We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel! Great staff and facilities!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebastian - Vail to your Saves list
The Sebastian - Vail
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Vail
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel! Great staff and facilities!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

The staff were fantastic! The hotel has a great ambience, and is luxurious. Plenty of jaquizies outside to go around, and a larger pool. The bartender will wait on you while you swimming =]
The ski valet at the bottom of the hill is excellent so you can walk in runners and dont have to carry your gear. The hotel location is a little off the beaten track, so at least you are a bit warmed up from the 6 minute walk to the valet.
Dont miss the complimentary bubbles each Friday night.
If you go to the spa, be sure to check the bill at the end, as I think they are milking the 'wife goes to spa and husband pays the bill' routine. Fortunately my wife picked up on a large overcharge here.
If you are an international, you may struggle like us with the heat and poor lighting in bedrooms which is common in the states. We had the heater off and the window open the whole time, and take a torch to find your belongings to fix the latter =]
Its a great place to stay, and we hope to be back there again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    57
    27
    8
    1
See reviews for
126
212
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is 5 star in every way. Rooms, amenities, location, convenience, food, service, views, value. They have a ski valet at the bottom of the slope so no lugging your skis and boots. They don't nickel and dime you. Free wi-fi. Free bottled water. And we paid way less than other 4 and 5 star hotels. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay, wonderful room, excellent service. Would definitely stay there again. Only complaint - $75 for valet parking?!! Really? Will park elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alynch84, Public Relations Manager at The Sebastian - Vail, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Sebastian-Vail. We wanted to clear up your comment about $75.00 for parking. Our Valet parking is $25.00 dollars per day and is the same price as the daily parking in the public lots in Vail. For a 3 night stay it would at an additional $75.00 dollars as would parking in Vail public parking. One great way to reduce parking charges at The Sebastian - Vail is drive a hybrid vehicle and we will reduce your parking charge to $10.00 per day. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you back at The Sebastian - Vail soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel is not ski in ski out but they do have a ski valet. Rooms have turn down service with complimentary cookies and waters every night. They have a fun bar called Frost almost always bustling with activity. They had complimentary champagne and gourmet white chocolate popcorn one night (yum) in lobby which was a nice opportunity to make new friends. They have two restaurants in hotel, one casual that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast really good with made to order omelettes, oatmeal with sautéed apples, made to order waffles, etc. staff really so accommodating. Dined at their high end restaurant which was pretty good. Wasn't crazy about the artichoke salad but truffle risotto very good. Want to dine their early, by 10pm almost empty we like a little more upbeat atmosphere. Also enjoyed the spa. Did a couples massage. Room was a bit cramped for two beds. My husband and I did a jacuzzi tub for two after. Water was not hot enough and kind of ruined that experience but staff removed from bill and very apologetic. Would definitely return and recommend. Also great location to restaurants and shopping (especially crepe place and dine in movie theatre).

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from street. Also they charge more for a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Having lived in Vail for 3 years and returning for our annual vacation I can honestly say that the hotel, staff and service was amazing! 5Star service from a boutique hotel without the pompous atmosphere that engulfs many of the other hotels in the Vail Valley. Very relaxing and a great change of pace. Everyone from front desk and concierge to Spencer the Valet guy were polite and accomodating of all our requests. We spent 10 days in the hotel and could have spent another 10. I visited the Ritz Carlton in Dublin the week before and it didnt come close to the service at the Sebastian. So much so that I have enquired with my booking agent about visiting again next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alynch84, Director of Sales at The Sebastian - Vail, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
What a wonderful response from a 'former' local. We are so glad you understand and experienced The Sebastian culture of hospitality and we are very happy you had a great stay. The service is to be relaxed, playful and sophisticated all at the same time. It is warm and genuine. We look forward to your arrival again next year or perhaps a summer vacation is in your plans, please let us know.

Thank you again for your kind words. -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Very friendly staff. Comfortable stylish environment. The Frost Bar was crowded with a dance vibe going on, but despite my room being directly above the bar could not hear a thing. The only complaint is that the bathroom has a heated floor that kept the room to warm until I learned to keep the door closed. I found the staff responsive to questions and extremely helpful. Their recommendations were spot on.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My family just returned from our annual ski trip to Vail -- this was my third stay at the Sebastian and each visit just got better and better. This year far exceeded our expectations. We typically stay at 5 star hotels whenever we travel, but the Sebastian offers more than just beautiful accommodations and first class facilities. The boutique atmosphere provided by the staff is extraordinary.

The front desk manager Eric Cucchi personally ensured that every aspect of our stay went seamlessly, while making us feel like friends, as well as VIPs. Audrey Powell and Chris Robinson at the concierge desk were equally amazing with the services they provided. Somehow we got whatever reservations we requested during one of the busiest weeks of the season. Jeroen Stovers at the front desk was also a great help and always with a big smile.

Overall, the Sebastian offers everything a Ritz or Four Seasons can offer, but with the sincere involvement of the staff that made our stay special and unforgettable. If you're tired of stuffy hotels and want to be treated like a rockstar, I recommend the Sebastian. Customer for life --DD.

Room Tip: This year we stayed in a 2 bedroom residence --223.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebastian - Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebastian - Vail

Address: 16 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Vail
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#2 Family Hotel in Vail
#2 Business Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebastian - Vail 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebastian- Vail is Vail's hippest boutique hotel located in the heart of Vail Village. You'll find every imaginable comfort in the hotel rooms and suites. Accommodation options are wide ranging starting with our Sebastian Classic room with a single queen bed and going to full residential style suites of up to four bedrooms. All guests receive welcome amenities, nightly turn down service. Amenities on property are Bloom Spa, Frost Bar and our Alpine bistro-inspired restaurant, Leonora. A four season outdoor pool with hot tubs and a firepit complete the expierence. The Sebastian offers five star services that extend through every part of your stay. Concierge, room service, and slopeside ski valet at Base Camp. The Sebastian- Vail is the place you need to experience winter, summer, spring or fall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Sebastian - Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebastian - Vail Hotel Vail
Vail Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebastian - Vail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.