept them in the bike rack by the pool and biked everywhere...Cascade, Vail Village, Lionshead...it was great to keep the car in the garage.
We totally loved it and will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in 405, this was a 1 beedroom king, 2 bath, full kitchen, loft w/2 twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville TN USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at The Wren for 2 weeks in 2 different units. That happens with RCI condo swaps; not The Wren's fault at all! But ... it showed us a diversity that reduced our overall opinion of this facility. First of all, the staff were friendly & meant well, but were not very well trained on their amenities. They were of no help with TV capabilities which were poor to say the least. They use Dish Network to bring in their signal, but then only give you about 50 of Dish's many hundreds of available channels. Two of my wife's favorites were not offered. The bedrooms had old pre-HD TVs which couldn't properly play a recent DVD. Their DVD rental list gave you no help selecting one nor did the staff. The location of the units is very key to their summertime enjoyment. One wing, units numbered x01-x10 (x being the floor, 1-4), you have the beautiful sounds of the babbling Gore Creek and grandiose views of the firs, aspens and the mountains beyond. The other wing, units x11 & higher, have views of Interstate 70 and horrendous highway noise non-stop 24 hours a day. The management does not provide anywhere near enough luggage trolleys; on Saturday (the primary change day) hours go by with no trolleys available at all. In order not to miss our return flight from Denver, we were forced to schlepp all our luggage to our rental car. Finally, all the paper supplies provided are the cheapest available. We even bought our own at Safeway. But I will say that the location is wonderful for accessing the Village of Vail and driving to other nearby sights. And in the summer, many of the guests enjoyed the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Insist on a unit numbered from x01 to x10 (where x is the floor 1-4) for the view and the outdoor so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wren

Address: 500 S Frontage Rd, Vail, CO 81657
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vail
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#16 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wren 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wren’s convenient, central location assures our Owners and Guests easy access to Vail’s wide variety of year-round outdoor sports and activities. In addition, cultural and entertainment events, specialty shops, galleries, and more than 100 restaurants and nightspots are located nearby.Stay in Vail for an affordable and reasonable nightly rate. Vail Village and Golden Peak are within walking distance. And utilize The Wren’s private skier shuttle during the Winter ski season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Wren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wren Hotel Vail
Wren Hotel Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.