We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long tradition of excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austria Haus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Austria Haus Hotel to your Saves list
Austria Haus Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 E Meadow Dr, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Vail
Wichita, Kansas, United States
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Long tradition of excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I first stayed at this hotel when it was the Sonnenalp, back in the 80's. It was lovely then, and continues to be so today. My wife and I have been back two years in a row to stay at the Austria Haus, and wouldn't think of staying at any other property in Vail. It's a good location, has a very friendly and helpful staff, and has maintained a very comfortable and elegant European character. The breakfast is very nice, and the pool and hot tub are welcome amenities, overlooking Gore Creek, Vail Village and the ski slopes. Can't wait until our next chance to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, Manager at Austria Haus Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for posting about your past stays at the Austria Haus! Please let me know if there is ever anything that I can do to make your time at the Austria Haus more enjoyable. I love reading posts from people who have been coming to the property for years as that is the best compliment that we can get! We hope to see you and your wife again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    34
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
44
97
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This property doesn't have the glitz of the newer properties in Vail. What it does have, though, is a reliable lodge with friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms, good breakfasts, and a wonderful outdoor hot tub after a day of skiing. The hotel is walking distance from the lifts and they store your skis for you. The internet is slower than desired and the gym is small and dated. You are required to pay $20 per day extra for parking (even though most patrons arrive by shuttle in the winter). However, the overall quality and value for the money far overcomes these minor issues. I return every winter (and sometimes in the summer, too), and already have my reservations for the upcoming winter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, Manager at Austria Haus Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! It is great to hear from our valued repeat guests. I am glad you enjoy the breakfast and hot tub each time you stay with us. The Austria Haus is such a special hotel. I think our guests love coming back year after year to experience the exceptional staff and the charming decor that Austria Haus has to offer.

I enjoy getting to know our repeat customers, so please reach out to me the next time you are here and I will pop into the lobby and say hello.

Shannon Best
Director Of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
333 helpful votes 333 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed over this Labor Day, with pretty hot temperature, so your experience may vary from ours.

We got a Lupine King room, with has a nice spacious sitting area, comfortable bed, fireplace (not handy now but will be welcomed in the winter), and very nicely appointed baths (separate toilet). The decor was country-luxe, with European flair, complete with a bench area near the door which will be very handy for taking off ski boots and such.

The staff was more than friendly and the breakfast was definitely euro-style (except for the waffle maker). Cold cuts, hard boiled eggs, smoked salmon (very yummy) on Sunday.

Now the bad. Our room was right over the street side on the 2nd floor, and the A/C was anemic and not very easy to adjust. So it was hot, and we can't really open the windows (you hear buses going by and kids crying for ice cream next door). Actually even with the windows closed I can still hear the bus going. Not pleasant. I guess some people like the convenience of being in town (Farmer's Market was literally right outside the hotel), but if you want a nice relaxing weekend with some peace and quiet this hotel may not be for you.

Second thing is that we must have circled three times before realizing that you have to pull over to the right of the no driving zone. Duh! There was another car doing about the same thing getting all confused.

Lastly they do charge a $20 resort fee per night, so just be aware when you book.

I love the atmosphere in Vail and the different building architecture, but I think I will opt for the Lions Head side - quieter and closer to the Eagle Bahn (more activities at least in the summer on the slopes). Every day we found ourselves walking over there for shops/restaurants and the walk is pretty short between the two.

Room Tip: The bigger rooms are on the creek side and the smaller ones street side. Pony up for the bigger suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, Manager at Austria Haus Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us! I am glad you enjoyed our European style breakfast. It certainly adds to the Austrian charm that we love so much!

I am disappointed that you didn't get to relax as much as you hoped to due to the noise coming from the village. If you decide to come back to Vail Village after you try Lionshead, I would love to help recommend some great kids activities in the area as well as ensure you have a quiet room location.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your feedback. We want to hear what our guests have to say so we can deliver the experience they are looking for!

Shannon Best
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary and the holiday festivities and I was pleasantly surprised by how down to earth and friendly the front desk staff was from start to finish of our stay. Jared set us up with a wonderful room and Alex took care of us while we stayed. The location is perfect and the room was very lovely, bed was amazingly comfortable. We even got a really nice breakfast included which is very rare to find! It was just perfect and we will definitely be going back next time we stay in Vail.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side facing the Mountain would be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, Manager at Austria Haus Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to spend your special day with us! I loved reading your comments about the staff. I agree with you, they are our biggest asset. We all look forward to our next opportunity to welcome you and your husband back to the Austria Haus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice rooms, staff very courteous and helpful, location is perfect. Valet parking is available and included in the price of the room since otherwise there wouldn't be any place to park close to the hotel. Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, Manager at Austria Haus Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
You will have to come back and see us this winter! We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to the Austria Haus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The front desk staff at Austria Haus goes above and beyond to make your stay special! Friendly and helpful staff, impeccably clean and luxurious room, unbelievably delicious complimentary breakfast! Every aspect of our stay was perfect. The location can't be beat. I recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We just completed our third stay at Austria Haus. As with both of our previous visits, the experience was excellent. The staff is pleasant, engaging and very responsive. The rooms are lovely and well appointed and the location in Vail is perfect. Add to that the bountiful free buffet breakfast and included valet parking and the result is a relaxing visit. They even provided great weather!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austria Haus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Haus Hotel

Address: 242 E Meadow Dr, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#10 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Austria Haus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Austria Haus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Haus Vail
Hotel Austria Haus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austria Haus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.