We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap place with good location in Vail” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Vail

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vail
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau Vail
13 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657-5701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 33 hotels in Vail
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Cheap place with good location in Vail”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2005

Very basic, and looks tatty and a little run down. The rooms are basic, but if you want to stay in Vail for a reasonable place, this is probably it as it has a very good location for its proximity to Vail and the slopes.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2005

The Chateau is an older hotel with no frills. You do get what you pay for, exspecially in Vail. The location is brilliant and the staff is helpful and will go above and beyond to help you. People don't expect the Ritz, it's for the ecconomic minded people.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2005

My wife said we'd stayed in worse places but not in quite a while. It has a great location and a beautiful piece of Vail under and around it. The wrecking ball isn't there yet but will be soon--a $100 million Four Seasons Resort is rumored to be in the works. The staff tries hard with the limited resources available to them but The Chateau is sadly sinking. Hot water can be limited in supply at crucial times, e.g. after skiing, the carpeting is filthy, and the light bulbs are economy wattage--67 watts (yes) where there should be 100's. The hot tub and pool were rumored to be ok and they looked so although I did not use them. Another reviewer said you get what you pay for but after all, we didn't go there for the room.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, Ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2004

This is a hotel that was a 3 star and is functioning as a 2 star to keep costs low. It's fairly clean and maintained and staff are friendly. But there are no extras. We had to ask for the coffee machine that's suppose to be in every room (and they found one for us). The hot tub didn't work, which was a disappointment. Basically, it's a motel experience in a great location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2003

The Chateau Vail is no longer affiliated with Holiday Inn, and as you might expect for a hotel that is too dumpy to be a Holiday Inn, it is quite run-down. During my stay, the phones did not always work, and the staff said that the phones fail "whenever it snows". Also, agressive, non-English speaking hourskeeping staf have no problem moving the "do not disturb" tag to enter your room. For me, this was a most miserable experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Vail

Address: 13 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657-5701
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 hotels in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Vail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chateau Vail to your Saves list