We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location and convenience, friendly staff, cozy small-hotel feel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort to your Saves list
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   174 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HOLIDAY SAVINGS IN VAIL!
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Vail
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location and convenience, friendly staff, cozy small-hotel feel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Forget schlepping your skis or negotiating crowded locker rooms. You can put your gear on in your hotel room, grab your skis from the ski valet (included), and hop on the Vista Bahn gondola. It's very, very close and convenient.

The deluxe room was small but comfortable, with nice bedding and pretty views. Ours was a little too close to the elevators, so we did have some late-night noise one night when the barflies came home.

The staff was friendly and helpful, especially the bell-hops and the concierge, who had very good dining and shopping recommendations.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but the piano bar was fun and they had an extremely talented piano player the night we were there.

Some reviews here complain that the hotel is dated, but I felt that was part of the charm of the place. Everything was clean and in good repair, and it felt comfortable and broken-in rather than pretentious.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    115
    39
    36
    32
See reviews for
127
180
21
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

We stay at the Lodge at Vail every time we visit from Denver and we have never been disappointed with the service, staff or rooms. Everything from the food to the location are perfect for a great weekend skiing. Knowing that you are steps away from the Vista Bahn lift and right in town make for a stress free stay that is well worth the price. I highly recommend the Lodge!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

Amazing facilities and outstanding service. Expect absolute convenience and to be completely pampered

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

We recently stayed 7 nights at the Lodge at Vail. The hotel is split into two locations, one being Lodge Tower which was obviously a newer building, leaving the orginal building which is was where we stayed.
Our studio apartment featured a real fireplace and a small kitchen,with a Murphy bed. First impressions were that the room was a bit cramped, but this could of been due to the 'over furnishing' of the apartment.
The hotel itself is as other people have mentioned, a bit dated, but it still has an 'old world charm' to it that some may find attractive. For the price it costs to stay there, I don't know long The Lodge can use this as a draw card.
Our main concern with our stay was the Murphy bed - it was really uncomfortable for 2 people to sleep on and not an appropriate bed for a 5 star hotel. Smaller issues were lights not working, heating that was difficult to turn down and a kitchen that was incomplete in terms of utencils.
We found the service in the hotel to vary from fantastic to less than satisfactory, and if I had to sum it up in one word I would say it was 'inconsistant'. The upside to The Lodge is that it has a great location and is only minutes away from the Vista Bahn Express chair.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

My wife and I were married at the Lodge at Vail in Sept 2009. If you looking for a luxurious mountain lodge it simply does not get any better than this. The location is perfection, right in the heart of vail village, walking distance to everything and anything we needed. We parked the cars and never touched them for the whole week.

The staff was incredible, calling my wife each morning to ask if she needed anything. They dealt with all our family and their constant requests and questions. The onsite restaurants were great - both Wildflower and Cucina Rustica. Rooms are cozy and extremely well appointed. If you can swing it, request a room in the new luxury wing of the hotel. Absolutely gorgeous.

Spa was wonderful and is newly renovated. Once of the nicest spa experiences we have ever had. Do not miss the hot stone massage.

We also returned shortly after for a ski vacation. Again everything was wonderful, incredible slopeside location for skiing, right at the base of the Vista Bahn lift. Highly recommended in every aspect.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

The location is great, but like most places in Vail, it is dated. The room was OK, but the pool area, hallways, elevators, etc. are a bit run down. I was shocked to find out that The Lodge at Vail is a Preferred Hotel and Resort...I have lost faith in their rating scale. The Spa was nice, but extremely overpriced. Not the worse place I have stayed, but given the price, I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

We stayed twice over Summer at 2 different 3-bedroom suites. Because it was off-season the price was excellent. The location in the village is great. Just beware that the units are not consistent - some are top-class and some are just ok. The rooms can be quite hot and some of the bathrooms are clean but very utilitarian. The unit we rented costs about $3,000 a night during ski season and I don't think it is worth that level of price. Although it is a very convenient location right on the village, it is not a ski in / ski out property. The hotel is really well maintained otherwise, and service was cordial and timely.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Address: 174 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#11 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Vail to Undergo Significant Renovations - Summer/Fall 2014 We are very excited to announce that starting this summer The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort will undergo a transformation to make our hotel even more comfortable and inviting with a modern, mountain chic design. Our International Wing of hotel rooms underwent renovations in 2008, and now our 56 remaining alpine-inspired hotel rooms will be completely renovated, along with a refresh in the lobby, main stairways and corridors, to make your stay with us better than ever. As we complete the renovations from August through December 2014, the property will remain open with all hotel amenities accessible to guests including spa, restaurants and other public areas. We hope you'll come stay with us to enjoy the incredible summer experience Vail has to offer, and to return next winter to experience the newly renovated Lodge at Vail! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Vail, a Rock Hotel Vail
Hotel Vail a Rockresort
a Rockresort Hotel Vail
Lodge Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.