We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we chose the Austria Haus!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austria Haus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Austria Haus Hotel to your Saves list
Austria Haus Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 E Meadow Dr, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Carolina Shores
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“So glad we chose the Austria Haus!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We would highly recommend the Austria Haus for your stay in Vail. It is lovely and intimate, very clean, and the staff are friendly & helpful and make you feel very special.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    38
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
52
106
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

My wife and I celebrated our 25 year anniversary in Vail. We selected the Austria Haus hotel based on TA reviews. We will return because of the personable, attentive service.

The room was very comfortable and met our expectations for a top of the line hotel. The location made it easy to move around Vail Village, enjoy the restaurants and the shops. We had a car to drive to hiking trails during the day, but would not have otherwise needed one because everything is so close and the free bus system.

But, what really made our trip to Vail an experience to remember was the fine recommendations of the front desk personnel. When we asked questions about things to do and places to eat, they didn't just hand us a map or a listing of restaurants; they asked us questions to help us refine our search and then gave us recommendations based on that information. It took all the risk out of being in a new location. Their recommendations, time and again, were spot on - and consequently we had a trip we will never forget.

For me, having a great experience is finding a hotel in the right location at the right price with the right staff and the Austria Haus definitely gave us all three.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Really enjoyed our stay! Great location, Great staff, Great fun! A very good price and location for a COOL summer vacation from HOT Texas summer!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

My sister-in-law and I had a wonderful stay at the Austria Haus!! The location is ideal...in the middle of the Vail Village. Everyone we encountered, front desk attendants, porters, maids, breakfast attendants were very helpful, pleasant and efficient. The room was very comfortable, clean and cozy with a fireplace and doors opening to outdoor flower boxes sending the fragrance of the flowers into the room with the breezes. The lobby and breakfast area was extremely inviting and homey. This hotel had all the ammenities including WiFi. We hope to come back next Summer with our families...can't wait!!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in the middle of July and loved the place. Upon arrival to a very quaint, 4 story hotel; we noticed the air conditioning in our room was not working (and was informed that would not be working either night). My wife was not happy and I expressed our issues and the manager at the front immediately started working on the problem. They delivered 2 fans to help with the coolness, gave us a 20 % discount and upgraded our room for the next night.

The breakfast was very nice and included in the $20 resort fee, which I am not real sure why hotels have started this trend. The pool / hot tub was small, but perfect for this hotel. Great view of Vail mountain and we ended both nights by the pool with some adult beverages. The hotel is within walking distance to the gondola and numerous restaurants. We were very impressed with Vail and the Austria Haus is a perfect place to enjoy the area.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed for two nights over Thanksgiving. The view from the hotel is gorgeous, especially if you get a mountainside view. We did not. It is located close to the highway, but in Vail proper. It is walking distance from everything, including the great restaurants and shops of Vail, and of course the slopes. Valet parking is provided, and our car was warm and ice free both times we needed it.

The room was about the same size as any other hotel room, but the curved roof came down over the king size bed to restrict walking and standing space a little. Everything was clean and without blemish. The seating room downstairs and the heated pool looked beautiful.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Stayed here for long weekend with small children. We stayed in the Bellweather room, which was roomy and nice, but lacked storage space for clothes. Great bathroom with huge tub. Very clean and well kept hotel. Staff is very friendly and accomodating. Complimentary breakfast is hearty and healthy, with homemade oatmeal, Belgian waffles, bagels, fresh seasonal fruit, juices, cereal favorites for the kids and wonderful coffee for the parents. :)
We enjoyed the library room, stocked with games for the kids. Pool and jacuzzi are nice, but small. Did not spend a lot of time there as hiking and sightseeing were a priority. But nice to have an outdoor pool to lounge around. The best part:: the location. Right next to covered bridge and all the best Vail shopping and dining..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Austria Haus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Haus Hotel

Address: 242 E Meadow Dr, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Austria Haus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Austria Haus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Haus Vail
Hotel Austria Haus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austria Haus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.