We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast in Vail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Little Diner

The Little Diner
616 West Lionshead Circle, Vail, CO 81657
+1 970-476-4279
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 109 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Vail's Legendary Breakfast Spot! Open daily from 7 'ish' a.M. To around 2 p.M. The Diner specializes in traditional favorites and regional specialties using family recipes and the freshest locally sourced ingredients. Come by and try the house specialty German Pancake, a sweet crepe, homemade biscuits and sausage gravy, corned beef hash, or fall in love with the Eggs Benedict the owner's father "wooed" his mother with.. Serving up fast, fresh, scratch-made food to nourish your soul. Breakfast all day & Lunch after 11:30. Locally owned & operated. At the West Lionshead Plaza bus stop. The best breakfast in Vail!
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Vail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hands down, the best place in Vail to get a great breakfast at a decent price. The Pannekoeken is worth the wait - get it with bacon and sauteed apple topping!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    84
    19
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good breakfast but arrogant staff.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I had breakfast at The little Diner and the food was good. The coffee was not in my taste,very weak. Orange juice was very good and when I asked for another glass, I was politely told it would cost extra. I got the check and I left 10% tip. I was then told by one of the two waitress that it wasn't enough tip. I asked what was normal here and she told me 25% for good service. I was shocked, never experienced anything like that before. I then gave her 20% tip and left embarrassed. The food was good but I won't come back to The Little Diner again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun Hole in the Wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Good breakfast place. It was very small but we came here because of the reviews. Food was good. Pancakes are the best! But the lady in the center serving was not very nice. But the food made up for it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Truly a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I love this place! It offers one of the best omelette I've ever had! I had the florentine omelette, it was cooked just right. All ingredients they used are very fresh. The down side is it's a cozy restaurant where it get crowded. We waited 30 minutes which was not too bad. I will definitely return to this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best Ski Breakfast in Vail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great place, get there before 8 AM or you will wait. Look like you know what you're doing here by asking the other waiting patrons "who's last?", then you know you will follow them. The Little in Little Diner is actually the owners last name. He is there most mornings cooking. Coffee is a special treat here, high quality cooking for a diner. Great food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Diner also viewed

 

Been to The Little Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Little Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.