We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montauk Seafood Grill

Montauk Seafood Grill
549 E Lionshead Cir, Vail, CO 81657-5521
970-476-2601
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Montauk Seafood Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 109 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: We are a short walk from two local bus stops which are accessible via the Intown bus or the West Vail Green and Red buses. When coming from the west, get off on the Lionshead/Concert Hall Plaza stop. From the east, get off on the main Lionshead stop.
Boston MA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I liked my entree a lot but my friend found hers a little over salted. Service was good. Would return

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    89
    24
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paonia, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Almost like being on the coast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a gem of a restaurant. We have eaten at a number of Vail restaurants and this is our favorite. The food is delicious, the staff (we had Chris this time) is very knowledgeable and friendly, and we can't wait to go back.

On a recent visit our party of five enjoyed Alaskan King Crab, mahi - mahi, grouper, and Dungeness Crab. Each dish was well prepared and tastefully presented. I had the lobster and macoroni/cheese appetizer and it was incredible.

The wine list is good and the bar tender (sommelier) quite experienced and knowledgeable.

Not cheap, but few restaurants in Vail are.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldwick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another excellent meal at Montauk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I went to Montauk again last night and again it was an awesome experience. Both the food and the service were outstanding (our server, Edward, was really great). I had a special swordfish called "pumpkin" that is rare and special. Given their connections to fishermen, they get a call when one of these is caught. I can honestly say it's the best swordfish I have ever eaten. If you are in Vail now - GO and have some. It was cooked absolutely perfectly and had lovely fresh spring vegetables and rice (you have a choice on sides) as sides. My husband had their Ahi which is always perfect and so fresh. Edward did an unbelievable job of getting everything timed well. We both had salads as appetizers and both were good. Portions are generous too.

I highly recommend Montauk and will definitely go again. As an aside, the prices are very fair for Vail, especially given the outstanding quality.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great, fresh dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

They offer very nicely prepared fresh fish dishes. The slaw was awesome. We were next to an exceptionally loud table and they promptly moved us to a nicer spot.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The fish was excellent and fresh! We loved it and highly recommend it! Great service! The price may be a little high but it is beyond worth it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montauk Seafood Grill also viewed

 

Been to Montauk Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montauk Seafood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.