We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny restaurant, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osaki's Sushi & Japanese

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Osaki's Sushi & Japanese
100 E Meadow Dr, Vail, CO 81657
(970) 476-0977
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 101 Restaurants in Vail
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Houston, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tiny restaurant, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The food is great...I would venture to say that this may be one of the best Japanese restaurants that we have been to. The space is tiny, however, and it seems like everyone is always close to you and there is an unspoken pressure to finish up and get out. It is always crowded so make sure you get a reservation in early.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    5
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rude and poor service and bad attitude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Tiny place with average food, high prices and very bad attitude and rude service from the beginning when trying to make a reservation. You are so rushed thew your meal that you just don't enjoy it. There are so many nice places in Vail for sushi like Yama - where service is outstanding great atmosphere and awesome food.
Management should take a look at their service and put customers first not the $$.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Ga
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great sushi get a reservation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Wife and I went out for our splurge meal on vacation. Glad we read reviews and got a reservation. This place is tiny. Most places in vail are small but this one is very small. Entire restaraunt kitchen included is about the size of my master bedroom. Maybe 5 tables and a sushi bar that seats six Therefore they only take a few limited reservations. We ordered the ceviche app and about four rolls and a few pieces of nigiri. All were excellent. We are big sushi fans and eat it quite often. Can't say I have ever had any better than this place. With a a couple of beers and tip we were about 150. But as I said we splurged. Would go back for sure

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Bad Attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I have to say that the food at this place is outstanding. It is really sad that you are rushed through your meal so that the next reservation can sit down. We were seated 15 minutes late but still asked to leave 1:30 hrs later even when we had ordered more food. This is rude an unacceptable!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Date night in Vail!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I went out and left the teenagers with the grandparents for an evening and found this small gem tucked away in a corner. We appreciate good sushi and truly enjoyed the experience we had.

We shared four picks from the menu and couldn't believe the quality and flavors of the sushi! We had two of the specials that were excellent and two rolls. One roll had a surprise when we tasted it, the rice was wrapped in mint leaves under the tuna, it was a very nice touch.

We both would recommend this for a date night in Vail as the place probably only holds about 20 people total! Small but excellent!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaki's Sushi & Japanese also viewed

 

Been to Osaki's Sushi & Japanese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osaki's Sushi & Japanese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.