We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reason ti climb the mountain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 10th Vail Mountain

The 10th Vail Mountain
Mid-Vail area on Vail Mountain, Vail, CO 81658
970-754-1010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The 10th Vail Mountain is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 109 Restaurants in Vail
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: On Mountain, at the top of Gondola One, out of Vail Village
Transit: The free Vail in-town bus runs from Golden Peak to Vail Village to Lionshead to the Marriott. The closest stop to Gondola One, the lift accessing The 10th, is Vail Village. Proceed across the Covered Bridge and up Bridge Street to load Gondola One (lift ticket required to access Gondola One during daytime hours).
Gustavia, St Barthelemy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A reason ti climb the mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Of course you go to Vail for skiing or hiking. But this restaurant is a reason on its own to get in the gondola just to eat. We´ve been three times at 10 and never disappointed. Actually, we´ve been very impressed with the great menu and views. Gift from nature or coincidence, every dinner has been with a snowfall as a backdrop and lunch with glorious sunlight over the mountain.
But this is not just about the view. The wild game, hamburgers and wine list is superb. Not to mention the blessing of taking your skies of after a visit to the Back Bowls and sip a glass of Pinot Noir at the bar.
Last time the sommelier recommended me a bottle of Austrian Sauvignon Blanc to try. It was a great choice to the Sancerre that I dear so much. And also a validation to my friend´s Edgar Leal saying: "there´s more wine out there than you can taste. So open as many different bottles as you can in your lifetime".
Next spring break we´ll be back at 10. Is a great reason to go up & down the mountain,

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    40
    24
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The 10th mid mountain in Vail Colorado is one of those experiences we all long for, or remember forever. After a long morning of tough skiing we decided to checkout the 10th as we skied by. We did not have a reservation but by chance they had a cancellation. The main dining area of the restaurant is spacious and the windows overlooking the mountain huge! Our meal was wonderful. Salads crisp and generous, soup so good you were sad when you finished. Our main course was wonderful also. I had the chicken and pheasant pot pie with winter vegetables. The chicken and pheasant were tender and delicious. For dessert I had the chocolate fondue for one. It was beautiful and so yummy. Cookies, marshmallows, fruits and a small pot of divine chocolate. Throughout our meal the waitstaff was one of the best we have ever run into. Even the little mints on the way out were a treat! Well done The 10th!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great spot for skiers and non-skiers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife doesn't ski but this was a great way fro her to enjoy the gondola up to the middle part of the mountain and have a wonderful lunch with her two favorite men:) You certainly want reservations, if you are skiing use the boot room and pick a pair of slippers to let your feet relax and your gloves to warm up. No surprise but this is not an inexpensive lunch but the service and food are excellent (large portions, our carry-out bag would have feed have the mountain), Great spot to meet spouse/family/friends and be part of the "In Crowd" in Vail.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The BEST dining experience EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The experience start to finish was the best we've ever had. The setting was warm and inviting, the food was phenomenal and EVERY person we encountered who worked with the restaurant contributed to our BEST EVER experience!
Our serving team Kathleen and Vance could not have been more outstanding...their timing was perfect, suggestions were great, and very personable!
It was expensive, but worth every cent! We will be back!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Creek, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food, amazing ambience on the mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Swanky! Nice to avoid the crazies at other places for lunch while skiing. We ate at the area near the bar. Huge fireplace going with seats and blankets offered and sat at a table for four. My husband out ordered me with the French dip which was amazing. I had the portobello sandwich with a great spread they included. They offer truffle fries as an optional side to your sandwich but do not mention that the fries are an extra $5 per plate but they were soooo worth it, cooked to perfection, salted and Parmesan cheesed awesome. My son got the Kobe burger $22 and ate every bite. Other son got Mac and cheese and a vegetable plate that had broccoli, carrots, celery, tomatoes and a dip. Great chocolate pudding with marshmallows and chocolate shavings came with the kids meal! The service was very attentive and great drink selections. Loved our meal here and would return. It was a great, unrushed, enjoyable meal which a perfect way to stop while skiing/boarding to enjoy your surroundings.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The 10th Vail Mountain also viewed

 

Been to The 10th Vail Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 10th Vail Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.