We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebastian - Vail to your Saves list
The Sebastian - Vail
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for Two
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
“Outstanding stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Everything was great... great location near downtown Vail, great food, great rooms, great conference center. I enjoyed my stay and appreciate the attentiveness of staff to every detail. They made our business conference a success!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    58
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
136
227
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Ours was a summer visit. Thought it would be a quiet weekend but GOPRO was in town with games and contests to boggle the mind. The Sebastian is a very quiet hotel. Just yards from the busy interstate, which was "our" side we never heard a noise. Never heard another guest inside our room, toilets flushing, tv's blaring....No Noise. Main lobby fireplace, library, shops and bars a big hit. Pool and hot tubs in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My husband and I wanted to take a weekend in the mountains with our dog, but not at the cost of staying in a dump. This hotel was so clean and beautiful, customer service was outstanding and the location was right in the heart of Vail - everything we had hoped for and more!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel is in one of the best locations in the middle of Vail village. The service is always top notch, the rooms very clean and comfortable, and amenities exceed expectations. Depending on the season, it can be a tad pricey, but I would recommend giving it a shot if you are visiting and looking for something reliably nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We arrived here Sunday. The staff is awesome! Offered us water while we were waiting to check in. They actually took time to show us where several things were that are in the hotel. My luggage was lost in route and they helped me get the issue resolved. Our room is lovely. Everything is nice and clean and we have had no issues. They have a small outside heated pool and some jacuzzi's. They are happy to answer any questions you may have and even provide umbrellas for rain! This is a very nice place to stay and if we are in the area again we would stay here. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room overlooks a courtyard which is fine for us. There are other options available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The hotel did not feel like a luxury or even 4 star property. Rooms were rather basic not luxurious.Biggest lapse seemed in genuine hospitality, to make the guest feel heard & accommodated. Pool area while attractive is very cramped for the number of guests. Fitness room while functional seems retrofitted like many parts of the hotel. The hallways are a dizzying maze, not helped by unsoothing carpeting. Overall, the hotel reveals that it is a make over of a very old property with many design limits, falling far short from luxury and hospitality standards.

Room Tip: wifi was irregular thru out the hotel- slow with constant drops
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alynch84, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebastian - Vail, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Hboy, first I must apologize for the delay in response to you, I was on vacation. Your review was most disappointing and we are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

We would love to speak with you and understand where you felt our hospitality was lacking. We opened in January of 2011 and have won numerous awards on service, ambiance and overall "fabulous" hospitality. In July 2014 we just won Travel + Leisure World's Best Award.

Please call me to discuss where we lapsed so that we can correct it. 970.477.8017 - Annie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My husband was suffering from the altitude and allergies when we arrived in Vail and switched to this hotel in the last minute due to the availability of air conditioning. The staff could not have been more accommodating and thoughtful. They offered every convenience and amenity to make our stay exceptional including oxygen aerosol cans and Claridon. Thank you again to the staff.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebastian - Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebastian - Vail

Address: 16 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#2 Family Hotel in Vail
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#2 Business Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sebastian - Vail 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebastian- Vail is Vail's hippest boutique hotel located in the heart of Vail Village. You'll find every imaginable comfort in the hotel rooms and suites. Accommodation options are wide ranging starting with our Sebastian Classic room with a single queen bed and going to full residential style suites of up to four bedrooms. All guests receive welcome amenities, nightly turn down service. Amenities on property are Bloom Spa, Frost Bar and our Alpine bistro-inspired restaurant, Leonora. A four season outdoor pool with hot tubs and a firepit complete the expierence. The Sebastian offers five star services that extend through every part of your stay. Concierge, room service, and slopeside ski valet at Base Camp. The Sebastian- Vail is the place you need to experience winter, summer, spring or fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sebastian - Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebastian - Vail Hotel Vail
Vail Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebastian - Vail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.