We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you reserve the right room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort to your Saves list
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   174 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Vail
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Make sure you reserve the right room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

We booked online and the standard room was anything but. It was a room attached to a bigger time share suite. Our window opened to someone else's balcony. To their credit, we asked to be moved and the hotel staff was very understanding and upgraded us. Great customer service, but it would have been tough if we'd been stuck in that first room.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    124
    45
    42
    32
See reviews for
138
189
21
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaver Creek, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

I stayed here in March of 2007 in the height of ski season. The service was amazing, especially housekeeping and front desk. The bar is fantastic and entertaining. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Loved the flat screens! Everything was amazing. It is everything a Vail hotel should be!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2007

The staff is too eager to help. The place was very malodorous. Our room was not very well cleaned. The TV was a flat panel LCD and very nice. The bathroom is amazing. I would try to buy this thru a discounter or by bargaining down the price. They are doing contruction nearby which caused a lot of noise and sleepless mornings.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price and Snobby front desk staff
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2007

First the good points and there are many. The hotel is rustic and exudes a lot of charm. The service is of a very high standard and everyone is keen to help. The location is unsurpassed in terms of convenience. The issue I have with the place is that the two bed room suite which is on two floors we got was below expectations. The rooms were very small and there was just one bathroom - so we have to share. The bathroom was very small and some 'red colored liquid' was dripping from the extractor fan on the second day of our stay. The sitting area was nice. For the price paid, I would find a newer hotel with proper size rooms.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west palm beach
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2007

Me and my boyfriend had the best time. I thought the hotel was beautiful. The restruant was unbelievable. We had a very nice ski instructor, It was very convientant to bring the skis right from the hotel to the slopes. The hotel staff was very nice and service was very quick. The prices of the room service were reasonable. We has a luxury suite, so I did not have any complaints. I was a very happy girl..

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — The cold weather
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2007

I love this hotel, we stayed here last year and will stay again in February 2007. The rooms are expensive and I would suggest the splurge for a room in the newer part of the hotel, the international wing. You cannot beat this location, it's basically ski in/ski out and literally across from the best apres ski spots. I don't know about you, but after a long ski day, the last thing I want to do is worry about taking a shuttle bus with my gear. The Lodge has complimentary ski check in at the base of the mountain.

I would not say the value is really there, but it's Vail, so that doesn't surprise me. If it's not a problem to spend some money and you will not be there for the 5/7 night Sonnenalp minimum, this location and hotel is the best. Furthermore, it is being renovated and sure to be even better next year.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2007

My friends and I had an amazing stay at the lodge and would never want to stay elsewhere:

Positives:
-Location -- right at the doorsteps of the main lift, ski school, etc, and in the center of Vail Village. The #1 reason to not stay anywhere else
-Rooms - great rooms (flat screen TVs, fireplaces, humidifiers, etc.)
-Facilities - Had 4 hot tubs and a nice pool (more on this in negatives)
-Service - attentive and helpful (although not perfect)
-Food - great restaurants
-Other -- I actually felt that I wasn't nickel and dimed at all (unlike any 4-star resort in, say, the Caribbean). Free hot chocolate/cider, snack bars, fruit, newspapers, bottled water. Free wireless internet. Free overnight ski/pole check at foot of the lift (for hotel guests only)

Negatives:
-No spa until Nov 07 because they are building a new center. However, they will do massage in rooms instead. Gym is weak, but also temporary.
-not cheap (but worth the premium)

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Address: 174 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Vail
#7 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#10 Family Hotel in Vail
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Vail to Undergo Significant Renovations - Summer/Fall 2014 We are very excited to announce that starting this summer The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort will undergo a transformation to make our hotel even more comfortable and inviting with a modern, mountain chic design. Our International Wing of hotel rooms underwent renovations in 2008, and now our 56 remaining alpine-inspired hotel rooms will be completely renovated, along with a refresh in the lobby, main stairways and corridors, to make your stay with us better than ever. As we complete the renovations from August through December 2014, the property will remain open with all hotel amenities accessible to guests including spa, restaurants and other public areas. We hope you'll come stay with us to enjoy the incredible summer experience Vail has to offer, and to return next winter to experience the newly renovated Lodge at Vail! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Vail, a Rock Hotel Vail
Hotel Vail a Rockresort
a Rockresort Hotel Vail
Lodge Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.