We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living Great in Vail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebastian - Vail to your Saves list
The Sebastian - Vail
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
#1 Hotel in the West!
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Vail
Aspen, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Living Great in Vail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Simply the best!Location and service are top notch! 4 hot tubs and a pool makes it so we never want to leave! On site restaurant and bar are a fun and lively place to meet locals and travelers alike! Much better value than other hotels in the area! Guided my wife and I to spectacular restaurants and hike located around Vail village! Will always stay here anytime I can!

Room Tip: the residence club is the complete package! Room 222 to be exact!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    57
    27
    8
    1
See reviews for
127
213
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was my first time staying at this hotel, after a friend recommended it. I was extremely happy with the service that I received at this hotel. the staff were very helpful and they went above and beyound their duty to make my stay enjoyable. This boutique hotel is excellent and I would highly recommend it. I hope to return for another visit soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda,MD
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Had high hopes for this hotel, especially after reading excellent reviews regarding service. But we were quite disappointed with spotty service. There was one time we forgot to bring towels to the hot tub so we stopped an employee and asked to if she could bring us some. She agreed to do so, but the towels were never delivered. We had to make do with our bath robes. Our skis were never delivered to base camp on the first day, however when the mistake was discovered, the skis were sent over in less than 10 minutes. It's just those small things that really matter, especially for a hotel in this category. For example: 1) We found a peanut under the bed and it stayed there for the 4 nights we were there. Meaning--they don't vacuum the room well. 2) Our hallway flourescent light would not stop flickering despite having the engineer take a look at it. 3) Hair dryer was only 1600 watts. (Ladies with long hair will appreciate a stronger wattage.) 4) The shampoo we first had would not lather. So I went down to the spa and complained about this, since they carry the same brand. The spa gave me a bottle to try out, and the difference was like night and day. Housekeeping refills these bottles and they must've mixed our bottle with some other liquid, and finally 5) there was slow drainage in our tub. Otherwise, we enjoyed the hot tubs outdoors, the outdoor gas pit, the contemporary lobby and fireplace, and friendly staff at base camp. It is not a true ski in-ski out hotel, but we enjoyed it central location. I twisted my knee and housekeeping quickly sent up some ice in a ziplock bag. And the bed was heavenly.

Room Tip: Choose a rooms away from the highway. The hallway carpeting could be a bit "hypnotic" in i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were in Vail for surgery at the Steadman Clinic and we chose the Sebastian primarily because they were so close and conveniently located with respect to the clinic. From check-in, we were treated exceptionally well. While we did check in on the day Vail closed down the ski season and the hotel was far from full, we received nothing but top notch service.

While all the employees from front desk staff to valets were incredibly helpful, Kiki, the effervescent front desk employee seemed to be everywhere at all times. Always helpful, always lending a hand, and always trying to see how she could make our stay better. We have stayed at lots of nice hotels in Asia and even there, similar service is anything but the rule.

The hotel itself is perfectly located. Right off the highway, but right off the pedestrian zone of Vail village, too. Restaurants are close. As far as food is concerned, breakfast at Market is very solid. Nice coffee drinks that are huge in size and IMO decent value. When we were there, Leonore was closed so only Market, Frost, and Inroom Dining were available, and the three share many menu items. Consequently the menu felt a little limited sometimes, but what they do make always comes out tasty and well-prepared.

The room we had was a corner residence with a view of the mountain and a fireplace. Lovely room with plenty of space and a refrigerator/kitchenette (no real cooking possible though).

All in all, we loved our stay here and would return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We recently returned from a holiday in Colorado, having firstly stayed in Beaver Creek. Every time we mentioned that we were about to stay at the Sebastian there was aways a positive response. Once we arrived there, we knew why.
From the moment we arrived to the time we left the service was impeccable without being overbearing. Our room was lovely, the bed extremely comfortable, room service thorough and courteous. We were short of nothing. The atmosphere in the hotel was relaxed and professional; one day we were seat in the lobby making a phone call and were brought coffee free of charge without requesting it. Added extras were so impressive!
Whilst the hotel is a ten minute walk to the slopes, their valet was slope side. They were fabulous! Skis deposited near to the gondola, boots tended to at the end of the day and all done with excellent attitude. Never felt quite so inclined to leave a big tip at the end of the week.
I cannot fault our stay at the Sebastian, we loved it. They will certainly be our first choice next time we return.Thank you to the Sebastian for an excellent stay on all fronts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stay in the Sebastian for the last weekend of the season 2012-13 (April 13) and everything was absolutely perfect. It was our first time in this wonderful resort and never expected it was going to be as great as ti was.

The hotel was amazing, the rooms even better than expected and located in th village just walking distance to everywhere. For sure, I will not only go back every year, but this will be my hotel for any future stay in Vail.

Room Tip: Just go there and rely on the staff. They will make yor stay a great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We spent one night at the Sebastian following closing day in Vail. The hotel is beautiful, the pool/hot tub area is lovely. The only restaurant open was Frost, where we had a cocktail and a snack. Our room, 303, was a regular hotel room. Really regular (but on the quiet side of the hotel). The carpet is in need of cleaning. Small window, an armchair and desk. I think the window space would have been better served with a small table as there was no place to have dinner in the room. The refrigerator was noisy, but had a "snooze" button on it. I did not like the bathroom -- the fan stays on the entire time the light is on and I've been in prop planes that were quieter than the bathroom fan! Toiletries nice, towels and sheets great. The bed was very comfortable as where the pillows. Be aware of resort fee, we were not told about it until check in. We usually stay at the Vail Marriott - think we will continue with that tradition.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebastian - Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebastian - Vail

Address: 16 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#2 Business Hotel in Vail
#2 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebastian - Vail 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebastian- Vail is Vail's hippest boutique hotel located in the heart of Vail Village. You'll find every imaginable comfort in the hotel rooms and suites. Accommodation options are wide ranging starting with our Sebastian Classic room with a single queen bed and going to full residential style suites of up to four bedrooms. All guests receive welcome amenities, nightly turn down service. Amenities on property are Bloom Spa, Frost Bar and our Alpine bistro-inspired restaurant, Leonora. A four season outdoor pool with hot tubs and a firepit complete the expierence. The Sebastian offers five star services that extend through every part of your stay. Concierge, room service, and slopeside ski valet at Base Camp. The Sebastian- Vail is the place you need to experience winter, summer, spring or fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sebastian - Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebastian - Vail Hotel Vail
Vail Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebastian - Vail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.