We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Place, Food Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tavern on the Gore

Tavern on the Gore
223 Gore Creek Drive, Vail, CO
970-476-2828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tavern on the Gore is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 100 Restaurants in Vail
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bridge Street
Description: This is a brand new restaurant in Vail Village
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant Place, Food Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Was looking for a place to watch a couple of sporting events in Vail and found Tavern on Gore in heart of Vail Village. Place was nearly empty on a cold and snowy January evening. Staff was very nice and accommodating, restaurant is new, pretty, and cozy, and great for watching a ball game (private screens in the booths, multiple screens throughout the restaurant), yet not really a sports bar. Food was just ok but everyone was so nice and accommodating that the overall experience was positive. The cooks even came out and asked for a critique of the food and seemed genuinely interested in doing better. I hope this place makes it because it has a lot of positives.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great salads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I visited the Tavern on the Gore for the first time. Great salads and good value in Vail. I made a reservation and thought it was the Tavern at the Arabelle, but was surprised when it was a different restaurant. Food was really nice.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool concept, great service, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Tavern on the Gore is good place on the heart of Vail village. It has your standard fish and steak, but also some other unique offerings, such as Bacon Wrapped Buffalo Meatloaf. I was wanting a steak that night and it was good, but not great. The clam chowder before was very good, as well as the artichoke dip.

The nice thing was concept of a high end sports bar. Most tables have tvs and there is a room in the back with a large TV. It was nicely done.

Also, the service was excellent, something I can't say for many of the Vail restaurants.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Great Service, Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had lunch here yesterday. The inside is beautiful with wood paneling, stone pillars and tvs everywhere. Our waiter was very friendly, the food was great and the manager was very helpful with my sons food allergies. We will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Has potential to be great, but was just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The setting is upbeat and the service was wonderful - beyond excellent. My child was thrilled with his food from the children's menu, which was hot and freshly prepared. While the bistro steak was perfectly cooked in a delicious - but salty - sauce, the coho salmon was dry and overcooked and the risotto that accompanied it was so salty that it was barely edible (a bummer at $30). We shared the spinach artichoke dip starter, which was good with homemade potato chips (not served in a bread bowl as advertised on the menu) and split a salad that was ho-hum. The wait staff was so attentive and really wanted to please - too bad that the food didn't match their efforts.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern on the Gore also viewed

 

Been to Tavern on the Gore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavern on the Gore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.