We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort to your Saves list
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   174 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HOLIDAY SAVINGS IN VAIL!
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Vail
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Tne location is perfect! you have several exits so, you are in the middle of vail village and a few feet away from the gondola.
Gym and spa great. The 3 bedroom apartment is ok, the spaces are not too big, specially the bath rooms, they are particularly small, the rest is ok

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your review Beuggie!

I am pleased to see that the Lodge was such a good fit for you and your family. I would love to work with you to ensure you get a unit that is the right size and fit for you and your family for your next stay. Please reach out to me directly if I can be of assistance to you when you plan your next family trip!

Kind Regards,

Shannon Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    115
    39
    36
    32
See reviews for
127
180
21
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our fifth annual visit to the Lodge and it just gets better! Staff could not be more helpful and do everything to make our visit unforgettable. We upgraded to a suite on arrival, which is definitely worth it, with fabulous space and a great view of the slopes. We will be back again next year. Of course it does help that the snow is excellent for the last week of the season!

Room Tip: Slope side view, with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you Chris77!

I am glad that our caring staff was able to make this a special stay for you. It looks like we have even more snow coming in to finish up the last 3 days of this amazing season! I look forward to your trip next year. Please let me know if there is ever anything I can do to help make your stay more enjoyable. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay!

Kind Regards,

Shannon Best
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We were skiing and chose a 2 bedroom condo. It was huge with a vast lounge, tidy kitchen and big main bedroom with en suite. Both bedrooms being upstairs along with 2 bathrooms.

It wasn't bang up to date but it was spotless and in good repair. Everyone was very friendly and nothing was a problem. We had breakfast included so did not use the kitchen as a rule.

The breakfast was a buffet and when changed to menu only, after a customer revolt forced a re think and a reduced buffet the next again day. However, the menu offered better food and was cheaper for European appetites. the menu remained available , but when a buffet was available it was not inclusive. So much for revolts ! (Hope you can follow this) it's only a minor point.

The ski area was adjacent as was ski hire. Absolutely first rate for skiers. We could leave our ski gear at her bottom of the slope in the ski hire shop or in an adjacent valet service. Just so handy.

The hotel is going to be revamped over the summer period to meet ever higher standards demanded by its customers. I hope it remains affordable because it suited our needs perfectly.

Vail is served by a first rate free bus service, but food stores are well away from this hotel. Come prepared if you wish to use any kitchen facilities.

Room Tip: The rooms are very varied so know what you are looking for. Some appeared to overlook the Main Stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! I remember speaking with you at check out. I hope you had a safe trip home. I believe you had a stop in NYC prior to your long flight and I hope that you enjoyed the big city! Please reach out to me directly if I can assist you in any way prior to your trip next winter. Thank you for choosing the Lodge at Vail as your top destination for all of your ski trips to come.

Kind Regards,

Shannon Best
Director of Rooms
sbest@vailresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The staff are friendly, and offer assistance whenever possible. Rooms are clean, mattresses are great and location is terrific. We have stayed at the Lodge numerous times and will continue to stay at this lodge. We have tried other places in Vail, but this one is the best!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Good Day Tina B!

Repeat business is a huge compliment, so thank you for choosing the Lodge each time you come to Vail. Please reach out to me next time you plan a visit so that I can introduce myself in person. Please let me know if there is ever anything I can do to make your stay more enjoyable. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards,

Shannon Best
Director of Rooms
sbest@vailresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This year spring break was unforgettable. We spent it in the Lodge at Vail in 3 bedroom apt.
After a long drive we (wife and 2 kids) came to a very nice and cozy apartment. Because of the very conformable beds we slept the first night like a rock. The next night we noticed drier air (beauty of high alt) but we were able to use a humidifier in each room.
Each day skiing was amazing. No wasted time waiting for transportation between hotel and ski lift. Just a 4 minute walk!
We did use wet and dry beautiful saunas after skiing every day.
Each evening in Vail Village was very interesting (skating, shopping, food, galleries etc).
The rooms, bathrooms, kitchen and living room were extremely clean and well equipped with everything we need to have great time.
Services are very professional, helpful and very friendly.
This 5 day vacation was the best vacation we have had so far.

Thank you Lodge at Vail !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you Krzysztof G! I truly enjoyed reading your review. I am thrilled that your stay was such a special one. You are absolutely right, you can't beat the fresh air and beautiful mountain landscapes here in Vail, it is a very special place! We are so proud that the Lodge has been a part of this iconic resort town since the beginning. Please let me know when you plan your next trip so I can ensure that you have another "vacation of a lifetime."

Kind Regards,

Shannon Best
Director of Rooms
sbest@vailresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The Lodge at Vail was comfortable, accommodating and the customer service was outstanding! The rooms could used some updating which I understand is scheduled to begin in August. We are already planning our return summer trip. The Spa was amazing and very relaxing. Excellent all the way around.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your review! All of the staff here at the Lodge at Vail looks forward to welcoming you back this summer. Please reach out to me prior to your stay so I can personally ensure you have another fabulous getaway!

Kind Regards,

Shannon Best
Director of Rooms
sbest@vailresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed over Spring Break in a 2 bed condo. Pricey but what isn't in Vail! Great location for lifts and staff were excellent all week. Common areas a little tired and they need a service elevator but our room was excellent with plenty of space. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Good Day Matt W,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that your stay exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the location and staff so much. I wanted to share with you some exciting news about our upcoming renovation. We will be undergoing a comprehensive public space and room renovation starting this fall which will be completed prior to opening day next winter. Please come back and see us next year, and we will ensure you have another wonderful stay.

Kind Regards,

Shannon Best
Director of Rooms
sbest@vailresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Address: 174 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#11 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Vail to Undergo Significant Renovations - Summer/Fall 2014 We are very excited to announce that starting this summer The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort will undergo a transformation to make our hotel even more comfortable and inviting with a modern, mountain chic design. Our International Wing of hotel rooms underwent renovations in 2008, and now our 56 remaining alpine-inspired hotel rooms will be completely renovated, along with a refresh in the lobby, main stairways and corridors, to make your stay with us better than ever. As we complete the renovations from August through December 2014, the property will remain open with all hotel amenities accessible to guests including spa, restaurants and other public areas. We hope you'll come stay with us to enjoy the incredible summer experience Vail has to offer, and to return next winter to experience the newly renovated Lodge at Vail! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Vail, a Rock Hotel Vail
Hotel Vail a Rockresort
a Rockresort Hotel Vail
Lodge Vail

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.