We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Vail!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail

Save Saved
You added Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2284 S. Frontage Road, Vail, CO 81657   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #22 of 33 hotels in Vail
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good place to stay in Vail!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here this past March. We were pleasantly surprised with the 1BR, It was very spacious and clean with newly furnishings. Their complimentary ski shuttle leaving every 15-30 minutes to Lions head Village or the Main Village is a must and very convenient in the winter with parking being so expensive. They have a Charter Sports located on the 2nd floor of main lobby with discounted rates on rentals or tune ups for staying guests. The pool and hot tub are also located in the main lobby building, so you need to wear your jacket and boots to walk outside from Douglas building to get there and it is usually packed after a day at the slopes so sometimes not worth freezing your tootsies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Rooms on 3rd floor with loft are a steal in the summer time.... could use air conditioning on those unusually hot days.
Kids really enjoy the indoor/outdoor pool, the gaming cave, and the many other kid-friendly activities when we are not otherwise out and about.
House keeping service is spotty at times, but the rooms are very well appointed and with the City Market so close, we love being able to eat in... again, makes this a screaming deal!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Lodging in the high winter season at Vail is generally exorbitantly high, but if you get away from the village or Lionshead, you can find deals. And we found one at the Stremside Douglas during spring break week in March. The complex is nothing fancy but the condos have been updated and ours was fine for our family of five. Kitchen had everything you need with Safeway close by. The shuttle service to Lionshead and at night to Vail Village is excellent and frequent. The place is clean, staff is helpful, the pool complex is very good, ski lockers are excellent. No, it is not luxury or service oriented and there is no restaurant - it's a basic condo complex. But the rates we paid are more than 50 percent less than many other Vail condos.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ww13
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I have read a long list of negative reviews of this location, which must be way out of date. We reserved a one bedroom and got the top floor which consisted of a loft bedroom with private bath, a main level bedroom with sofa bed and master bath. Additionally there is a sofa bed in the living room sectional and a 3/4 Bath, dining room and nicely equipped kitchen. The unit was in great condition with granite counters and ample cabinets to hold an abundance of equipment. Everything seemed fresh and new, although I was told they plan another update this year. My only suggestion would be to pick up some prettier shower heads. That seemed to be the only less than upscale fixture in the unit. We loved this location. There is a free shuttle available to the Lionshead lift area, which runs frequently, so you nearly don't need a vehicle. After 5 PM, UNTIL 8, you can request transportation to the grocery stores and there is also a city bus that services those shops and the resort. I highly recommend this location. Also, we noticed handicapped lifts at the hot tub and indoor/outdoor pool. I did not view their handicapped unit but expect it would be well done. I suggest phoning for photos of the accessible unit to be sure it will work for you.

Room Tip: We had the hillside facing location. It was very quiet. We also saw deer tracks behind the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We love Vail in the summer. This is our 2nd time staying at StreamSide, as we traded for another Marriott property. The unit we had was upgraded and very nice, although there was very little closet space. Our deck was tiny, but did back up to the mountain and we enjoyed several evenings and mornings with visits from the local deer, which was magical.
Compared to other Marriott's this is a letdown. The pool area is just plain old - there is a rusty door near the corner, inside near the hot tub, which was awful looking. Why don't they replace that? The grounds are well maintained and nicely landscaped. The free shuttle to Vail village is handy. My kids enjoyed the "cave" for Wii games. Staff was very nice.
I keep hoping they are going to upgrade the pool area at the resort, as it could be so much more. Not sure I will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit that has been remodeled and backs up to the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed for a during the week vacation in the bi-level Villa at Streamside Douglas. It was beautiful! Kitchen fully stocked with any kind of dish you would be looking for. Flat screen tv's in living room and master bedroom. There was three full bathrooms, super comfortable beds, enough seating for many people, and balcony overlooking a little wooded area where we did see some deer go by as we were eating dinner.

There are great hiking trails all around. There is a ranger station near in Minturn, maybe 5 minutes. Also if you know specific trails you want to do you can get them from the front desk. Vail Village is a beautiful little place to visit, also about 5ish minutes away. Good restaurants and dining.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torrance
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Steamside is a sky resort, but as we where there in July it also has many activities. You can Bike, Hike, and as we did tour.

The accomadation we had was a 1bd, two bath unit with full kitchen, living with fireplace. It can accomadate 4 or 6 people easily. It is nicely furnished with HDV TV'S, wireless internet, and laundry facilities in the building.

You can get around quite easily as there is a shuttle or use your own car. It is really important in the summer to have your own car to get around. There is a Safeway with Starbucks within a few blocks where you can stock up on the food and the kitchen is well stocked as well as there are BBQ's. There is a full gym area with good equipment and heated in door/out door pool and jacuzi as well as sauna.

Visit Vail Village with its shops and resturants or Lions Head have a wide variety for you to choose from including casual or gourmet. Try the Marble Slab $2 Tuesday's. On Sunday the hold a Farmers Market with lots of fun foods and Craft Market with local artisans. Sumer Gondola takes you up the mountain and we used the one at Lions Head as there is a resturants at the top. They offer a $25 ticket and for another $5 you get a $15 coupon to use in the Resturants, Shops or they do a one hour Jeep ride of the upper trails. You can hike the area or horseback ride too.

There are lots of quaint towns to vist and if you like trains there is one in Georgetown and another in Leadville. If mines are something you enjoy there are lots of them as the area was in mining for many years with gold and other metals.

Room Tip: There are 3 buildings and the Birch would be a good choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail

Address: 2284 S. Frontage Road, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 hotels in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Streamside Douglas At Vail Hotel Vail
Marriotts Streamside Douglas Vail
Vail Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.