We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great appetizers & drinks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fitz

The Fitz
595 Vail Valley Dr, Vail, CO 81657
800.950.8245
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 101 Restaurants in Vail
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Woodinville
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great appetizers & drinks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

What a nice discovery this spot turned out to be! We had no idea that the Manor Vail was anything more than condo's, let alone a restaurant (Lord Gore) & nice bar! Our waitress was friendly, funny & quite sweet, as was "our" bartender. The martini's were fabulous, with Uncle Tito's homemade vodka & the Moscow Mule was even served in a copper cup (available for purchase...$25)! Apparently, the copper cups have a tendency to disappear, so they often ask for a credit card as a deposit! Fortunately, either she felt that we looked honest, or noticed that our purses were too small to hide one, as she didn't have to demand ours! The last restaurant we visited (Black Diamond Bistro in Beaver Creek), we were told that they don't use the copper cups anymore, due to theft issues.
The hamburger was huge, so we split one, three ways (hubby ate his entire burger), & it was pretty good! ($15). We also split the quesadilla, which was quite delicious...4 large pieces. Although we ALSO ordered a pizza, we were too full to actually eat it!
This will be a repeat destination for us, now that we know that it exists!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfection in Vail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I usually do not get quite this excited about a dining experience but this one was probably in the top 3 of all time. By far the top experience in Vail and we have been to most of the eating places Vail has to offer.

This one started in the lounge with Aaron the bartender. It just so happed we sat inside and were the only couple there. We struck up a conversation with Aaron and the fun began. Great conversation that just gave you that happy feeling inside and the three of us just laughed and told stories. By the way .. great cold Colorado beers and Aaron makes a mean Margarita!

When it was time for an appetizer so we ordered wings and Aaron also suggested the Grilled Avocado. To our delight and suprise Eric, the Chef, delivered our order and gave us a wonderful description that made the experience even better. The Grilled Avocado was awesome and the wings perfect with a cold beer!

The experience kept getting better! As we were considering dinner, Eric returned and gave us an overview of the menu. It all sounded great, especially coming from the chef, and we decided on the seabass. You probably know what I am going to say next - Outstanding! Cooked to perfection and absolutely delicious!

So after the above you might think we were done and ready for the walk back to our condo ... no way! After dinner was over and the dishes cleared away Eric returned once again with a suggestion for desert. This was going to be his surprise for us so how could we refuse? We did not! I have posted a photo of Eric and his desert. I think if you want to know how this story ended you will need to go see for yourself! Go meet Aaron and Eric, have a cold drink, eat some of the best food we have ever experienced and simply have a whole lot of fun!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yummy Tacos!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great live music and super yummy fish tacos!! Chef Eric even came out to say hello even though the place was crazy busy, always a great time when visiting the Fitz!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

What a wonderful happy hour after being on the mountain. Arron, the bartender, was quick to learn my name, and what I liked. Excellent mixologist! Scotty, the singer/guitarist, was overflowing with talent. Was able to dine on Chief Eric's Elk in this cozy, casual atmosphere and it was superb. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Guest Relations Manager at The Fitz, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
I am truly honored to read your review and share it with the Fitz Lounge staff members. With so many great bars and restaurants to choose from in Vail, we appreciate that you stopped by the Fitz. Thanks again for your review and your business. Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Nicole Martin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Night at the Fitz!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My dinner at the Fitz was a great ending to a wonderful few days in Vail. The food, atmosphere and great service was a great sendoff. Everything was fresh and beautifully prepared. And our server, Chris, was so funny and welcoming that he made our night even more enjoyable! It will definitely be a must on my next trip back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fitz also viewed

 

Been to The Fitz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fitz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.