We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austria Haus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Austria Haus Hotel to your Saves list
Austria Haus Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 E Meadow Dr, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Vail
COLORADO SPRINGS
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in July, 2013. Such a great location! Our last morning there we realized that every great restaurant we visited we could see from the pool deck of the hotel. Rooms were nice but would recommend upgrading to a slightly larger room if available. Staff was exceptional. Gave great advise on things to do and places to eat. Vail is spectacular in the summer. So much to do and see and the town is beautiful. Can't wait to go back next summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    35
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
45
99
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed 8 nights at the Austria House Hotel in July. The very efficient, friendly, personal service of the entire staff, combined with a wonderful ambiance of the hotel and our Columbine hotel room made our summer vacation most memorable. The central location in the village, a well assorted complimentary continental breakfast and convenient valet parking are a great bonus. We would come back to this charming hotel at any time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Austria Haus. The lobby service was exceedingly nice and very helpful. Very personal. The hotel rooms are all on the village side / street side but it gets very little car traffic and is mostly pedestrian. The higher floors (3 & 4) would look at the bus terminal on top of the hill, but the 2nd floor doesn't have this problem. No street noise at all inside the room. A/C was nice on the hot days. Our bathroom was spacious (Lupine) and the room was same size as most hotel rooms. Not too small at all for two people. Breakfast is a great perk, as is onsite parking and is very convenient. Pretty dining patio overlooking pool and creek. The location is excellent and within walking distance to anything you'll need in Vail. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night here. Room was very updated and the balcony was great.
I would definitely stay again. The breakfast was very nice. There is no need for an on site restaurant. You are in the village. Great price for the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Austria Haus has an awesome location in Vail village. It's close to everything! The pool overlooks the river that runs through town. The staff and rooms are wonderful as well. The room included breakfast and it offered good food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed one night at the Austria Haus during a trip of the Rocky Mountains And had a great stay. When we checked in we were given a free upgrade to a suite without even asking ( a big benefit from going during the off season) and the suite was terrific. Clean & comfrtable. The bathroom had a large shower and a large tub. There was also a gas fired fireplace with comfortable furniture. A large TV that you could watch either from the living room or lying in bed. The suite also had cathedral ceiling with a post - beam look. The bed was soft & comfortable and we had a nice view of the mountains across the highway. The pool is a little small but is well kept and at a comfortable tempurature. Breakfast included fresh waffle station, Italian ham, salami, cheeses, fresh fruit and rolls. a great upgrade from your typical continential breakfast. There are also a lot of restaurants within walking distance and also a lot of retail shops. I am looking forward to going back to vail a staying here for a couple of days

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed for a week in mid-March with our 3 sons on the condo side of the Austria Haus. This property has both a boutique hotel with 25 rooms and probably 15 or so 2 and 3 bedroom fractional ownership condo units. The condos overlook the river and the mountains, so they are quieter (less street noise) than the hotel units. We've rented before in Vail, in Aspen and Breckenridge and this was our favorite combination of location, condo and ski conditions!

The condo was wonderful. Charming Austrian decor, with seemingly recently replaced furniture...really nice quality couch, chairs, dressers. We stayed on the second floor in a 2 bedroom which had a king bed in one bedroom with a full bath with two sinks, large soaking tub and shower. The 2nd bedroom had two full beds and another full bath with tub/shower. The bathrooms were beautiful, especially the master, with Italian marble tile, top notch towels and toiletries and nice updated shower with glass walls. There was a separate toilet room too...very nice. The couch in the living area also pulled out and was very comfortable (said one son!).

The living/dining/kitchen area was spacious enough for our family of five and we loved the views over the river, village and mountains. We prefer wood-burning fireplaces, but seems like no hotels/condos in Colorado put them in so the gas one created a cozy atmosphere. The building is solidly built -- we could hear no noise from neighbors on either side or above us, which was nice! There were 3 tv, one in each bedroom and a larger flat screen in the living area. Would be a nice touch if they added an Ihome or Bose music player that guest could put their Ipods into, to the room (maybe on the large piece of furniture opposite the dining table).

I have to mention the kitchen! Spacious enough for a small condo, but what was remarkable to me was how nicely it was equipped. We have rented homes and condos all over the country, several in a similar price range, and I have never been so pleased with a kitchen. Even though it's vacation, we do some cooking while on a ski vacation, so it was so nice to have good knifes (Cutco!), enough and the "right" sizes of pots and pans (All Clad!) and quality dishware and silverware! The appliances were top notch too with things like a Bosch dishwasher. It was nice that they supplied dishwasher detergent and paper towels since sometimes rentals do not.

The rest of the Austria Haus property was lovely. The lobby & breakfast areas were attractive and the staff always greeted us warmly. The complimentary breakfast included fruit, yogurts, cereal, pastries, bagels, break, oatmeal, coffee, tea, juices, Belgian waffle iron, hard boiled eggs, cold meats like ham, salami and salmon. More than adequate, though I would've loved warm scrambled eggs added to the offerings (good to have protein before a day on the slopes). One day they offered an omelet station I heard, but we slept in that morning and missed it! The breakfast was well staffed by friendly folks constantly refilling items and cleaning up.

We enjoyed the hot tub and pool area a couple of times, but the hot tub was a popular place and there is only one....would be awesome if they could add another one somehow. We didn't utilize the lobby bar except to attend the Monday night reception which was very nice and it was interesting to talk to other guests who return again and again to the Austria Haus.

Another nice benefit was access to the Vail Athletic Club a 3 minute walk down the block. Our son is a rock climber and we enjoyed watching him climb while working out on a few mornings that we gave our legs a break from skiing!

Finally, the Austria Haus location was perfect for us. We loved being able to walk to the Vista Bahn gondola (stored our skis at the Austria Haus partner shop) and to restaurants and shops instead of getting on a shuttle bus or trying to drive and find/pay for parking. Our condo was quiet except for one night when folks leaving the bars across the river were especially boisterous (I think it was St Patty's day, so lots of people partying), but I do think Vail police could do a better job of moving partiers along and out of the sidewalks and streets after the bars close.

As you can probably tell, we'd absolutely return to the Austria Haus and to Vail!

Room Tip: If you're staying for a week with more than 2 people, consider renting one of the condos instead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austria Haus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Haus Hotel

Address: 242 E Meadow Dr, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#10 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Austria Haus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Austria Haus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Haus Vail
Hotel Austria Haus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austria Haus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.