We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Love This Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail

Save Saved
You added Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2284 S. Frontage Road, Vail, CO 81657   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #19 of 33 hotels in Vail
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I Love This Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Rooms on 3rd floor with loft are a steal in the summer time.... could use air conditioning on those unusually hot days.
Kids really enjoy the indoor/outdoor pool, the gaming cave, and the many other kid-friendly activities when we are not otherwise out and about.
House keeping service is spotty at times, but the rooms are very well appointed and with the City Market so close, we love being able to eat in... again, makes this a screaming deal!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Lodging in the high winter season at Vail is generally exorbitantly high, but if you get away from the village or Lionshead, you can find deals. And we found one at the Stremside Douglas during spring break week in March. The complex is nothing fancy but the condos have been updated and ours was fine for our family of five. Kitchen had everything you need with Safeway close by. The shuttle service to Lionshead and at night to Vail Village is excellent and frequent. The place is clean, staff is helpful, the pool complex is very good, ski lockers are excellent. No, it is not luxury or service oriented and there is no restaurant - it's a basic condo complex. But the rates we paid are more than 50 percent less than many other Vail condos.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ww13
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I have read a long list of negative reviews of this location, which must be way out of date. We reserved a one bedroom and got the top floor which consisted of a loft bedroom with private bath, a main level bedroom with sofa bed and master bath. Additionally there is a sofa bed in the living room sectional and a 3/4 Bath, dining room and nicely equipped kitchen. The unit was in great condition with granite counters and ample cabinets to hold an abundance of equipment. Everything seemed fresh and new, although I was told they plan another update this year. My only suggestion would be to pick up some prettier shower heads. That seemed to be the only less than upscale fixture in the unit. We loved this location. There is a free shuttle available to the Lionshead lift area, which runs frequently, so you nearly don't need a vehicle. After 5 PM, UNTIL 8, you can request transportation to the grocery stores and there is also a city bus that services those shops and the resort. I highly recommend this location. Also, we noticed handicapped lifts at the hot tub and indoor/outdoor pool. I did not view their handicapped unit but expect it would be well done. I suggest phoning for photos of the accessible unit to be sure it will work for you.

Room Tip: We had the hillside facing location. It was very quiet. We also saw deer tracks behind the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We love Vail in the summer. This is our 2nd time staying at StreamSide, as we traded for another Marriott property. The unit we had was upgraded and very nice, although there was very little closet space. Our deck was tiny, but did back up to the mountain and we enjoyed several evenings and mornings with visits from the local deer, which was magical.
Compared to other Marriott's this is a letdown. The pool area is just plain old - there is a rusty door near the corner, inside near the hot tub, which was awful looking. Why don't they replace that? The grounds are well maintained and nicely landscaped. The free shuttle to Vail village is handy. My kids enjoyed the "cave" for Wii games. Staff was very nice.
I keep hoping they are going to upgrade the pool area at the resort, as it could be so much more. Not sure I will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit that has been remodeled and backs up to the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed for a during the week vacation in the bi-level Villa at Streamside Douglas. It was beautiful! Kitchen fully stocked with any kind of dish you would be looking for. Flat screen tv's in living room and master bedroom. There was three full bathrooms, super comfortable beds, enough seating for many people, and balcony overlooking a little wooded area where we did see some deer go by as we were eating dinner.

There are great hiking trails all around. There is a ranger station near in Minturn, maybe 5 minutes. Also if you know specific trails you want to do you can get them from the front desk. Vail Village is a beautiful little place to visit, also about 5ish minutes away. Good restaurants and dining.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torrance
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Steamside is a sky resort, but as we where there in July it also has many activities. You can Bike, Hike, and as we did tour.

The accomadation we had was a 1bd, two bath unit with full kitchen, living with fireplace. It can accomadate 4 or 6 people easily. It is nicely furnished with HDV TV'S, wireless internet, and laundry facilities in the building.

You can get around quite easily as there is a shuttle or use your own car. It is really important in the summer to have your own car to get around. There is a Safeway with Starbucks within a few blocks where you can stock up on the food and the kitchen is well stocked as well as there are BBQ's. There is a full gym area with good equipment and heated in door/out door pool and jacuzi as well as sauna.

Visit Vail Village with its shops and resturants or Lions Head have a wide variety for you to choose from including casual or gourmet. Try the Marble Slab $2 Tuesday's. On Sunday the hold a Farmers Market with lots of fun foods and Craft Market with local artisans. Sumer Gondola takes you up the mountain and we used the one at Lions Head as there is a resturants at the top. They offer a $25 ticket and for another $5 you get a $15 coupon to use in the Resturants, Shops or they do a one hour Jeep ride of the upper trails. You can hike the area or horseback ride too.

There are lots of quaint towns to vist and if you like trains there is one in Georgetown and another in Leadville. If mines are something you enjoy there are lots of them as the area was in mining for many years with gold and other metals.

Room Tip: There are 3 buildings and the Birch would be a good choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed in June as an exchange from a different resort. Our first impression was not good. I guess it was because we expected more coming from Marriott and we were tired from a long drive. Our first complaint was because of NO A/C. Front desk said that No units have A/C. It was on the 80s outside. We opened the windows (only two windows could be opened, and only a third of the way. But because we had the windows opened, we could hear the Freeway I-70. there was a ceiling fan that we ran day and night. Some nights we had trouble sleeping because it was hot. We had the top floor with a loft. The Units also need to be remodeled. There was granite counter-top on the kitchen and bathrooms, but everything else looked old. The Bathroom's showers and tubs looked very old. There was plenty of room in our unit. It had 3 baths and a full kitchen. The staff was very friendly. Especially "Kat" our walking tour guide. She was always friendly and polite, even when we bumped into her around the resort. My only complain from the staff (other than Kat) is that they didn't have much knowledge on activities that were happening around the area. The views are beautiful from our windows. The resort did not have much of activities for children. There is a room called "The Cave" where there is a WII and an Xbox, but it is just a large room with No windows and NO supervision. I did not let my children play there. The Racquetball room was fun. The pool is small, but it was not crowed when we were there. The Free shuttle was nice surprise. Would I stay there again? Though it is not a bad resort, I would Probably Not stay there again. I will try other resorts in the area to see how they rate.

Room Tip: Choose the unit with the loft. It is considered a one-bedroom, but it has 3 sofa beds and two king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail

Also Known As:
Marriott`s Streamside Douglas At Vail Hotel Vail
Marriott`s Streamside Douglas At Vail Hotel
Marriotts Streamside Douglas Vail
Vail Marriott
Address: 2284 S. Frontage Road, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 hotels in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.