We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Save Saved
You added The Sebastian - Vail to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebastian - Vail
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Vail
1 review
“Super comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

If you get a good price, don't hesitate, go for it. Great place. You will love it. Rooms are not very big, but very comfortable, staff is friendly, great location, and Vail is an awesome place to ski.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    51
    26
    8
    1
See reviews for
121
197
14
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The staff here was really great. It started from the first bellman to greet me and stayed that way through room service, special requests, and ended with the last bellman to see me off.

The room was nice, but this is expected with a hotel in this price range. The view was essentially of the alley/rest of the hotel. One of the other reviews noted that the better views are likely reserved for the condos--this seems plausible . My room was average sized relative to my expectations--not cramped but not spacious either.

I had booked through hotwire (was not cheap, even through hotwire) and was expecting something slopeside--this is probably a three block walk. They have a separate affiliated location for rentals/gear storage slopeside, but it is not quite the same as being ski-in ski out.

I had drinks/dinner at the bar a couple of nights, a cool scene, good food, good drinks, good staff. I also had a massage at the spa, might have been the best massage I have ever had.

The hotel definitely is pricey. I think my breakfast buffet ran $40+, ~$50 including tip. To sum it up, great staff, nice hotel, but location/value only OK.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alynch84, Director of Sales at The Sebastian - Vail, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We are so grateful you chose The Sebastian - Vail for your stay. Vail Village was a purpose built European style walking village the lodging surrounds the town center. Our Base Camp gives us a prime ski-in/ski-out location right to the new Gondola #1 at the base of Vail Mountain.

Thank you for your kind comments on our staff, our associates pride themselves on making our guests feel, welcome, pampered & valued. Frost where you had your great drinks is one of Vail’s hottest bars. Our location within Vail Village is very compact all of our suites offer beautiful views of the slopes or Vail Valley. If view is a priority for you let us book a one bedroom suite for your next stay it has a full gourmet kitchen, fireplace with lots of room to roam! We hope you will come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very beautifull hotel, with large rooms and pretty pool and jacuzzis.. The staff (reception and concierge) were amazing!!! Super thoughtfull to all our concerns.. The location is great... Really close to the middle of the village (300m), but if you are not up to this small walk there is a bus that takes you there for free each 5-7min.. You don't leave your ski gear at the hotel. They have a store (base camp) at the village so you don't have to carry it on your walk...
I certainly recomend it!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a business meetup at The Sebastian in October and it was by far the most beautiful place that I have stayed! I enjoyed the hot tubs in the evening and it was wonderful. The staff was very accommodating and jumped at our every request. They took care of everything we needed from the moment we pulled in. Everything about the hotel was wonderful from the rooms to the lobby to the restaurant to the pools. I loved being within walking distance of everything in town and we really enjoyed the scenery in October. The drive from Denver to Vail was amazing and I was thoroughly impressed with the resort. I booked a hot stone massage at the spa and it didn't disappoint. The masseuse was great and I had a very relaxing massage. I definitely recommend The Sebastian for anyone travelling to Vail. Very impressed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have just returned from Vail. We stayed at The Sebastian with our friends from the 29th of January during one week. Everything was great - the design, the service, the restaurant, the bar, the outdoor swimming pool, the staff, the atmosphere, the location! We didn't try the Spa but everybody says that the Spa is also great! The first day we asked the front desk if they could help us with the better view from our room and the next day they managed to do it.) I like to stay in boutique hotels all around the world - The Sebastian is one of the best one!))

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Sebastian is a warm, hip and friendly hotel. The lobby and rooms are luxurious and modern, yet cozy. The spa is small, but luxurious and sparkling clean (I had an excellent deep tissue massage). Most of all, the staff is super-friendly and helpful, making it a really fun place to relax and hang out. We also stayed at the Four Seasons, and the two resorts have completely different atmospheres--the Four Seasons has larger rooms, but it's stiff/stuffy and the staff isn't always that helpful. The Sebastian has smaller rooms than the Four Seasons, but they are still roomy and comfortable. What they lack in space, they make up for with excellent service, free water and trail mix in the room, 2 free movies, free WiFi for as many devices as you need (we had to pay for Wifi at the Four Seasons because we had more than one laptop--whaat?!). The pool and hot tub are beautiful and wonderful. Overall, we had an excellent experience at the Sebastian!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Overall, Sebastian Vail was a good experience, and I think for Vail Village is one of the better choices if you go the hotel route. I will say next time we plan to stay in Lionshead as there seemed to be much more going on there for us, but not because of the Sebastian.

Upsides - Staff was incredibly friendly and always willing to help. Ski valet was fantastic - perfect space at the base of the mountain where you could relax inside, store boots, skis, etc., have a coffee pre-skiing. Bar was good for apres. Room was clean and nice. Design of hotel itself is pretty interesting and fun. Decent value compared to elsewhere in town that we have stayed.

Downsides - Room was small (deluxe king), one tiny window and no view (other than of the building next door - most of the views from what we could tell were reserved for the residences). No overhead fan, so it was hard to drown out the noise from the hallway and outside to get to sleep. Bed was not especially comfortable (duvet very light and not cozy), bathroom was very small and had some plumbing issues. Turn-down was inconsistent, some nights we got it some nights we didn't, including on nights where we had dinner reservations made through the concierge (in which case I would expect them to know we were gone).

Tip for breakfast - there is no a la carte option at Leonora, so even if you only want a few eggs and some toast, still have to pay $28/person for the buffet. Went across the street to the Four Seasons the next morning and paid far less - never would have expected that!

The one thing that irked my husband the most was the movie/tv situation - there were limited tv stations and movie channels, only the "Redbox-like" (as described to us) free rental station in the lower level for movies. The movie choices were pretty terrible - it was kind of a collection of movies that went straight to DVD. After a long day of skiing and apres, some nights all we wanted to do was lay in bed and watch a good movie and so were a little disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebastian - Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebastian - Vail

Address: 16 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#1 Business Hotel in Vail
#2 Family Hotel in Vail
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebastian - Vail 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebastian- Vail is Vail's hippest boutique hotel located in the heart of Vail Village. You'll find every imaginable comfort in the hotel rooms and suites. Accommodation options are wide ranging starting with our Sebastian Classic room with a single queen bed and going to full residential style suites of up to four bedrooms. All guests receive welcome amenities, nightly turn down service. Amenities on property are Bloom Spa, Frost Bar and our Alpine bistro-inspired restaurant, Leonora. A four season outdoor pool with hot tubs and a firepit complete the expierence. The Sebastian offers five star services that extend through every part of your stay. Concierge, room service, and slopeside ski valet at Base Camp. The Sebastian- Vail is the place you need to experience winter, summer, spring or fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Splendia, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sebastian - Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebastian - Vail Hotel Vail
Vail Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebastian - Vail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;