We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class food, cocktails and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matsuhisa Vail, CO

Matsuhisa Vail, CO
141 East Meadow Dr., Vail, CO 81657
970-476-6628
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Matsuhisa Vail, CO is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 100 Restaurants in Vail
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
lakewood, co
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“World class food, cocktails and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We love sushi, but often try our hardest to avoid ordering it at Matsuhisa because the menu is so amazing. We simply ask our server for his/her favorites along with a few that we're curious about and then let the meal evolve... you will never be disappointed! Don't forget to preview the cocktail menu, which rotates, but is cleverly crafted. Unique Asian liquors are infused with wonderful juices and mixers (think ginger and beyond!) We confess... a large portion of our bill is dedicated to the bar, but when dining is more of an event, as it typically is at Matsuhisa, the total bill shouldn't be a consideration. ENJOY!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    30
    21
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Nobu food yet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My wife, my friends and I have been dining at Nobu restaurants for years. From Matsuhisa LA to Nobu 57, Miami, and around the world. We also visited his Monaco pop up. We've been coming to Aspen for years and always loved Matsuhisa there. Then we ate at Matsuhisa Vail. This is now our new favorite restaurant in the world! From the moment we walked in the door we knew that we were going to be in be in good hands. The chef, Brian Busker was at the host counter and was the first to greet us. After a brief discussion, we told him about our other Nobu experiences. We told him how much we loved the signature dishes and we always do the tasting menus. The chef then surprised us by offering to cook for us, a party of 6, the entire evening with stuff he had learned from Chef Nobu himself and with items not on their current menu. We had ten courses of elegantly poised dishes that blew our minds. We didnt even get sushi that night and thats why we went in. Course after course the dishes kept getting better and better. The best dish for me was Japanese Wagyu with a tempura egg yolk and hearts of palm with uni and lobster! Hands down this is the best Nobu tasting menu we've ever had and one of the best meals and dining experiences ever. We must mention our server Christine as she was a perfect fit for our evening. Knowledgeable, professional and so nice. My wife wanted me to mention that the scallop with cauliflower and crispy miso was a "michelin star like dish". It was Nobu food at its finest and highest level. If possible have the chef cook for you, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Loads of money with little return!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We're a family of six that have lived in a variety of countries, including some years in Asia. To have some arrogant little idiot explain that he can order for us as opposed to us having the time to go through the very extensive menu really annoyed us! I get it, they have fifteen seatings or something so need to turn the ables quickly but really?? He was loud and obnoxious and more than rude....
The food is not worth either the price nor the rude and arrogant behavior of the staff! Some of us actually know a little bit more about food than red and white sauce!
Also forget having a conversation, acoustics sucks, maybe that's why the arrogant prat was shouting?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Vail's best sushi and Japanese inspired cuisine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

What makes this Nobu restaurant the tops is Chef Brain Busker. He and his staff's attention to detail and creativity make every dish special. Each dish we ordered was truly out of this world. Even our seemingly boring sushi combination plate was extraordinary and included some of the freshest fish we've had the pleasure to eat. We completed our meal with their signature Japanese shaved ice cream dessert with mango passion fruit sauce and fesh strawberry sauce. This dessert is not to be missed! It's the absolute best conclusion to a fine sushi meal we've ever had. We're making reservations now for our next trip to Vail.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Your food is not worth this price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I love sushi. This was average at best. Terrible service. We had to ask twice to get drinks. Had to ask for our server to come over several times. The food was so average and I had high hope, but it fell flat. Beautiful mountain view...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsuhisa Vail, CO also viewed

 

Been to Matsuhisa Vail, CO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matsuhisa Vail, CO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.