We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood in Vail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montauk Seafood Grill

Montauk Seafood Grill
549 E Lionshead Cir, Vail, CO 81657-5521
970-476-2601
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Montauk Seafood Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 100 Restaurants in Vail
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: We are a short walk from two local bus stops which are accessible via the Intown bus or the West Vail Green and Red buses. When coming from the west, get off on the Lionshead/Concert Hall Plaza stop. From the east, get off on the main Lionshead stop.
Beaver Creek, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great seafood in Vail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed kumomato oysters to start off with which are hard to find and very delicious. My salmon was cooked to perfection and offered with 3 different sauces in the side. My husband enjoyed seared tuna. My sons enjoyed filet cooked medium, and deep fried shrimp. Cheese tray offered a nice variety of cheeses, almonds and dried cherries and apricots. We ate at 6pm and service a little slow to start off but overall very good service. I would return here for seafood in Vail. They have some unique cocktails that were tasty too.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    74
    19
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“good fish - fishy service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The fish is fresh. all 4 dinners was wonderful but Ron our server was not so wonderful. we didn't let it ruin our night. we would go back. the food is that good. Ron was just having a busy night,

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The food is incredible and the service is awesome. Highly recommend this restaurant. Fresh crab legs were wonderful. Linguini with fresh seafood was very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Very good fish, nice ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We've eaten here twice in the last couple of years. The fish is always very fresh (flown in almost daily) and we were not disappointed this time. I had the halibut which had a nice potato crust and was perfectly seasoned. My wife's salmon was cooked perfectly, not under done or dry. The rest of the meal was also excellent. The wine list is fair, but not a bargain. The waiters are okay, not terribly refined but this is a mountain resort not the French Riviera so I suppose it's appropriate. The prices are not too bad considering you're in vail. Not such a great place for kids though, the menu isn't kid friendly so leave them back at the condo with the babysitter.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful !!! The best in Vail...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Don´t miss the Alaskan King Crab, the Maine Lobster, the Linguini with Fresh Seafood and the Prince Eduard Island Mussels. Unforgetable!! Plus excelent service. What a great combination... I will definitively come back

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montauk Seafood Grill also viewed

 

Been to Montauk Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montauk Seafood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.