We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Affordable Mexican Food In Vail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantina

La Cantina
241 S Frontage Rd E, Vail, CO 81657-5245
(970) 476-7661
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 100 Restaurants in Vail
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Most Affordable Mexican Food In Vail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

La Cantina is great; their food is good, the staff works very hard and best of all, it is affordable. The atmosphere leaves a bit to be desired but who cares, after a long day on the slopes there is nothing better than grabbing a margarita and some tasty Mexican food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    2
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I will never not love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

So delicious and reasonable. I love La Cantina. At the end of the ski day it's a perfect stop for 2 fish tacos and a margarita. Their fish tacos are some of the best I have had, and the margarita is perfect. Also, while you wait for your food you can get a basket of tortillas and choose your salsa (usually 4 or more choices).

This is in the parking structure, and as you sit there you can feel the large buses roll overhead, but it's the perfect location and a hidden gem; conflicting statement, but you will see when you go.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Where do the locals go?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

It is a tiny resturant in the parking structure. Great food. Great prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best bargain in Vail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Simply put, this restaurant is the best price point in Vail. We had walked through it on a prior trip to Vail. The location, as noted in prior reviews, is in the Vail transportation center. It is kind of weird to have just parked your car in a garage and then to walk right through an exit and down stairs into a small restaurant. At the time, I was shocked/surprised at the number of people eating there.

We made it a point to visit La Cantina this trip and I can tell you the food is good, not great. The guacamole, which they advertise as homemade, was very good. The price is ridiculously cheap for Vail. Three of us eat for about $22. That is the cost of three sodas at other restaurants in Vail.

While were were eating, I hard a member of another, larger party commenting, "I didn't realize this restaurant was in a garage." They joked about it and seemed to enjoy themselves.
There were several locals eating here after their shift which I always take as a good sign.

If you are with a group that has no "airs" about them, ht this spot one night during your trip. With the money you save you can hit one of the more pricier options, which are plentiful in Vail, on another night during your stay.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cheapest place to eat in Vail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

La Cantina is the place to visit if you are dining on a budget in Vail. Like another review says, do not expect 5-star service and food, but for what you pay for, you get some great Mexican food. I have always loved the fish (mahi mahi) tacos, and their chips & salsa are my favorite in the area. It's very take-out style, but perfect for grabbing something quick for lunch or during a ski break.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantina also viewed

 

Been to La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.