We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Basil

Sweet Basil
193 Gore Creek Dr, Ste 201, Vail, CO 81657-4549
+1 970-476-0125
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sweet Basil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 109 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Wall Street
Description: Voted #1 in Colorado by Zagat Survey, Sweet Basil has been a must for travelers and locals alike since 1977. The cuisine is creative contemporary American utilizing many cultural influences from around the world. Located in the heart of Vail Village, the restaurant blends fine dining with a captivating "bistro-like" energy.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We had a fabulous lunch there. Wonderful combinations, good service. We had a little bit of a hard time finding it from I70, but well worth the search.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    168
    70
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I had very high expectations for Sweet Basil due to all the hype, but when my mother and I dined there this past week I was not too impressed. The food was good but I was not blown away, the service was ok, we felt that our meal was rushed. I do not see why they are ranked so highly on here, when there are other restaurants in Vail with much better food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always a must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is our favorite restaurant in Vail and we are never disappointed in the meal or the service. David and Craig were a great team and we were never wanting for anything. For starters I had the crab and lemongrass bisque which had a great deal of lump crab, it wasn't just blended into the bisque. Husband had the foie gras which was a real treat. I even tried it and it was very tastey. It's pricey but worth it.The roasted monkfish with beets was delicious as was the side of mushrooms. The lamb T-bone was the best lamb my husband has ever had. After appetizers and great meals we didn't have dessert but will come back during the week during lunch and satisfy that sweet tooth.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

A must place to go when in Vail. Get a table by the window for the view. Excellent food and atmosphere. Have to try the crab bisque soup. A little pricey but after all its Vail. Well worth it !

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Another excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My partner and I look forward to dinner at Sweet Basil every time we're in Vail. This meal did not disappoint. Although the entire menu is delightful, there are almost always a few "hits." This year, it was the roasted quail with sausage stuffing, gooseberries, and truffle jus, as well as the buffalo N.Y. strip with bacon-fig jam. Both plates were bursting with exciting flavors--just exceptional. We also tried the salmon tataki and duck with blackberries, vinegar, and rutabaga. Both were very good, but more in the four-star range. The desserts were all appealing, but somehow we always end up ordering the classic sticky toffee pudding, and I can't say we ever regret it. Sometimes a classic just hits the right spot.

For oenophiles, it may be worth noting that SB recently lost its sommelier, and the new hire has yet to fully implement his program. At least some of the listed wines are unavailable, and the wine program definitely feels like its in a transition phase.

Service was perfection, as always. The caliber of the servers really boosts this restaurant to a higher level--low-key, attentive, friendly but unobtrusive. In all, a lovely experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Basil also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Basil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.