We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Save Saved
You added The Sebastian - Vail to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebastian - Vail
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Vail
Valley Center, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dream vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Our vacation to The Sebastian was a complete dream come true. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are incredibly friendly and accommodating. Two years ago my husband proposed to me while we where at The Sebastian, we were celebrating with a drink in the Frost Bar and the bartender noticed and congratulated us, she was so genuine and friendly. Lance the manager came and personally congratulated us as well as every staff member who saw us. We felt like we were at home with family. We were so surprised when our room was upgraded to a huge suite that was amazing, it had a incredible view, hot tub, even heated floors. It's something we could have never afforded and we felt like the staff really cared and were truly happy for us and wanted to make our stay a wonderful and memorable experience. Our closest friends surprised us by arriving and sharing in the experience with us. They loved The Sebastian as much as we did. We are heading back this December to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary. Our friends will be joining us and my husbands parents. We couldn't stop talking about how incredible it is they want to see for themselves. The Sebastian is outstanding, we love it and plan to vacation there as often as we can. Thank you so much, April and Alfred S.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    380
    46
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
112
181
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parker
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Amazing location and super stylish decor! Our room was very luxurious and the view was breathtaking. The staff can't be beat---everyone went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. The spa, pool, and dining were all superb. I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The pillows and bed are fantastic-no need to bring your at-home pillow to this spot!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Traveling from North Carolina with my 8 year old for a get away weekend with friends and our first trip to Vail. The rooms were luxurious, spacious, clean and comfortable. The Sebastian is conveniently located within Vail Village. The staff was amazing and always very helpful and cheerful. My son enjoyed the hot tub and pool and all the amenities. He also liked the view of the village. I enjoyed a wonderful facial and massage at the spa. We will definitely come back to The Sebastian.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at The Sebastian. As always, we found the staff super friendly and accommodating and the suite equipped with everything we could want and need! We enjoyed walks around Vail Village in the beautiful sunshine, time in the hot tubs in the evening and of course the massages and facials at The Bloom Spa. Carrie provided one of the best massages I have had in a long time! We picked up some great items on the sale rack in the spa as well, great deals on make up, lotions and apparel. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at the Sebastian for Octoberfest and had a great time. There were a few glitches with our reservation and the hotel manager was very helpful in fixing anything that went wrong. We ended up returning to the Sebastian a month later and had a fabulous experience. We were upgraded to a suite and truly enjoyed our stay. Staff was very helpful and made us feel like royalty. We are hoping to be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We booked the Sebastian because of its reputation and superb location in Vail Village. We were there for my wife's surgery at the Steadman Clinic, and the easy close access to that facility was essential to our choice. The service of the staff is tremendous as everyone is pleasant and helpful, continually asking if there is anything they might do for us. The building is impeccably maintained and our room was perfect in every detail. From the time you enter, the warm interior feels like home, with ample lounge areas that are inviting and comfortable. Breakfast at the Market, one of the dining choices in the building, was excellent, as was the service. You can stay in any number of very nice places in Vail, but the difference at the Sebastian is the staff. We will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
575 reviews 575 reviews
186 hotel reviews
Reviews in 204 cities Reviews in 204 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Gorgeous, just gorgeous. This was real Jackie O style glamour.

The location is excellent with everything walking distance. The farmers market was on the day I arrived. Being here in summer is, I imagine, a different experience to deep winter, but no less lovely.

The communal areas inspire exploration: the pools, library, lobby, restaurants; it's all good.

My room was down a long long corridor from the elevator. Once there is was worth the walk. I love to enter a room and hear nice music playing, it just sets the mood so well.

There's no fridge, microwave, luggage rack or iPod dock in the room. There is a Nespresso machine. Breakfast is extra.

The bed and pillows were excellent.

The shower, towels and toiletries (large bulk bottles) were fine.

Parking is valet for a daily fee.

It was a lovely two night stay and I would happily return anytime.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sebastian - Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebastian - Vail

Address: 16 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#1 Business Hotel in Vail
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#2 Family Hotel in Vail
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebastian - Vail 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebastian- Vail is Vail's hippest boutique hotel located in the heart of Vail Village. You'll find every imaginable comfort in the hotel rooms and suites. Accommodation options are wide ranging starting with our Sebastian Classic room with a single queen bed and going to full residential style suites of up to four bedrooms. All guests receive welcome amenities, nightly turn down service. Amenities on property are Bloom Spa, Frost Bar and our Alpine bistro-inspired restaurant, Leonora. A four season outdoor pool with hot tubs and a firepit complete the expierence. The Sebastian offers five star services that extend through every part of your stay. Concierge, room service, and slopeside ski valet at Base Camp. The Sebastian- Vail is the place you need to experience winter, summer, spring or fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sebastian - Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebastian - Vail Hotel Vail
Vail Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebastian - Vail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.