We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value especially for Vail” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tavern on the Gore

Tavern on the Gore
223 Gore Creek Drive, Vail, CO
970-476-2828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tavern on the Gore is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 100 Restaurants in Vail
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bridge Street
Description: This is a brand new restaurant in Vail Village
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Good value especially for Vail”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Overcast day and no one sitting outside so we elected to have the corner outdoor table overlooking the Gore. Both of us had the "special" which was two fish tacos (very tasty) one with cole slaw (average) and one with French fries (very good) plus the special gave us each a beer (cold). For $12.00 each this was a good deal considering the prices other restaurants charge. Service was good and the only off thing was the wait for the check after we asked for it. We stood finally and then the check was presented.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, Ca
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Reception staff is in need of help”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went there for lunch on a rainy Sunday. We were told there was a 20 wait for a table and were sent to wait in the bar. There were several set tables in the bar area and the hostess when asked said we couldn't be served lunch there. Luckily, a waiter walked by about 10 minutes later and asked how he could help. We told him we were waiting for a table and he offered menus and lunch service ten and there. The hostess glared as she walked by and at the same time seemed clueless. Food was fine for lunch but I'm not sure I'd ever go back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Good for Quick Munchie Fix and for Families”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

After an early dinner, we swam and needed some quick food late at night. The Tavern was just perfect- the wings were huge, the clam chowder excellent and the apple pie super. The only "off" app was the spinach/artichoke dip- too much nutmeg.

Also very family friendly for Vail.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and Great service--with your own personal TV”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Loved the food, atmosphere and service. All three of us loved the food and the extra bonus was our own personal TV to watch the soccer game! Their salads are awesome! My son had the children's chicken fingers and loved the meal. My other son had a steak meal and ate every bite. The music outside was a nice touch...wish they had played a little longer...only until 6pm. Atmosphere is great! Friendly, friendly staff!! My son had a Duke soccer shirt on and spoke with a gentleman who was from that area and had such a nice conversation and great insight on the area. They were all so accommodating and nice. Can't wait to go back on our next visit to Vail!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Totally Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Sunday lunch at Tavern on the Gore was a delight. No space available on the balcony/patio, but the place is so open, we got the same effect sitting inside near the balcony.Tavern overlooks the Gore, so the activity down there is entertainment in itself, both kids and dogs enjoying the water! There is not a great need for "decor" here, as the openness, the view and the wonderful air is all you need. The service is excellent and the menu is varied enough for any taste, including children. A salad, chicken fingers and fries and the kids are happy! This was our first visit to this restaurant and we were more than pleased. The spinach and artichoke dip was quite good. Two of the adults shared the crab cake sandwich and sides and it was quite ample. I had the California Chicken Sandwich that included cheese and avocado on a brioche roll. I don't do "carbs", but did have a couple of bites of the roll. All together, it was very tasty. Even the cole slaw had some flavor! The Server was very helpful in suggesting a micro brew for one of the adults and he was attentive without "hovering". Yes, it's a tad pricey, but you're in Vail, and that's to be expected. We'd go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern on the Gore also viewed

 

Been to Tavern on the Gore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavern on the Gore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.