We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded High Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ritz-Carlton Club & Residences, Vail

Save Saved
You added Ritz-Carlton Club & Residences, Vail to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ritz-Carlton Club & Residences, Vail
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   728 West Lionshead Circle, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Vail
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Exceeded High Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here in October during a relatively slow weekend in Vail. The staff was so friendly and took care of anything we need. The valet crew gave some great tips on everything from local hikes to area restaurants. Our room was outstanding. Great attention to detail which made for a very relaxing weekend. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    10
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
57
19
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We spent a week at the ritz residences in late 2012 and it took me a long time to write this review because I was so irritated by my experience there. I also read some of the reviews below and sometimes think that if people spend a lot of money on holiday, then they feel obligated to write a good review to "justify" their expenditure. I don't. I also think some of the reviewers must own properties there hence they fluff up the brand.

While the property is nice and is by all means a very high end experience, I was appalled by the property's approach to tipping. Upon arriving we were given "tipping guide" along with our welcome package that suggested incremental tipping guides for all of "services" that supposedly came with the property such as 5 to 10 dollars per set of skis shuttled to the lifts per day, a listed amount per bag at the curb, daily tipping for the staff in the boot room, something for the maids, and even 100 to 200 per concierge per week. In order to follow their guidelines I would have had to find a bank to give me several hundred dollars worth of 5$ bills just to keep them ready at all times. In all my life I have never encountered such an in your face approach to tipping and service. So while I do agree that the service is good, I also felt like the staff essentially had their hand out at every possible moment and it was exhausting trying to keep up with their guidelines (ultimately I gave up as I ran out of small bills). I have been to other comparable properties with similar excellent good service where the service is included and it's a much more relaxing experience. I suppose it wouldn't bother me so much if they didn't list all of these wonderful services as "included." So, for 12,000 us$ per week, I don't expect to have to spend my time keeping up with their onerous tipping guidelines. I would rather they just charge me 12,250 us$ per week and then just pay their staff appropriately. He whole experience left a horrible taste in my mouth and I would never return to any Ritz property as a result.

FYI it's also a 10 minute walk to the slopes, which is fine in a pair of walking shoes, but with ski equipment, it's barely walkable, so one really does need to rely on their services.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Ritz-Carlton Club for five days in mid-September.

We have decades of experience in timeshare units, but our two bedroom unit was really much more like an apartment than any timeshare we have been in. It was spacious and luxurious and overall made for a very memorable experience.

Each of the two bedrooms has a large walk-in closet which lights up when the door opens. Each also has a marble topped dressing table that also can easily be used as a computer desk. There are double-sinks in both bedroom baths (there's also a half-bath just off the kitchen) and large jacuzzi-style tubs. Each also has a very nice shower area. The master bath has a heated marble floor.

The kitchen-dining room area is very well appointed with top of the line appliances and with a wide range of cooking utensils, dishes and glasses.

The living room area is quite comfortable. It has a wide-screen HD TV with a Bose sound system and hundreds of channel options (the bedrooms have smaller HD TVs and fewer channel options).

The property is about two blocks from the center of Lionshead Village (to the west of Vail Center) and has excellent views of the ski slopes there.

We were in residence there when the aspen were changing and that certainly added to the scenic appeal.

The staff was exceptionally helpful and accommodating. There's full maid service both in the morning and in the evening and complementary transportation throughout Vail. Vail also has complimentary bus service that runs past the property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom unit beautifully appointed with a great view of the mountains. The staff was so accommodating right from the beginning. We were even addressed by our names during our stay here.
There is a cozy members lounge with coffee and tea available, comfortable seating and panoramic window. Off the lounge is an outside firepit. Very nice on chilly evenings.
The Ritz Carlton is just a short 15-20 min. walk into Vail- very scenic stream side walk. Transportation into town is available if you prefer.
We highly recommend the off season in Vail. Still stunning scenery, but no crowds.
Looking forward to our next stay at the Ritz Carlton Residences.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We just returned from a 9 day stay at the Ritz in Vail. I cannot compliment the staff enough. Every need was attended to with excellent service. We recently stayed at the Boca Resort and Hotel, known for it's top level service (stayed in May of 2013) but this Ritz Carlton completely surpassed that service and is now at the top of my list in terms of quality of service. We returned late one evening and the coffee service at the bar was already put away for the night, before we even had a chance to get back to the elevator, the manager had asked us if we wanted him to get us a couple of cups from the downstairs employee coffee. We declined, but this is only one example of the type of service that we grew accustomed to at this hotel. The front desk staff was always energetic and asked us how our daily adventures were (we travelled a lot and saw 3 nearby National Parks during our stay, so our party was always coming and going). Great Hotel, great rooms, and a great staff made this one of the most memorable vacations of my life.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Overall we had a great experience at this Ritz location. We are a family of four, with 2 young children. We have stayed in the Batchelor's Gulch location previously but felt this location would be closer to the activities in Vail.

We were not disappointed with our choice. The two-bedroom suite with three bathrooms was clean, beautifully decorated and had ample space for us. My favorite part was the steam shower in the master bath!

The location is good within Vail. It is within walking distance to the Lionshead restaurants. When you want to head into Vail Village you can either use the free bus system (very easy to use with the stop in front of the Marriot next door) or take advantage of the Ritz car service. Also very easy to use.

The service we received was very good to excellent. The doormen and drivers in particular were fantastic. Btw, they have a great gym that few utilize!

This is not the type of resort you go to and hang out there much. It is a great property in a good location with great service and rooms. Venturing out is why we headed to Vail anyway. Only thing it needs is a real restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Ritz is the best in Vail, Great Staff, will be back for more spoiling.
The Gym is outstanding also had a trainer on staff and available for assistance if needed.
The Ritz Carlton Holds up to there Standards of Excellence.

Room Tip: Top floor view of mountains, cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ritz-Carlton Club & Residences, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz-Carlton Club & Residences, Vail

Address: 728 West Lionshead Circle, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#4 Family Hotel in Vail
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ritz-Carlton Club & Residences, Vail 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Ritz-Carlton Club & Residences, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Club, Vail Hotel Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ritz-Carlton Club & Residences, Vail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.