We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ski accommodations at Vail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ritz-Carlton Club & Residences, Vail

Save Saved
You added Ritz-Carlton Club & Residences, Vail to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ritz-Carlton Club & Residences, Vail
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   728 West Lionshead Circle, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Vail
Sc
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful ski accommodations at Vail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

While some argue that the skiing and snowboarding at Vail is one of the best in the World, and certainly one of the largest ski resorts, there are ample accommodations available for you to stay. Our vacation "home" was at the Ritz-Carlton at Vail, which is part of the Destination Club chains, was absolutely terrific. We are a family of six and sometimes accommodations can be difficult. At times, for the price we have paid, we have been quite disappointed. So it was with some hesitation to follow up on a special offer to stay at the R-C in Vail. We were very satisfied with the ambience, detailed accents of the rooms, the furniture, the granite countertops, fine count linen sheets, the hot tubs and pool. The location is adjacent to the Marriott and a 5 minute stroll into the West Vail Village which makes it very convenient. There is a ski shuttle that will take you anytime to/from from nearby Eagle Bahn Gondola (takes 5 minutes to walk there - we kept our rented ski eqpt at the Lion Square Lodge which is on the pathway to the Gondola) or if you wish to other nearby ski resorts. Included is the outstanding service and assistance from the hotel staff ranging from the bartenders and baggage crew to the concierge and housekeeping. Always helpful, they greet you by name and always a smiling face no matter what the request. In addition to the expected hotel amenities that R-C possesses, the destination club at Vail had a "teen room" (complete with Wii, foosball, air hockey, and a few desktop terminals for PC gamers), bar/restaurant with great eats, and a cozy, well stocked library with two destop pc's.
To reinforce the expert service, I had actually lost my iPhone somewhere at the hotel and notified them. To their credit, they had already found the phone in the bathroom of our 3 bedroom condo and were waiting upon my call before they were willing to call me back at home. These "guys" do it right!

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    9
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
53
18
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ny, ny
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

While we love to ski, there is a certain amount of complication that comes along with a family of 7, all finding their socks, boots, mittens, hand warmers....and I have to say that as a turbo-mom, I've never felt so relaxed on a ski vacation. The terrific concierge Brittney was so helpful and the guys who shuttled skis and poles back and forth I cannot say enough about. Several people told us to not stay here because it was too far from the lifts. THAT is the beauty of this place. It is so serene but has everything and the shuttle team make it effortless. They would see you ski to the bottom and come to take your skis from your feet! The gym and pool area are large and spotless and there is a teen room that is, well, a teen room. This place is a find.

Room Tip: I think we had one of the worst rooms, on the first floor and we loved it. The layout is strange in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

In January we stayed at the Ritz Carlton Club, 4 bedroom plus a loft, residence. We are not members of the Ritz Carlton Club, but had received an offer to stay at this property during the times we usually go skiing. There were 11 people between 2 families, 4 adults and 7 kids, and we felt there was plenty of room in this beautiful property. The ski amenities at the Ritz made getting 7 kids ready for a day on the slopes as easy as possible. There is a separate ski storage area, with sunscreen, hot chocolate, water, and several staff members to help get ski boots out and on everyones little feet. It is possible to walk to the slopes, but they run a shuttle every few minutes that makes getting around in the awkward boots much easier. The one negative about the residence was that the seating area in the family room didn't seem conducive to hanging out with either a large or a small group of people. The couch was placed too far from the fireplace and television, and the 1 chair in the room was uncomfortable.

However, the bathrooms were fabulous, as was the bedding in each of the rooms. We also had daily maid service, which is a must with 11 people and ski gear! There was also ample room in the residence for storage of boots, coats, and other ski gear.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We spent a week in a three bedroom unit in the Ritz-Carlton Vail residences with three kids over spring break. This was our first experience with the non-hotel side of the company and did not know what to expect. We could not have been more pleased. We had an excellent layout with a separate living/dining/kitchen area and four well-appointed bathrooms. The quality of the furnishings was excellent. Despite being the last building in West Vail, there was only a three minute shuttle ride to the Lionhead gondola. The valet and concierge services were absolutely superb. Skis were taken from you slope side and were ready on the racks each morning. A well-staffed boot room helped you morning and night even assisting children with their suiting up. The Concierge staff was cheerful and helpful. Every staff member was friendly and anxious to please. The work out room was large and complete. And the member living room had drinks, coffee and snacks available most hours of the day. Wi-fi was free. We all ended up extremely happy with the service and the facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for mountainside on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ritz Club at Vail for a ski week. We were unsuccessful in having other family members join us, so we had a two-bedroom unit to ourselves. I have stayed in a lot of ski properties, and in particular, the Marriott villas in Park City are wonderful. But the Ritz is almost addictive. From the moment you arrive, the staff begins to provide a personal experience. They give you a tour of the property, arrange a personal ski fitting in your room, have a SUV that will take you anywhere you want to go in the village, and constantly check on you to offer more assistances. The ski room on the first floor is worth the price of the lodging. You walk in, receive your skis and boots, get help putting your boots on or off, if needed, and walk out to the shuttle that transports you to the gondola. Your skis are sent over when you first walk in, so they are usually there waiting for you. As I said, addictive. The spa is great at the end of the day. The living room TV has a DVR. Anything you need is provided on request. AND all this is at the base of Vail, so the skiing is also great. There is no restaurant on site, but the units have full kitchens, and the staff will advise regarding local restraurants. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you want better views of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Last weekend was our third stay at the Ritz in the past year. The service is incredible. Everyone is pleasant, always helpful anticipating needs (or wants) and greets you by name. The ski valet service is terrific and ever so convenient. I think its better than ski in ski out in many ways other than the few minute wait for the short shuttle (but your skis always seem to be at the mountain before you arrive). Hot pretzels and chocolate chip cookies await you when you return with a nice hot or cold beverage ready as well. As other reviewers have said, they will drive you anywhere within reason within minutes of your request. When you store your luggage it even winds up in your vehicle without you asking. This property and its staff is second to none.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverford, PA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We took advantage of a special "one-time offer" package deal and stayed for 7 nights at the Ritz-Carlton in Vail for about 60% off their usual rate. The 5 of us stayed in a two room suite with full kitchen (our teenager slept in the pull-out couch in the cozy living room nook by the fireplace overlooking the ski slopes!). We did use the kitchen as there's no restaurant per se in the hotel. Fruit & pastries are offered in the morning and you can order light bar type fare in the afternoons.

The service was outstanding and truly geared towards skiers. The ski valets gave us our boots every morning. Then we hopped on the RC shuttle over to the Arrabelle where the ski valets brought our skis over near the gondola. Very cushy. This was repeated in reverse order at the end of the day! It was absolutely wonderful!

The property is about a year and a half old - so it is still quite pristine and brand new! The concierge were extremely helpful and overall we felt like royalty!

We also took advantage of the hot tub and masseuses - heaven!!

We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: As for a room facing the slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ritz-Carlton Club & Residences, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz-Carlton Club & Residences, Vail

Address: 728 West Lionshead Circle, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#4 Family Hotel in Vail
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ritz-Carlton Club & Residences, Vail 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Ritz-Carlton Club & Residences, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Club, Vail Hotel Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ritz-Carlton Club & Residences, Vail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.